Philips HD4644/00 1.7L Energy Efficient Kettle

Rollover image to zoom

Philips HD4644/00 1.7L Energy Efficient Kettle main view

Philips HD4644/00 1.7L Energy Efficient Kettle Reviews

£24.96

The Philips HD4644/00 White Energy Efficient Kettle provides a stylish and effective way to boil up to 1.7 litres of water. The kettle features a unique ''one cup indicator'' that allows you to boil only the water you need saving up to 66% energy compared to a regular kettle.

This electric kettle is powered through a 360-degree rotational base, meaning that it is not attached to a power outlet making it easy to transport while the ergonomic design guarantees ease of use. The rapid-boil function provides you with hot water quickly, reducing the amount of electricity used making it a great environmentally friendly kitchen essential.

  • 1.7 litre capacity with one cup water indicator to avoid unnecessary water use
  • Double action filter for clear water and a cleaner kettle
  • Flat heating element for fast boiling and easy cleaning
  • Save up to 66% energy compared to a regular kettle
  • The light on the button will switch off when the water has boiled
AddPhilips HD4644/00 1.7L Energy Efficient Kettle to basket

  • Click and collect Collect in store FREE

    Click & Collect

    Collect in any Asda store for free.

     

    Our Click & Collect service is FREE to a store of your choice and it's now a faster service. If you order before 7 pm you'll be able to collect your order the following day after 5 pm from the store of your choice.
    Click here for further details

    *Please note some items may not be available to collect from store.

  • Delivery Have this item delivered
    Delivered from £2.95by Friday 04 September
    Standard: 3-5 days £2.95
    Next day £4.50
    Named day £4.50
    Named day and time £5.95
    More delivery info
  • International delivery International delivery not available
    This item is not available for international delivery
  • Free Returns Free returns in store

    Free Returns


    You can return this item for free to any ASDA store.

 
Colour White
Capacity 1.7 Litres
Cord Length (m) 0.75 Metres
Cord Storage Yes
Dimensions 24.4 x 16 x 22.2 cm
Filter Yes
Material Stainless steel heating element with Polypropylene/ ABS housing
Model Number HD4644/00
Net Capacity (litres) 1.7 Litres
Power 3000 Watts
Product Type Electric Kettles
Rapid Boil No
Removable Limescale Filter Yes
Type Kettles
Water Level Indicator Yes
Weight 1.012kg
Brand Philips
 
Delivered from £2.95
by Friday 04 September
Standard: 3-5 days £2.95
Next day £4.50
Named day £4.50
Named day and time £5.95
More delivery info
 

Returns for UK

If for any reason you are not satisfied with your George Clothing or George Home product, simply return it within 100 days with proof of purchase for an exchange or refund. George branded products only. Excludes watches, jewellery, hair accessories, part assembled flat pack furniture and mattresses. The 100 Day Guarantee only applies to George branded products. Please refer to our terms and conditions for details of our returns and refund process for non-George branded products. Your statutory rights are not affected. UK Mainland stores only. Excludes franchises.





