Category Hero

Product Image

Samsung GALAXY S III Mini - Android Phone
Full Screen Rollover image to zoom

Alternative views:

Samsung GALAXY S III Mini - Android Phone Reviews

Price: Was £199.00 Now £145.00
Save £54


Product availability status:

Sorry, out of stock.

25% off Selected Accessories

Receive 25% off Selected Mobile Phone Accessories when purchased with any Mobile Phone Handset. Click here for Terms & Conditions.
- Subject to availability - Discount applied at checkout


    The GALAXY S III mini is a compact version of the flagship smartphone GALAXY S III. The GALAXY S III mini brings the high performance, intuitive ease-of-use and nature-inspired design of the GALAXY S III to an elegant, compact smartphone with a 4.0-inch screen. It can be an optimal choice for consumers who are looking for more practical smartphones.
    The GALAXY S III mini is powered by Android 4.1 (Jelly Bean), the latest version of the world's most popular smartphone operating system. Jelly Bean has fast, fluid and smooth graphics along with a new Google Search experience featuring Google Now, which brings you just the right information, before you even ask.
    Stylish and compact, the GALAXY S III mini shares the GALAXY S III's breakthrough design and simple elegance. Its ultra-minimal curved frame delivers a rich natural feel, which is also reflected on its nature-inspired home screen, wallpapers and ringtones. Its beautiful 4.0-inch Super AMOLED display offers a generous viewing experience that lets you view multimedia and Web content in brilliant color and clarity. Its compact size gives users a comfortable grip and allows a convenient one-hand operation.
    The GALAXY S III mini is packed with intelligent technology designed to make interacting with the phone incredibly natural and intuitive. S Voice, Samsung's advanced natural language recognition software, lets you use your voice to unlock the phone with simple customized commands, or to play your favorite songs, turn the volume up or down, organize your schedule, or automatically launch the camera and start taking photos.
    The GALAXY S III mini also understands your gestures to make using your phone easier and more natural: With Smart Stay, the phone's camera tracks your eyes and keeps the screen lit as long as you are looking at it. When reading a text message from a friend, Direct Call enables you to automatically dial a call simply by lifting the phone to your ear; and Smart Alert conveniently alerts you to missed calls or messages as soon as you pick up your phone.
    Content sharing is easy and fast on the GALAXY S III mini: its S Beam feature lets you share a 10MB music file in just two seconds by simply tapping on another S Beam-enabled device including GALAXY S III or GALAXY Note II, even without a Wi-Fi or cellular signal. The 'Buddy photo share' function also allows photos to be easily and simultaneously shared with all your friends pictured in an image directly from the camera or the photo gallery.

