Vax Powermax VRS5W Upright Carpet Washer

Rollover image to zoom

Vax Powermax VRS5W Upright Carpet Washer main view

Vax Powermax VRS5W Upright Carpet Washer Reviews

£50.00

Vax Powermax VRS5W Upright Carpet Washer
AddVax Powermax VRS5W Upright Carpet Washer to basket

  • Click and collect Collect in store FREE

    Click & Collect

    Collect in any Asda store for free.

     

    Our Click & Collect service is FREE to a store of your choice and it's now a faster service. If you order before 7 pm you'll be able to collect your order the following day after 5 pm from the store of your choice.
    Click here for further details

    *Please note some items may not be available to collect from store.

  • Delivery Have this item delivered
    Delivered from £2.95by Wednesday 09 September
    Standard: 3-5 days £2.95
    Next day £4.50
    Named day £4.50
    Named day and time £5.95
    More delivery info
  • International delivery International delivery not available
    This item is not available for international delivery
  • Free Returns Free returns in store

    Free Returns


    You can return this item for free to any ASDA store.

 
Additional Features Cord clip
Bagless Yes
Cord Length (m) 5.9 Meters
Model Number VRS5W
Power 500 Watts
Product Type Cleaning Accessories
Type Carpet Cleaners
Weight 5.6kg
Brand Vax
 
Delivered from £2.95
by Wednesday 09 September
Standard: 3-5 days £2.95
Next day £4.50
Named day £4.50
Named day and time £5.95
More delivery info
 

Returns for UK

If for any reason you are not satisfied with your George Clothing or George Home product, simply return it within 100 days with proof of purchase for an exchange or refund. George branded products only. Excludes watches, jewellery, hair accessories, part assembled flat pack furniture and mattresses. The 100 Day Guarantee only applies to George branded products. Please refer to our terms and conditions for details of our returns and refund process for non-George branded products. Your statutory rights are not affected. UK Mainland stores only. Excludes franchises.





 
4 Questions & 19 Answers

Asda Q&A is a customer to customer community forum, and as such Asda does not endorse any customers ideas or advice. If you are a Wine Shop customer Asda may respond to questions posted when appropriate to do so regarding product details. If you have a customer service query you can contact us here. Thank you.

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
« Back
 
 
For the vacs 500 carpet cleaner
by
Burnley, Lancashire, UK
Gender: Female
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about kellll is loaded.
Additional information about kellll could not be loaded.
6/1/2015
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?Helpful11No00

Answers

Answer: 
Yes a 250ml bottle. This will be enough to add to approx six tanks of water.
by
Angus, UK
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Cloudsurfer is loaded.
Additional information about Cloudsurfer could not be loaded.
23/2/2015
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
Thanks for Voting

Answer: 
Yes
by
East Riding of Yorkshire, UK
Gender: Female
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Vaxvrs is loaded.
Additional information about Vaxvrs could not be loaded.
21/2/2015
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
Thanks for Voting

Answer: 
yes
by
wirral
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about chessman65 is loaded.
Additional information about chessman65 could not be loaded.
27/1/2015
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?Helpful11No00
Thanks for Voting

Answer: 
yes a little trial size bottle, full size bottle costs 1/3 the price of the cleaner!
by
Nottinghamshire, UK
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about 2vaxman is loaded.
Additional information about 2vaxman could not be loaded.
12/1/2015
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
Thanks for Voting
 
5 answers

Is it a vacuum

Is this a vacuum as well as a washer?
by
Fallowfield, Manchester, Manchester M14, UK
Gender: Male
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about gary6958 is loaded.
Additional information about gary6958 could not be loaded.
30/8/2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?Helpful00No00

Answers

Answer: 
Although it will suck up water spills it is not intended to be used solely as a vacuum cleaner in dry conditions.
by
Angus, UK
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Cloudsurfer is loaded.
Additional information about Cloudsurfer could not be loaded.
23/2/2015
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
Thanks for Voting

Answer: 
no
by
wirral
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about chessman65 is loaded.
Additional information about chessman65 could not be loaded.
27/1/2015
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
Thanks for Voting

Answer: 
It is not intended to be used as a dry vacuum
by
Nottinghamshire, UK
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about 2vaxman is loaded.
Additional information about 2vaxman could not be loaded.
12/1/2015
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
Thanks for Voting

Answer: 
No, you have to vacuum first
by
Worthing, West Sussex, UK
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about MrsMop5 is loaded.
Additional information about MrsMop5 could not be loaded.
6/9/2014
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
Thanks for Voting

Answer: 
No, only a shampooer, you have to vacuum carpet thoroughly before use
by
Worthing, West Sussex, UK
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about MrsMop5 is loaded.
Additional information about MrsMop5 could not be loaded.
6/9/2014
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
Thanks for Voting
 
4 answers

Is it?