 
Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 99 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by First one leaked and dodgy switch on second one After about 2.5 years my kettle developed a leak, which Philips do not seem concerned about but I do not think is a decent lifetime for a kettle. It seems that I am not the only person to have this problem. When it wasn't leaking the kettle was actually quite good so I decided to buy another one. However after about 3 days the on/off switch has developed a fault and now only comes on occasionally. It seems like a loose connection. So that will be returned. Up until this kettle I had happily bought Philips products, but never again. 14 April 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Large capacity, fast boiling, great-looking kettle! A kettle is a kettle, right? Well, no, not always - I've had some pretty ropey, loud and slow kettles, but this Philips is extremely quiet, boils very quickly (and importantly shuts down quickly, too, rather than that interminable wait for the click off) and allows you to boil just a single cup of water, or enough to fill a panful of pasta. It's got a nice, solid feel to it, too. One drawback - it's white plastic, so it can look grubby between cleans, but give it a quick wipe down and it is good-as-new. 02 October 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Does what is says on the kettle! This Phillips kettle is an attractive addition to our kitchen, though that's not why we bought it. It boils quickly and not unduly noisily, and has been used for boiling as little as one mugful of water. One user has bad arthritis, but copes quite easily with filling, lifting and pouring. In fact one reason for our choice was that this kettle is lighter and better balanced than the previous incumbent. Judgement is reserved on whether it deserves an 'excellent' rating until we see how long it lasts. 01 June 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Works great - until it leaks! All the positive reviews are right - it's fast, allows a lot or a little amount of water to be boiled, and looks good. However, clearly it has a leak problem, as mentioned by other reviewers, which started in mine at just about 2 years. I must absolutely credit Philips with sending me a replacement within three days, even though it was out of warranty by the time I actually contacted them. So marks lost on design, but brownie points for customer service. 26 October 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Really great and reliable kettle I only bought a new one as the one I have owned for 4 years got damaged (clumsy me). It works well and is nicely constructed. Easy to read water indicator (so you only use what you need) and boils rapidly. I bought the original one to replace my Bosch kettle and it has stood the test of time. Follow the first use instructions by boiling it twice and throwing the water away. Some users have complained of a strange taste to the water if they did not do this. However this has not been my experience. Very easy to clean and de-scale. My advice, buy as many as you can at the on-line price before they all go. This item is £5 cheaper on-line than in the store for click and collect and £2 if you get it delivered. In addition you can rely on it being there when you need it. I'm off now to see where they've hidden the gherkins this week ! 30 November 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The perfect kitchen kettle I have used this product happily for many years and it has saved me lots in electricity, allowing me never to boil more water than I need at the time. As well as this, it is one of the quietest kettles I have come across, it's not too heavy to hold in one hand, and it's quick to boil. It is also rather stylish, I think. After years of everyday use, I have just replaced this kettle with a brand new one, and that's the best recommendation I can offer. 21 May 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Love being able to boil one cup of water Worked brilliantly for several months but recently began to leak - large puddles of water both in the base and under it. I contacted Philips customer services on Tuesday evening, was advised to stop using it immediately and today (Thursday) I received a replacement (upgraded kettle) ...FREE of charge! I am one happy Philips Kettle user! A special thank you to Konrad who was so very helpful and demonstrated excellent customer services skills. 01 August 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by after 3 years, began leaking I was very pleased with the design and features eg display window on both sides, easy open lid. However, it over-boiled by up to 30 secs, so I had to catch it before it switched off, to save electricity. Then, after 3 years it started to leak from the bottom. It was out of warranty, but still you expect a kettle to last longer than that - I've had several lasting over 10 years ! 05 March 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by its a good kettle if ididnt leak its a good kettle .bought second one to replace a older model which starting leaking in the centre of kettle.but I had the kettle for good few years before the leak .hence replaced it with the same model and yet again the leak started again same place.so hoyed it out but it was only 13mths old.very disappointed with Philips I own other Philips products which im more than happy with both here and in when I lived in australia 12 April 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Kettle Good appearence,easy to fill and pore out without dripping excellent value,just the right size and works well with the measured cup indications, so you can make a saving on the electricity that you use by useing the cup indication marks.This is a replacement for our last Phillips kettle that my wife unfortunatly placed on the hot plate on stove witch melted the bottom of the kettle,it still worked but began to leak,it had to go. 25 July 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great kettle but may eventually leak Great kettle. It is fast, can boil just a cup or two, it's quiet compared to all metal kettles; easy to fill through the spout. My kettle is about 4 years old and now leaks. Customer service tell me there are no known issues!! Will I replace it with one the same - probably - as they make so many of them, they must have improved the seal over the years. 4 years daily use out of an inexpensive appliance is probably ok anyway. 04 February 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fully lives up to expectations Very reliable and absolutely fit for purpose. Do as I do & save even more money by using the intended cup/s or mug/s to decant the water into the kettle to avoid any waste water or electricity, also, to save even more electricity, flip the switch to off before waiting for auto cut-off. Easy to keep the exterior pristine: wipe off drops on outside on every use - no lime-scale staining. 26 July 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by stylish and efficient Very happy with purchase. Looks good next to chrome coloured appliances even though it is plastic. Pours neatly. Like the swivel base. Only slight issue.... water level is measured in T cups. Would have thought Philips could have moved with the times, most people drink from a mug these days. ( Only mention this because, the point of buying an eco kettle was to only boil the water needed. 