Breville VKJ142 1.5L HotCup Kettle - Gloss Black

Sorry, out of stock.

Your item will be dispatched on:

Add Breville VKJ142 1.5L HotCup Kettle - Gloss Black to basket

Breville VKJ142 1.5L HotCup Kettle - Gloss Black features in our Kettles collection

Previous itemView full Kettles collectionNext item

Product Information

Colour Black
Capacity 1.5 Litres
Cord Length (m) 0.8 Metres
Cord Storage Yes
Cordless No
Dimensions 16.3 x 27.5 x 28.6 cm
Filter Yes
Material Plastic & Stainless Steel
Model Number VKJ142
Net Capacity (litres) 1.5 Litres
Power 3000 Watts
Product Type Electric Kettles
Rapid Boil Yes
Type Kettles
Water Level Indicator Yes
Weight 1.65kg
Brand Breville

Why we love this

The VKJ142 Breville HotCup dispenses boiling water in seconds at the touch of button.

The contemporary, gloss black and stainless steel design looks great in any kitchen and dispenses up to five cups/mugs without re-filling. Its patented design means you only boil one cup at a time, helping to save time, money and energy.

The one-touch operation is ideal for those who cannot lift a heavy kettle while the removable drip tray keeps your worktop mess-free.

Filling is easy thanks to the lid-release button and the illumination in boil mode gives a soft blue glow to your kitchen.

Key Features & Benefits:
  • Dispenses boiling water at the touch of a button
  • Push-button lid release makes filling easy ' just like a kettle
  • Removable, easy-to-clean drip tray means no worktop mess
  • Blue illumination in boil mode
  • Large water window makes accurate filling easy
  • Gloss black finish with polished stainless steel trim


  • Product Specification:
  • 3kW heating element for rapid boiling times
  • 1.5 Litre capacity
  • 360 degree base for left- and right-hand use
  • Concealed element
  • Permanent limescale filter
  • Non-slip feet
  • Cord storage
  • Our customers say

    Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 332 reviewers.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by A great, useful machine This is great, all you need to do is place your cup of coffee or tea on the stand, and it boils and dispenses one cup of steaming hot water in seconds. If you keep it topped up with water, it saves the weight of lifting the kettle every time you want a drink. Yes, its noisy when boiling, but its worth it. Bought it for my mom to use, but now I want one! 31 December 2015
    Rated 4 out of 5 by Very useful but Just the job for the elderly couple I bought it for as don't hav to keep lifting the kettle and only boils what you need The only minus is that it should be called the Hot Mug Kettle as that is the amount of water it boils & dispenses which is too much when you usually only have a CUP of tea or coffee 31 December 2015
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Christmas Present ever Decided to treat myself to the Breville hot cup kettle, as I know a few people who have one. Now that i have my own I look forward to my boiling hot cup of tea every morning without having 2 wait very long for the water to boil 31 December 2015
    Rated 5 out of 5 by So glad I bought it Couldn't decide if I really needed one of these but saw it at the reduced price so thought I'd give it a go. So glad I bought it. Excellent product and such good value. 30 December 2015
    Rated 4 out of 5 by Great looking kettle This kettle looks good but be prepared to make one hot drink at a time in large mugs. Drinks are so far always hot. 19 December 2015
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Very helpful product Handing for the elderly and those with poor hand mobility. Help to stay independent and make your own drinks. 30 November 2015
    Rated 4 out of 5 by It's noisy,but I love it Didn't know this little gadget existed until a friend had one as a wedding gift.Ordered online as Asda was the best price and it was delivered to my local store within 2 days.Very easy to use,fill the water tank,put a mug which holds 250ml underneath and wait for approx 30 seconds for hot water to appear and drink to be made.I must admit it's a bit noisy when dispensing,but it's all over so quickly you don't notice it after a couple of goes.This model only issues a standard 250ml of liquid EVERY time,if you want to use different sizes of cup or mug,then the next model up the VKJ 138 is the one for you.All in all very happy with my purchase and It's great for gravy granules too!!!!! 04 October 2015
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Good item Boils one cup at a time no energy waste 13 September 2015
    Rated 4 out of 5 by Good product for ease of use and a great cuppa! I like this because freshly boiled water makes a better cup of tea and each cup is freshly brewed with this kettle. It also saves on electricity because you only boil what you need. It is an improvement on the old model because it is lighter and less complex. My only quibble is that it's slightly smaller than the old model and needs re-filling more often 10 September 2015
    Rated 5 out of 5 by stylish Very stylish very easy to use no mess or waiting around. Boiled water in less than 60 secounds. Best kettle ive brought!! 09 September 2015
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Does the job perfectly we bought this one cup boiler for our bedroom ( to lazy to get up to make tea ) it works perfectly, a tea bag push the button and, Bob's your uncle, almost instant tea !!!! I would recommend this to anyone and with George's price it's a no brainer 07 September 2015
    Rated 4 out of 5 by Good purchase Purchased for my son worked well easy to use. 06 September 2015
    Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent Price Great ASDA price second 'one cup' as last one started to malfunction after 3 years (didn't switch off after dispensing a cup of hot water) spoke to Breville and nearly didn't get another as their response was poor however love the convenience of this machine and I suppose 3 years of constant use isn't bad! 05 September 2015
    Rated 4 out of 5 by Energy saving, good ASDA value At the time of purchase ASDA were offering this model (Product Code: VKJ142-01) at a very competitive price. It appealed to me in that it will just heat one mug of water in quick time. You absolutely need to be sure that the mug you use will take the fixed amount of water (250ml) dispensed with room to spare. I found it fine to put coffee or tea bag in first but it is not advisable to put chocolate powder in dry as it will not mix. Suggest chocolate powder is mixed with a little water first in a mug first. The unit can be orientated left or right making it suitable for left or right handed operation. Breville do a larger unit unit Product Code: VKJ318-01 (2litre capacity) with adjustable quantity off water dispensed but quite a bit more money. and the blue illumination upon boil is cool 29 August 2015
    Rated 3 out of 5 by one cup kettle was not please with iterm it leaked sent back i would not buy another went back to normal kettke again 26 August 2015
    Rated 4 out of 5 by Looks good in the kitchen This looks good in the kitchen, the only downside is it doesn't fit well under the tap so needs filling with a jug. 20 August 2015
    Rated 5 out of 5 by best ever purchase this kettle is amazing it's the best thing ever bought living alone it's ideal for me just doing enough water for 1 cup it's so quick can even use it if there's 2 people ....there's nothing I don't like about it 19 August 2015
    Rated 1 out of 5 by broken after less then 7 days use it is broken 26 July 2015
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Breville vkj142 Bought this last week and I am very happy with it as I have had bad luck with kettles that keep breaking down, it boils very fast and as you only boil 1 mug of water at a time it must be saving electricity 12 July 2015
    Rated 5 out of 5 by the second one i have as a spare Great item just press the button a cup of tea or coffee 21 June 2015
    Rated 3 out of 5 by ideal for mug users This is ideal for people who use mugs and perhaps only ever make 2 brew at a time, it's a shame you can't choose how much water you want to use as it's never the correct amount for my cups 17 June 2015
    Rated 2 out of 5 by Returned I have bought HotCup Kettle couple weeks ago, and took it back few days later. I found it a bit tricky, as the amount of the water being dispenced couldn't be adjusted, therefore only certain cups could be used only and very inconvinient if needed a bit more or less water then dispensed. 08 June 2015
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Great buy Bought this has my hands are very weak, and it's one of my best buys ever. Great for people that have problem with their hands,It is very quick at getting the water boiled. And looks very stylish, and even more stylish when the blue light is on. Very easy to use and fill. Great buy, would recommend this product to anyone. We went ahead and bought a second one just two days after we got our first one. 07 June 2015
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent for the price This was for someone who has sight problems and pouring boiling water was a risk, this is excellent as it has a sensor to stop the water when the cup is full. Highly recommend 07 June 2015
    Rated 5 out of 5 by great kettle. I was taking as much time to boil a kettle as long as I was taking to make toast. this kettle is boiled in seconds and I can watch that my toast don't get burnt. 06 June 2015
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Best ever 1class item and service 06 June 2015
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Best kettle yet Very pleased with the price and as a kettle very impressive as it does as it says one cup . Saves electric by just boiling one cup/mug bad required 06 June 2015
    Rated 1 out of 5 by Sadly got a duff Had to return this item as made the most awful grinding noise when pouring the water 05 June 2015
    Rated 4 out of 5 by A few buts - but still pleasantly surprised Great appliance when you drink tea like I do. Although first few boils after following preparation instructions did leave my tea tasting metally and horrible so I'd definitely recommend giving it a good few extra boils before using. Also a little noisy - my daughter describes it as comparable to a plane coming in to land. Still I'm glad I bought it and it suits me fine. Good quality and value for money too when you compare to what other retailers are selling it for! 04 June 2015
    Rated 4 out of 5 by oldies tea saver This is the second one we have purchased it is brill for instant hot drinks. The first one kept tripping out after a year of use, and pushing the minute trip button back in became a chore. 04 June 2015
    • 2016-08-25 T12:43:57.798-05:00
    • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
    • cp-4, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_332, tr_332
    • loc_en_US, sid_001567270, prod, sort_default
    <<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 12 next>>
    Read all reviews