    Manufacturer's Description

    General
    Product Type
    Android Phone
    Form Factor
    Touch
    Integrated Components
    Digital camera, 2nd camera, FM radio, digital player, GPS receiver, GLONASS receiver
    Width
    63 mm
    Depth
    10 mm
    Height
    122 mm
    Weight
    120 g
    Body Colour
    Marble white
    SAR Value
    0.58 W/kg (body) / 0.52 W/kg (head)
    Cellular
    Technology
    WCDMA (UMTS) / GSM
    Band
    WCDMA (UMTS) / GSM 850/900/1800/1900
    Mobile Broadband Generation
    3G
    Service Provider
    Not specified
    Operating System
    Android 4.1 (Jelly Bean)
    User Interface
    Samsung TouchWiz
    Application Software
    ActiveSync, Google Places, Google Download, S Voice, Pop Up Play, Samsung Kies air
    Input Device(s)
    Multi-touch
    Messaging & Internet
    Cellular Messaging Services
    MMS, SMS
    Instant Messaging Services
    Google Talk
    Supported Social Networks and Blogs
    Google+
    Mobile Services
    Video Call, Google Play, YouTube, Samsung Apps, Google Search, Gmail, Google Latitude, Samsung ChatON, Samsung Readers Hub, Samsung Music Hub, Samsung Game Hub, Google Play Books, Samsung Video Hub, Google Play Movies, Google Now
    Communications
    Data Transmission
    GPRS, EDGE, HSDPA, HSUPA
    Wireless Interface
    NFC, Bluetooth 4.0, IEEE 802.11a/b/g/n
    Bluetooth Profiles
    Hands Free Profile (HFP), Headset Profile (HSP), Object Push Profile (OPP), Serial Port Profile (SPP), Advanced Audio Distribution Profile (A2DP), Audio/Video Remote Control Profile (AVRCP), Human Interface Device Profile (HID), Phonebook Access Profile (PBAP), Message Access Profile (MAP)
    Communication Features
    Mobile Email client, Internet browser
    Phone Features
    Phone Functions
    Speakerphone, call timer, conference call, flight mode, vibrating alert
    Sensors
    Accelerometer, proximity sensor, digital compass, gyro sensor
    Additional Features
    Radio Data Service (RDS), Wi-Fi direct, S Beam, Social tag, Direct call, Smart stay
    Organiser
    Personal Information Management
    Calendar, synchronization with PC, calculator, reminder, alarm clock
    Media Player
    Supported Digital Audio Standards
    WMA, AAC, Ogg Vorbis, AMR, MP3, FLAC, AAC +, eAAC+
    Supported Digital Video Standards
    VC-1, MPEG-4, WMV, H.264, H.263
    Processor
    Clock Speed
    1 GHz
    Processor Core Qty
    Dual-core
    Memory
    RAM
    1 GB
    User Memory
    8 GB
    Supported Flash Memory Cards
    microSDHC - up to 32 GB
    Digital Camera
    Sensor Resolution
    5 Megapixel
    Focus Adjustment
    Automatic
    Camera Light Source
    LED light
    Video Recorder Resolutions
    1280 x 720 (720p)
    Features
    Video recording, Best photo function, Buddy photo share
    Navigation System
    Navigation
    A-GPS/GLONASS receiver
    Navigation Software & Services
    Google Maps, Google Maps Navigation
    Display
    Type
    OLED display - colour
    Technology
    Super AMOLED
    Diagonal Size
    4"
    Display Resolution
    800 x 480 pixels
    Colour Depth
    16.7 million colours
    Connections
    Connector Type
    Headset jack - mini-phone 3.5mm
    Micro-USB
    Battery
    Capacity
    1500 mAh
    Run Time Details
    Talk ( GSM ) - up to 850 min
    Standby ( GSM ) - up to 460 hrs
    Talk ( WCDMA ) - up to 470 min
    Standby ( WCDMA ) - up to 360 hrs
    Miscellaneous
    Included Accessories
    Power adapter
    • Samsung GALAXY S III Mini
    • 1500 mAh Battery
    • Power adapter
    Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 79 reviewers.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Its perfect! I just bought the phone and its amazing its really an alternative for the real Samsung Galaxy S3 and I love it! Good job guys, good job. 18 February 2013
    Rated 5 out of 5 by The best android phone on the market. NICE phone , great features , great design, all apps on the market are compatible with this phone. All the BEST! PS. BUY THIS PHONE !!! 10 August 2013
    Rated 5 out of 5 by The perfect phone Simply the best; Its well built and solid; light and bright. Its all-around device by all means and from all aspects. I just love it. 24 May 2013
    Rated 5 out of 5 by SO AMAZING! better then an iphone! this product is the best phone i have ever brought, nothing beats it, has an amazing screen, better size then the other s3 10 February 2013
    Rated 5 out of 5 by This product is great! what a fab phone! i love it! excellent features and the app store has a wide range of apps! couldn't be happier :D 07 April 2013
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Great In Every Way Very good phone, good price, great features ,phone doesn't lag, love the small size, good screen 27 July 2013
    Rated 5 out of 5 by A Fab mobile! I just love my Galaxy S3 mini - it's the best phone I've ever had and recommend it to everyone! 08 February 2013
    Rated 5 out of 5 by S3 mini Very good phone, I using it 6 months, and there no problems, no lag. Recommend. 23 December 2013