13 February 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 Great value and planet saving! This is a great product. It looks remarkable modern and well designed considering it's excellent price. The best part about it is that it boils water incredibly quickly and has a see through plastic water gauge which quickly makes sure you don't overfill it. The only thing I'd change is make the amount for one cup a little bigger as who drinks tea out of cups anymore? It's a mug of tea !! 03 October 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by It leaks! Okay I have had my kettle for just under 3 years but it is the shortest living kettle I have ever owned despite being the most expensive! It suddenly started to leak from around the base. Not cracked or mistreated so I really dont know what has caused this fault. Philips wont tell me that there kettles will last more than 2 years and 10 months. Nuff said I suppose? 29 September 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good while it worked... Easy to use and boiled quickly, was very happy with it. But it started to develop a leak after about 2 years 4 months use (and therefore outside the warranty period). I now see that there have been lots of complaints of this kind, which seems to indicate a design weakness. 29 November 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Leaking problems A couple of years ago we purchased 2 of these kettles to use in our Church, and up until now they had performed well, but one has started leaking from the base. Others have reported similar problems - our kettles are not used as much as they would be in a home environment so it is disappointing that they are not lasting as long as we had expected. 15 July 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very good kettle can do as little or as much water as you need. very easy to lift unlike some of the kettles you get also you can see when the kettle is boiling by the light and got to say even tho even tho guarantee is for 2 years had this one for 6 year so going back for the same kettle again stick to what you know works ;) 13 November 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Two years on Although this has been an excellent kettle I now, I'm afraid, have to announce its demise. The two year guarantee ran out in July and it is now November and what a surprise, the kettle won't work. The light comes on but it does not heat the water. This is so typical of modern products, they manage to expire just after the guarantee. It has a one star rating for longevity. 26 November 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by I can not fault the product or the service The Kettle is efficient and boils the water for two cups of tea or coffee faster than I get around the kitchen organising the cups and milk where my old kettle took longer and I had to wait. I have no complaints about the product and service, and would recommend the Kettle to any prospective buyer – should it ever need replacing I would buy the same product again 02 October 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Leaks like all the other cheap kettles we bought After buyng a couple of unknown brand kettles and having them leak we'd had enough and went for a reknowned brand. Worked for a few months now leaks like all the others. The reason I always buy unknown brands in the first place was because I they usually perform just as well if not better. This just proves it. When you buy a known brand you pay for the name. 17 March 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Leaks While it works, it is a great kettle. Fast, easy to use and looks good. The problem is poor reliability. I liked it so much so bought another one for my parents. This was a mistake. Theirs started to leak after a year. We thought it was a faulty unit, but now a year later also my kettle is leaking. Clearly a fault in the design and manufacturing. 05 December 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simply does what it needs to well This kettle is a great buy. Compared to all the fancy ones this has many advantages. I have owned expensive kettles and all they do is break in one way or another. This kettle on the other hand is no nonsense, it's designed to be practical and it excels. If your looking for a kettle not a design piece then this is perfect for making an efficient cuppa. 02 October 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by nice design but it leaks Bought around 2-3 years ago. it is hardly used as we are out of the country for 8 months of the year. It looks good and works well but sadly leaks, given the other comments about this reoccuring problem its clear it was a design/production issue which should have been sorted during the proving/testing stage before being released for sale. 16 September 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Eco kettle Phillips kettle, good manufacturer. Good pourer, doesn't dribble over everything. Quick boiler, doesn't boil for a long time before switching off. Like the thermometer-look glass panel to see how much water is in the kettle. You can boil a one-cup amount which is very small, a mug needs about 1.5 cup measures. Very happy with it so far. 09 June 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great eco kettle Loved my previous 20 year old Philips kettle but decided to get a new one having realised how much energy (and money) we were wasting by boiling more water than necessary. With this one you can boil just one cup's worth, and it's really to see how much you've put in. Nice looking too. 29 October 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Leaks Bought this kettle in May 2012 has now begun to leak from left side onto base. Reading through reviews this would seem to be typical of the model. I would urge anyone to read (trawl) through reviews if they wish to save money and get a decent product. Unhappy this has happened in so short a time when product only serves myself. 05 December 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This kettle has good fetures I have had my kettle for just over two years. It has given excellent service during this time, many cups off tea /coffee. It has now started to leak very badly.at the base which has taken the edge off the kettle. I am considering buying another as I note you have modernised the base seal ,could you confirm this has been done. 02 September 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst purchase ever Well, after roughly eighteen months, the kettle seems to have developed a leak, leaving puddles in the base and/or on the worktop making it unusable. On reading these reviews, it appears it is a common problem and should be looked at by the manufacturers!!! 12 April 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great kettle This is my second Phillips kettle (same model) and I think it's great. The old one started leaking after 4.5 years so not bad. All of them leak anyway. It looks great, very functional with double clear water level indicator. Highly recommended! Good offer at Asda, it was the cheapest I could find online. 07 June 2014
  • 2015-08-27T06:09:37.970-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_99, tr_99
  • loc_en_US, sid_001558478, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 next>>