    Questions & Answers

    Questions & Answers
    George Q&A is a customer to customer community forum, and as such George does not endorse any customers ideas or advice. George will not respond to questions posted, however you can contact us here. Thank you.
    3 Questions & 10 Answers

    Asda Q&A is a customer to customer community forum, and as such Asda does not endorse any customers ideas or advice. If you are a Wine Shop customer Asda may respond to questions posted when appropriate to do so regarding product details. If you have a customer service query you can contact us here. Thank you.

    Ask your questions. Share your answers.

     
     
    « Back
     
     
    by
    Kent, UK
    Gender: Male
    Read all my Q&A
     
    Please wait while more information about toob is loaded.
    Additional information about toob could not be loaded.
    8/1/2016
    +3points
    3out of 3found this question helpful.
    Was this helpful?Helpful33No00

    Answers

    Answer: 
    Normal sized cup, little tea cup to small large mug then it's like needing a taxi for your coffee to reach your lips
    by
    Anonymous
    Jarrow, Tyne and Wear, UK
    Gender: Male
    10/6/2016
    -3points
    3out of 9found this answer helpful.
    Was this helpful?Helpful33No66
    Thanks for Voting

    Answer: 
    Just over 250ml
    by
    Anonymous
    Bury St Edmunds, Bury Saint Edmunds, Suffolk, UK
    Gender: Male
    13/1/2016
    +17points
    18out of 19found this answer helpful.
    Was this helpful?Helpful1818No11
    Thanks for Voting

    Answer: 
    This kettle holds 1.7 litres.
    by
    Darwen, Blackburn with Darwen, UK
    Read all my Q&A
     
    Please wait while more information about LCDasher is loaded.
    Additional information about LCDasher could not be loaded.
    12/1/2016
    -16points
    0out of 16found this answer helpful.
    Was this helpful?Helpful00No1616
    Thanks for Voting

    Answer: 
    the kettle holds 5Lt is 5000 ml
    by
    London, UK
    Gender: Female
    Read all my Q&A
     
    Please wait while more information about Littlemisslondon5 is loaded.
    Additional information about Littlemisslondon5 could not be loaded.
    12/1/2016
    -19points
    1out of 21found this answer helpful.
    Was this helpful?Helpful11No2020
    Thanks for Voting
    by
    Dagenham, Greater London, UK
    Gender: Male
    Read all my Q&A
     
    Please wait while more information about Dogsbollocks23 is loaded.
    Additional information about Dogsbollocks23 could not be loaded.
    1/1/2016
    0points
    0out of 0found this question helpful.
    Was this helpful?Helpful00No00

    Answers

    Answer: 
    Yes because its a one cup
    by
    Ellesmere Port
    Gender: Female
    Read all my Q&A
     
    Please wait while more information about Cathey is loaded.
    Additional information about Cathey could not be loaded.
    19/6/2016
    0points
    0out of 0found this answer helpful.
    Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
    Thanks for Voting

    Answer: 
    Yes takes seconds to boil and poor, mental note to one self PUT A MUG UNDER FIRST TIME YOU USE LOL
    by
    Anonymous
    Jarrow, Tyne and Wear, UK
    Gender: Male
    10/6/2016
    -1point
    0out of 1found this answer helpful.
    Was this helpful?Helpful00No11
    Thanks for Voting

    Answer: 
    Not an expert but for making myself one cup and thus using electric for max 45 seconds assuming more economical than kettle as even if don't fully fill kettle, will be eg 2 cups of water leaving one cup covering element so heating extra water never using?
    by
    London
    Read all my Q&A
     
    Please wait while more information about Jitu2 is loaded.
    Additional information about Jitu2 could not be loaded.
    6/1/2016
    +5points
    5out of 5found this answer helpful.
    Was this helpful?Helpful55No00
    Thanks for Voting

    Answer: 
    Yes it only boils what you need very fast and Fills a standard cup.
    by
    Oldbury, West Midlands, UK
    Gender: Female
    Read all my Q&A
     
    Please wait while more information about Wifeyd is loaded.
    Additional information about Wifeyd could not be loaded.
    3/1/2016
    +5points
    5out of 5found this answer helpful.
    Was this helpful?Helpful55No00
    Thanks for Voting
    I would like to know the measurements for this item e.g. height length width and depth thank you
    by
    Bo'ness, Falkirk EH51, UK
    Gender: Female
    Read all my Q&A
     