Is this a vacuum as well as a carpet cleaner?
by
Fallowfield, Manchester, Manchester M14, UK
Gender: Male
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about gary6958 is loaded.
Additional information about gary6958 could not be loaded.
29/8/2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?Helpful00No00

Answers

Answer: 
It is only intended to be used as a washer or to suck up water. It is not a traditional vacuum cleaner that can be used on dry carpets/rugs.
by
Angus, UK
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Cloudsurfer is loaded.
Additional information about Cloudsurfer could not be loaded.
23/2/2015
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
Thanks for Voting

Answer: 
no
by
wirral
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about chessman65 is loaded.
Additional information about chessman65 could not be loaded.
27/1/2015
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
Thanks for Voting

Answer: 
no and it says so in the instruction book, however it did remove more dirt from my carpet than my other VAX vacuum
by
Nottinghamshire, UK
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about 2vaxman is loaded.
Additional information about 2vaxman could not be loaded.
12/1/2015
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
Thanks for Voting

Answer: 
No, cleaner only, you have to vacuum first
by
Worthing, West Sussex, UK
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about MrsMop5 is loaded.
Additional information about MrsMop5 could not be loaded.
6/9/2014
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?Helpful11No00
Thanks for Voting
by
Castleford, West Yorkshire, UK
Gender: Female
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about shortbut is loaded.
Additional information about shortbut could not be loaded.
17/2/2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?Helpful00No00

Answers

Answer: 
It has a static brushbar composed of five rows of short nylon bristles that are very effective.
by
Angus, UK
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Cloudsurfer is loaded.
Additional information about Cloudsurfer could not be loaded.
23/2/2015
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
Thanks for Voting

Answer: 
white bristle
by
wirral
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about chessman65 is loaded.
Additional information about chessman65 could not be loaded.
27/1/2015
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?Helpful00No11
Thanks for Voting

Answer: 
just one fixed brush accross the mouth which appears to adjitate the carpet pile satisfactorily
by
Nottinghamshire, UK
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about 2vaxman is loaded.
Additional information about 2vaxman could not be loaded.
12/1/2015
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
Thanks for Voting

Answer: 
Just small row of brushes at the front, not rotating ones.
by
Worthing, West Sussex, UK
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about MrsMop5 is loaded.
Additional information about MrsMop5 could not be loaded.
6/9/2014
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?Helpful22No00
Thanks for Voting

Answer: 
No brushes, just the so called coral cloth.
by
Anonymous
Birmingham, West Midlands, UK
Gender: Female
30/5/2014
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
Thanks for Voting