Additional information from the manufacturer

From the Manufacturer|Powered by Answers™

Thank You Is the information in this section helpful? Yes / No

Overview

  • Boil just what you need

    Save up to 66% energy
    The unique ''one cup indicator'' feature of this stylishly designed kettle allows you to boil only the water you need. Therefore, you can easily save up to 66% energy and reduce your impact on the environment

Product Views

Features

  • Boil what you need

    One cup indicator to boil only the water you need
    Enabling consumers to boil the amount of water they need, and therefore saving up to 50% energy and water, contributing to a better environment.
  • Easy to experience

    Easy lid and spout filling
    The kettle can be filled via the spout or by opening the lid.
  • Hinged lid with large opening for easy filling and cleaning
    Hinged lid with large opening for easy filling and cleaning, also avoiding contact with steam.
  • Easy to read water level indicators on both sides
    Easy-to-read water level indicators on both sides of the Philips electric kettle for left- and right-handed use.
  • Light indicates when the kettle is switched on
    Elegant red light incorporated in the on/off switch indicates when the kettle is on.
  • Cord winder for easy storage
    The cord can be wrapped around the base, so that the kettle is easy to place in your kitchen.
  • Cordless 360° pirouette base for easy lifting and placing
  • Fast boiling and easy cleaning

    Flat heating element for fast boiling and easy cleaning
    The stainless steel concealed element of the Philips kettle ensures fast boiling and easy cleaning.
  • Anti-calc filter for a clean cup of water
    Anti-calc filter for a clean cup of water and a cleaner kettle.
  • Safe to use

    Multi safety system
    Multi safety system against short circuit and boil-dry, with auto switch-off when ready or when lifted from the base.

Specifications

Design specifications
Colour(s)bright white - grey
Materials
  • Heating element: Stainless steel
  • Housing: Polypropylene/ABS
  • Switch and tool holder: Polypropylene
General specifications
CordlessYes
Non-slip feetYes
Ergonomic gripYes
Easy spout fillingYes
Wide opening lidYes
Cord storageYes
Automatic shut-offYes
Boil-dry protectionYes
360-degree baseYes
Lid as well as spout fillingYes
Flat heating elementYes
Technical specifications
Capacity1.7 l
Power2500-3000 W
Cord length0.75 m
Voltage220-240 V
Frequency50–60 Hz
Service
2-year worldwide guaranteeYes

Awards

Philips Green Logo

Philips Green Products can reduce costs, energy consumption and CO2 emissions. How? They offer a significant environmental improvement in one or more of the Philips Green Focal Areas — Energy efficiency, Packaging, Hazardous substances, Weight, Recycling and disposal and Lifetime reliability.


Philips Green Logo

Philips Green Products can reduce costs, energy consumption and CO2 emissions. How? They offer a significant environmental improvement in one or more of the Philips Green Focal Areas - Energy efficiency, Packaging, Hazardous substances, Weight, Recycling and disposal and Lifetime reliability.

Royal Philips

WHICH? - AWARDS 2011

2011-07-28

Best Small Home Appliance Brand 2011

Philips has been awarded by independent consumer group "Which" in the small home appliance category for 2011 http://www.which.co.uk/about-which/what-we-offer/which-awards/

Review summary for the Philips HD4644

alaTest has collected and analyzed 1092 reviews of Philips HD4644. The average rating for this product is 3.9/5, compared to an average rating of 4.1/5 for other Other Home Appliances for all reviews. Reviewers really like the size and reliability. The...