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Love my new phone! This phone replaced my old Samsung Galaxy Apollo. I was really excited when I ordered this phone, and I'm not disappointed! I was slightly concerned about the negtive reviews regarding battery life, but to be honest, its no different to other smartphones. Like any smartphones, the more you use it, the faster it runs down. However, this phone not only has a 'power saving' mode, but also has a feature where you can close any apps running in the background. I do this often, and my phone easily lasts a couple of days without a charge. So impressed with all the little tricks this phone can do. Slightly expensive, but I prefer it to an iphone which is double the price! If you're looking to buy this phone, I would recommend it 100%! 05 March 2013
    Rated 5 out of 5 by AMAZIN!! Better that iphones very good featues,amazing camera,lightweight and very hard to brake 07 March 2013
    Rated 3 out of 5 by great phone great phone but needs better battery life and android 4.4 asap!!! 06 March 2014
    Rated 5 out of 5 by SUPER DUPER EXCELLENT!!! it has a good features, the design is great! i like it allll!!!! 03 August 2013
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Love it! First time buying a smartphone and this is just what I needed 14 March 2013
    Rated 5 out of 5 by This phone has great everything. The best phone i have ever had.A++++++++++++++++++++++++++++ 16 January 2013
    Rated 1 out of 5 by I don't like SAMSUNG. It use my airtime and data bundles in minutes!! I hate it!!!!! I hate it! It's expensive and I can't afford using it!!!!! 07 December 2013
    Rated 4 out of 5 by Best phone so far and just got it today i love all nthe features soo fun I enjoyed playing on there and it had very nice graphics! 07 April 2014
    Rated 5 out of 5 by phone its an amazing phone easy to use and easy to understand 22 September 2013
    Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice but not without faults All in all- it's a nice little phone, ok camera and quite smart look, good size, comfortable to use. First problems started when I tried to change the alarm clock melody (singing birds just don't wake me up!) and as it happens- there's no other alarm clock! The battery lasted for whole 3 months- and then died. Rather short-lasting I would say. Initially for few days it needed to be charged twice daily, then wouldn't last the night without switching off. And yes, in this model when battery dies- your alarm clock won't work- just in case you're wondering. I'm on my second battery and it's almost 3 months old, we'll see what will happen next. Also my phone doesn't work abroad, for some reason it doesn't want to connect to foreign networks. I have no restrictions on the sim and roaming was working (supposedly). My network's response was "you should have called us"- how???? my phone wasn't working! Another problem arose when my cat ate me charger- it is impossible to quickly buy original parts, phone shops don't stock them up, I was in 5 different shops of 3 different phone providers, they have plenty parts for iphones though... I had to buy a multi-charger with many different endings and huge plugs, don't really use it as it's not nice, just charge my phone through the computer. In conclusion- next time I will just buy iphone, easier to get parts for it and there are many more accessories and apps for it. 21 May 2013
    Rated 5 out of 5 by BRILLIANT! i got this phone in january and i love it! the screen is bright, realistic and sharp. the camera is brilliant so much detail when you zoom in on a pic! never had any problems like freezing and lagging ect. i have around 20 apps and games and it is still as quick as when i first brought it, also i love the features like lifting it up to your head calls the person you are texting etc. you can also mute a phone call or radio by simply turning the phone over on its face, you can tell it what to do with your voice without going onto S-voice for example i can say unlock and my phone unlocks itself; another great feature is security, with face recognition and voice recognition and pattern and pin and password there is one for everybody. also if you ever lose your phone you can simply log onto your samsung account on a computer you track your phones whereabouts on a map live and also ring it, lock it, text it, block it and erase all the data from it whether it is on or off. if a thief changes your sim card the phone will send a text to your selected contact saying that they have changed your sim card and what the new sim cards number is!!! WOW there are so many features i cant list them all, i think this phone is amazing! oh and another feature i like is you can zoom in and out of a picture by leaning the phone back and forth, when zoomed in you can move the phone around to move the viewpiont around the picture! so clever. 30 March 2013