Answer: 
rubbish you would be better buying a garden brush !!!
by
Anonymous
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway, UK
18/3/2014
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?Helpful11No11
Thanks for Voting
  • 2015-09-01T08:27:17.908-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_001562006, prod, sort_default
1 of 1
  • 2015-09-01T08:27:17.924-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_001562006, prod, sort_default
1 of 1
Rated 4 out of 5 by 75 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Ideal for clean ups I found this to be very light, very noisy and needs to be used at a very slow pace. This is to be used to stay on top of freahenening the carpets as and when required for slight soiling. If you need to remove heavy stains I would recommend a commercial machine followed with this vac machine to stay on top of keeping the carpets clean. Definitely more suitable for accidents rather than a carpet washer as you need to use this very slowly. 21 June 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by great little machine the machine is really good it does exactly what it is supposed to do,we have done the front room, stairs and hallway,really easy to use,it is very light to carry around ,the only down side is the container,you need to keep filling it up it runs out quickly,BUT,if it were bigger it would be heavier,people comment on it not removing water good enough but i think it is fine just go nice and slow and let it do its job,i would recommend it to anyone 06 August 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Vax the halls I went with gut instinct on this product and delved back 26 years into my childhood and recalled my mother had a vax and with four children it was well used so I decided to give this a try and was completely surprised how well the vax brand worked. it did the job it was bought for an emergency (child via bug) and as you can imagine not very nice on carpets but this machine did the job brilliantly and was able to de stain leaving my carpets fresh. 31 December 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by vac carpet washer bought this to replace a very very old machine that went bang,did not want to spend lots of money as we are pensioners. saw this at asda and as we have had stuff from asda before we bought it and it is fantastic,does all that our old one did and we are very pleased with it .its not heavy works well and we would recommend this product to all and remember you also have the asda team as backup for help if needed 27 January 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Mean machine This machine does what it says on the box. Cracking piece of kit. The price belies its value. I spent three times the cost of this and was very disappointed at the results. I don't mind having to top up the clean water bottle, if that is the only draw back. I received a bottle of shampoo and was surprised how little I used. Take the plunge and get your carpets as cleN as mine. Worth every penny, excellent carpet cleaner. 07 January 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by to many fiddly bits but not bad for the money found that the small filter required removing and washing every few minutes. badly positioned intake seal made horrible howling noise until repositioned. despited previously vacuuming the intake clogged up with cat hairs, the machine is obviously more efficient than my other VAX. I found the machine to be quite efficient when everything was put carefully in the right place. 12 January 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Does a good job at a fair price This is a very easy to use and lightweight carpet washer which makes a reasonable job of cleaning lightly soiled carpets. Heavier soiling requires multiple attempts. It can however leave the carpet quite wet - it seems not to have enough weight on the front and/or not enough power to suck the water up again as well as it might. All in all though its good value for the money. 08 January 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great purchase This is really a nice product, I was scared at first if it would do the job I wanted but to my amazement it did it perfectly, only problem is it's frustrating using it for a big room because the water compartment is too small and also it makes a lot of noise so be sure to use it during the day when no one is asleep, besides that it's lovely great values for your money.... 03 June 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by To be recommended for it's price probably the best on the market in my experience. It is, in my opinion, as good if not better than some of the hireable machines the cost of hiring which is only slightly less than the purchase price of this one. The only slight niggle is that the capacity of the tanks could do with being greater. For the money an excellent product 17 December 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Really good value for money This carpet cleaner is really good value for money, I was worried as I've used my mum's expensive cleaner before which was great and torn between spending more money on a higher priced cleaner, but to be honest it has brought my cream carpets up a treat. It is a little noisy but I can cope with that as this cleaner was such good value. 21 February 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 Not unhappy The Adobe steam mop is not very powerful nor sturdy. I bought it recently and only got to use our once; I wish it was sturdier, I am not sure how long it will last. However, handled with care, it blows enough steam to get the job done. On the good side, the floor is dry in only couple of minutes. And it does come quite cheap, so over all I am not unhappy with my purchase. 30 May 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Buy. Was pleased with delivery time and purchase. Only fault was that after purchase found Asda did not sell the Vax cleaning fluid to use with this, and the bottle given with the purchase is quite small. Had to go online to find local retailer ....... Vax easy to assemble and instructions good. Would definitely recommend! Good machine and well priced. 13 September 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great value for money Easy to use, lightweight and good result. Had to go over a couple of times on the most treaded parts of carpets but made a big differene. Quite noisy if doing a whole house of carpets at one time but once cleaned easy to do one room at a time. Much better value than hiring a carpet cleaner. Very pleased with product for the price. 