    Please wait while more information about Dot1226 is loaded.
    Additional information about Dot1226 could not be loaded.
    12/1/2015
    0points
    0out of 0found this question helpful.
    Was this helpful?Helpful00No00

    Answers

    Answer: 
    Hi this product is surprisingly smaller than I expected. Approx 30cm tall, 15cm wide.
    by
    Hampshire
    Read all my Q&A
     
    Please wait while more information about classrunner is loaded.
    Additional information about classrunner could not be loaded.
    3/1/2016
    +2points
    2out of 2found this answer helpful.
    Was this helpful?Helpful22No00
    Thanks for Voting

    Answer: 
    Hi, here are the measurements when the kettle is on the stand; just under 30cm high (it slopes so this is the highest point) & the base is 28cm x 17cm. Hope this helps!
    by
    Southend-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea, UK
    Gender: Female
    Read all my Q&A
     
    Please wait while more information about Mich1968 is loaded.
    Additional information about Mich1968 could not be loaded.
    22/1/2015
    +5points
    6out of 7found this answer helpful.
    Was this helpful?Helpful66No11
    Thanks for Voting
    • 2016-08-25 T12:41:41.396-05:00
    • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
    • cp-1, bvpage1
    • co_hasquestionsanswers
    • loc_en_US, sid_001567270, prod, sort_default
    1 of 1
    • 2016-08-25 T12:41:41.398-05:00
    • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
    • cp-1, bvpage1
    • co_hasquestionsanswers
    • loc_en_US, sid_001567270, prod, sort_default
    1 of 1

    Delivery & Returns

    • Click and collect
      Collect in an ASDA store FREE

      Click & Collect

      Collect in any Asda store for free.

       

      Our Click & Collect service is FREE to a store of your choice and it's now a faster service. If you order before 7 pm you'll be able to collect your order the following day after 5 pm from the store of your choice.
      Click here for further details

    • Delivery
      Have this item delivered
      Delivered from £2.95
       
      Standard: by Saturday 03 September   £2.95
      Next day £4.50
      Named day £4.50
       
      More delivery info
    • International delivery
      International delivery not available
    • Free Returns
      Return in any ASDA store FREE

      Free Returns


      You can return this item for free to any ASDA store.

      Returns for UK

      If for any reason you are not satisfied with your George branded clothing or homeware item purchased, simply return it within 100 days with your proof of purchase for an exchange or refund.
      UK mainland stores only. Excludes franchises.
      *The guarantee excludes mattresses and indoor & outdoor furniture. Your statutory rights are not affected.This guarantee is subject to our full terms and conditions @ George.com



    Additional product information|Powered by Webcollage

    Thank You Is the information in this section helpful? Yes / No

    The Breville Hot Cup - for a quicker cuppa

    • The Breville Hot Cup is designed to boil a cup of water in a matter of seconds, meaning great hot drinks at the touch of a button. It dispenses a 250 millilitre (ml) cup of boiling water--the equivalent of a standard drinking mug--and will dispense up to five cups without refilling--perfect for families or small offices.

      The innovative patented technology ensures that water is only dispensed once it has reached boiling point, not simply very warm, but 100 degrees Celsius, making perfect hot drinks every time. In addition, the smooth and continuous flow of water keeps any splashing to a minimum.

      By only boiling enough water for the number of cups you need, the Hot Cup is economical and energy efficient. There's no boiled water going to waste and it helps you save pennies on electricity bills.

    • 1.5L capacity

      The VKJ142 can dispense up to 5 250ml sized cups of boiling water without needing a refil.
    • One cup of boiling water in less than 1 minute

      The Hot Cup provides a quick and simple solution, saving electricity and time, dispensing just one cup of boiling water in a matter of seconds.
    • Removable drip tray

      A removable drip tray makes cleaning your Hot Cup quick and easy.
    • Boiled water at the touch of a button
    • 1.5 litre illuminating water tank
    • Save on spills with the detachable drip tray
    • Easy to fill water tank works just like a kettle

    Breville VKJ142 Hot Cup

    Breville

    • About Breville

      Breville believes that creativity shouldn’t be out of reach. They believe that with the right tools anything is possible. They want to help you make the most of your home. Drink, toast, mix, whisk and chop your way to a world of pure imagination. Creative solutions, inspiring ideas. No excuses, no limits. Let Breville help to turn on your creativity.