    Rated 4 out of 5 by A fast, fun phone but it isn't perfect When I first got this phone it was fantastic! Great battery, beautiful screen quality during general use and looking at pictures (despite some reviews saying the quality of the screen is poor) and loads of features that allow you to customize the phone and really make it yours. However, with more use I've come to notice some niggly little things: occasionally, it has been laggy. I don't want to admit it but, while very rarely, it does lag. Having said that, the majority of the time it's fast, fluid and beautiful to look at. I sometimes find myself playing with the home screen and flicking through pages of apps because it's so pretty! Another big issue I've had, whether it's to do with my network provider or phone, is the constant dropping of signal at home. This did not happen at first, but a couple of months into having the phone it's becoming a real annoyance. "Emergency Calls Only" haunts my dreams. In addition to this, texts I send to one person in particular sometimes aren't received OR the middle of the text has been wiped but filled with a previous text that I sent to them weeks ago! Horrendous, but like I said, I am yet unsure whether this is down to my network provider. Either way I'm royally miffed. Battery life used to be shocking but I did something...of which I am unsure...that seemed to really improve it. I also constantly have it on battery saving mode. Overall, I think that if my handset worked as it should it would be a cracking little phone. I love it to pieces but the problems I've had with it are not to be overlooked. Having said that, I seem to be the only person with this phone with signal and text problems, so it could just be my phone is in need of repair (annoying). 18 June 2013
    Rated 4 out of 5 by Would have been 5 x 5 stars if the design allowed installation to the external micro-SD card The small screen on my old 'semi-smartphone' was becoming a pain so I set about looking for something to replace it. I read review after review after review and checked out several smartphones at my local Orange shop, here in France. One of my priorities was that the phone should fit comfortably into the front pocket of my jeans and should be easy and comfortable to use as a phone (which is it's main purpose after all!). That immediately ruled out all the new and widely hyped larger 'phablets' that are receiving all the plaudits lately. Most of the reviews I read criticised the Galaxy S3 mini as being "slow in comparison to the S3 and the Nexus 4" and as "having a screen a little below today's standard". Well let me say that all that is just not so in real life use. Perhaps if you're using lab techniques to take speed measurements then maybe a geek will find that there is a nano-second or two difference but IN PRACTICAL USE the Galaxy S3 mini shows no lag, no slowness of operation, and the screen is perfect. As a professional photographer, I can confidently say that no normal person will see anything lacking in the S3 mini's screen at all. It is bright, with lovely colours and deep blacks, and the text and photos displayed are crisp and a joy to look at. The audio quality in phone conversations is excellent both ways and is perfect when used with a hearing aid - as was not the case with my old phone, the position of which I had to keep adjusting in order to hear a conversation properly. It fits my needs perfectly especially as, unlike the Nexus4 or the iPhone it will take an external micro-SD. And therein lies the rub. I was very disappointed to find that it's not possible to install apps and maps etc. directly to the external micro-SD, which makes that particular feature a lot less useful than I was expecting. If the external SD card issue was addressed, this device would be a 5 x 5 star rated product as far as I am concerned. 22 March 2013
    Rated 3 out of 5 by Good Phone, still lacks the basic noticible features!!, Having played with the S3 Galaxy, i'm quite disappointed, this phone doesn't come close in comparison other than its smaller screen size. Its still far better than my HTC Aria, yes its definitely an upgrade, but there are features and functionalities that you definitely notice that are not there, and for me...i miss them! So far these are the ones that bother me! 1. There's no LED light indicator, there's no notification light that flashes when you recieve a message, missed call, e-mail..nothing! When charging the phone, there's no indication that the phone is in charging mode, again no light indicator. (my HTC and i bet other phones, have a light indicator, that comes on when charging (red# and fully charged #green)) 2. No Haptic Feedback : I don't know if its the Jellybean 4.1.1 version or the phone just doesn't come with it at all. But i find the touch screen a bit slippery, that's just my own user experience, and its a nice to have. I tried downloading an Auto Haptic Widget that Immersion released to correct the UI settings in the S3, hoping it will give me that functionality, but unfortunately the S3 Mini wasn't compatible for that download. 3. WIFI connections droping and so slow. This really ticked me off! as i wasn't expecting the connection to be slow. Apparently when you're in Power Save Mode, everything is literally in power save, so the WIFI goes off when the phone is as sleep, i had to undo that, kills my battery. But in general the WIFI connection is very disappointing!! 