07 April 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good for small areas Quite a small water reservoir, so not really suitable for large areas of carpet, however, I only wanted it to do a rug and it was fine. Not a terribly robust product, so again, not suitable for large carpets. but for the occasional rug it was good. Excellent value for money, certainly works out cheaper than renting. 06 September 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Couldn't believe it! Ive just cleaned my brown mucky carpets and now there back to Creme! Really happy with this vax for the money it's brilliant! It was so easy to put up and use! It's very lightweight so it's great for cleaning upstairs. I would recommend to anyone, I'm ordering one now for my mums birthday that's how good it is! 28 June 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 my new vax. At last i have bought a carpet washer that was within my budget, i was a little sceptical that this would perform well because of the price, but i shouldnt have worried its super! easy to use and the results were very good, it is being shared in my family so it was a very good purchase. 24 September 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellant Present I bought this for my daughter and her partner for Christmas but she wanted to use it before. She is absolutely delighted with it and said it has done a really good job. She said the only down side was that the water tank could have done with being slightly bigger. 28 November 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Surprisingly good results for the price paid I was astonished at the capability of this machine. It cleans really well, and not as noisy as I expected. I had some really tough stains on my carpet which lifted well. Only wished I had purchased this sooner. Saves so much money. No more industrial cleaners...this one is just as good if not better. 08 April 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by very good purchase really happy with this product.its light,simple to use and does an excellent job.the clean water tank needs filling frequently as it is small but this is ideal for me as i would be unable to use a heavy machine.i would reccomend this to anyone who needs a good lightweight carpet washer. 11 April 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by VRS5W disappointed Great price unfortunately very loud motor didn't suck up much water from the carpets and very poor results. My advice is to save your money and go for the higher model we did and the results were great with a quite motor as a bonus! 10 June 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by clean carpets Living in the middle of nowhere with the weather the way its been, with 2 cats and a dog, its nice to have clean carpets so cheaply. I've always hired before, and this is certainly the cheaper option, and just as good. 25 June 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Vax a lot for a Mobile Hot Water Heater! Poorly Made Bone Cruncher of a Plastic Water heater, that regurgitates hand soap to your Carpet. In certain cases making ones carpet worse. RE: Vax Customer Service "TOTAL MINCE"......Nil/Void of Communication Skills....Need I go on.......Rythmes with Knight.! 23 May 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best purchase ever Bought my carpet washer opened the box next day I had a leak in my bedroom and this washer saved my life it sucked up most of the water so washed my carpet couple of days later excellent u would never know I had a leak very happy Toledo all friends to buy one 07 June 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by disappointed Bought this product not long ago thinking it would do what it's supposed to do. Tried it out 3 times on 2 different carpets, and seen no difference at all. would not recommend if you are o.c.d about cleanliness. 08 April 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cleaner than ever! Great product and at a reduced price. I was amazed at the cleaning power and the drying power of the suction. I would recommend that you go over all areas twice as I have noticed some uneven lines which are left by the brushes. Overall a great product! 15 June 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic carpet cleaner Purchased this carpet cleaner because I have started to look after dogs. It is very easy to use and was amazed at all the hair it removed from the carpets, even though I gave it a good hoover before hand. 14 January 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Works well for a small area great in small areas, water tank needs a lot of top up though so probably wouldn't be so effective (and more time consuming) with a larger expanse of carpet to be cleaned. Helped make old rugs much cleaner, good value for money for this purpose. 31 December 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by good product for the money Very light weight, very easy to use. I cleaned my 13 year old daughters cream carpet and is has reallt come up like new. some stubborn stains such as mascara and lipstick took a light rub with a cloth to loosen then the cleaner did well. 29 May 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good, but could be a lot better This is a decent cleaner, however the fluid doesn't come out very evenly and it is very difficult to use on stair carpets; it also doesn't suck up any clumps of cat fur, so you need to do this by hand or with another vacuum cleaner. 04 September 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Average Easy to put together and to use. Just about does the job required but exceptionally noisy. Really uncomfortable metallic noise. More expensive models may be quieter. 31 May 2013
  • 2015-09-01T08:29:35.610-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_75, tr_75
  • loc_en_US, sid_001562006, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 next>>

Additional information from the manufacturer

From the Manufacturer|Powered by Answers™

Thank You Is the information in this section helpful? Yes / No

Vax

The VRS5W carpet cleaner is easy to set up and use with its powerful motor. This carpet cleaner has a cleaner water capacity of 2.6 litres and a dirty water capacity of 2.4 litres, complete with the Vax AAA carpet cleaning solution. This Vax carpet cleaner comes in a lightweight design that's easy to manoeuvre and comes with a static brush bar that agitates carpet pile for deep cleaning. Easy to set up, use and store, becoming the ideal carpet cleaning solution.

Close up