4. I spent hours trying to get the Bluetooth to work, i was getting very frusterated! it finally paired with my Jambox...weird! 5. Performace is not impressive! I still find the phone a bit slow, just everything, opening up apps etc. I've had to download Firefox for Android as i find the performance much better than the Internet app that comes with the phone 6. It says 8GB, but in theory, you only have 4GB to play with, i had to get a 16GB SD card, still its not straight forward and don't think its possible to download apps to the SD card directly?? 7. Junk: There's just a whole bunch of useless apps that come with the phone, that are just occupying space and are rooted, so can't uninstall them..too many unusable stuff! I can't think of any more at the moment, will update this review when i have more. I genuinely think Samsung DID NOT put a lot of thought into making this phone, i feel like they never considered how intrested people would be and give it a lot of thought to make the UI experience and performance more enjoyable, they were in it just to make money. It still better than my old phone, for now its just a phone, nothing more...make phone calls & check messages.. 31 January 2013
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Best phone ever I bought this phone, after my blackberry. I love this phone, its a great size and weight, packed full sith great features. Love this phone brilliant little device and would recommend this to a friend. Great buy and value for money!!!! 16 February 2013
    Rated 4 out of 5 Good Piece,But Battery Not so Promising I Purchased this Product,Happy with the Funtionality what it has,but the Downside is Battery Is draining a lot,so had to charge it atleast twice a day...apart from Battery..it has got a KOOL look and Performance. 24 January 2013
    Rated 5 out of 5 by S III Mini - Very good product video quality - excellent Picture Quality - good battery life - OK look and size - very good. not too big, not too small. easily fit in your pocket (unlike latest smart phones) Price - I found few online retailers who sell £20 cheaper than ASDA. But you have to wait until they deliver it which might take 5 working days. With ASDA you can collect it next day. Very happy with the product. 29 April 2013
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent value for money purchase Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini feels just like the higher priced Samsung Galaxy S3. The marble white color is excellent and pleasing to the eye. The Galaxy S3 Mini looks superb. The phone fits comfortably in the hand and it is quite light on the pocket. The processing is quick and the graphics and screen resolution is very impressive. 13 May 2013
    Rated 3 out of 5 by s3 mini Nice smart phone with everything you expect from a samsung excellent camera even when taking close ups. I found one major floor with this phone I use the 4×3 keyboard for texting on t9 but it has no option to save your own words like on my previous phone galaxy ace and it makes texting a nightmare. I have looked into it and there is no software update from samsung and this let's down an otherwise brilliant phone. 25 May 2013
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Great purchase Previously owned the Samsung galaxy s2 so I already like the Samsung phones. The s3 mini has a lot more features and just as easy to use. 12 March 2013
    Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent This is good phone for every one .I liked very much bacause I have all ready Samsung smart tv so I recommend to everyone please buy this phone. I buy this phone online to asda my English not good but I operate phone very easily. But it has small to problem phone memory very low so I buy sd memory card. 17 May 2013
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Superb phone at a superb price I was tempted by the full size model as it has a better spec but I wanted a phone you could reasonably put in your pocket. I previously owned an HTC desire which was great in its day but this is so much better. The screen is bright and clear and the phone is surprisingly light and looks great. It has plenty of memory (a problem with the HTC) so I can load it up with plenty of Apps. Everything about this phone is great apart from one minor niggle, the absence of an LED indicator. 28 June 2013
    <<prev 2 3 4 next>>
    1 Question & 0 Answers

    Asda Q&A is a customer to customer community forum, and as such Asda does not endorse any customers ideas or advice. If you are a Wine Shop customer Asda may respond to questions posted when appropriate to do so regarding product details. If you have a customer service query you can contact us here. Thank you.

    Ask your questions. Share your answers.

     
     
    « Back
     
     
    by
    Read all my Q&A
     
    Please wait while more information about yasb is loaded.
    Additional information about yasb could not be loaded.
    8/2/2014
    0points
    0out of 0found this question helpful.
    Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
    1 of 1
    1 of 1

        There are no recently viewed products to show