Category Hero

Product Image

Philips HD4644 - kettle - bright white/grey
Full Screen Rollover image to zoom

Philips HD4644 - kettle - bright white/grey Reviews

Price: £24.96


Product availability status:

In Stock

Collect in store from FREE
from an ASDA store FREE
Collect+ Information to a local store: £4.50

Delivery Details

Delivered from £2.95
by Friday 18 July
Standard: 3-5 days £2.95
Next day £4.50
Named day £4.50
Named day and time £5.95
More delivery info

Close [-] Show all options [+]


    Product Details

    Description

    Stylish design kettle with unique feature: the One Cup Indicator. Enabling consumers to avoid boiling more water than needed and therefore save energy by up to 66%, reducing their impact on the environment.

    From the Manufacturer|Powered by Answers™

    Thank You Is the information in this section helpful? Yes / No

    Overview

    • Boil just what you need

      Save up to 66% energy
      The unique ''one cup indicator'' feature of this stylishly designed kettle allows you to boil only the water you need. Therefore, you can easily save up to 66% energy and reduce your impact on the environment

    Product Views

    Features

    • Boil what you need

      One cup indicator to boil only the water you need
      Enabling consumers to boil the amount of water they need, and therefore saving up to 50% energy and water, contributing to a better environment.
    • Easy to experience

      Easy lid and spout filling
      The kettle can be filled via the spout or by opening the lid.
    • Hinged lid with large opening for easy filling and cleaning
      Hinged lid with large opening for easy filling and cleaning, also avoiding contact with steam.
    • Easy to read water level indicators on both sides
      Easy-to-read water level indicators on both sides of the Philips electric kettle for left- and right-handed use.
    • Light indicates when the kettle is switched on
      Elegant red light incorporated in the on/off switch indicates when the kettle is on.
    • Cord winder for easy storage
      The cord can be wrapped around the base, so that the kettle is easy to place in your kitchen.
    • Cordless 360° pirouette base for easy lifting and placing
    • Fast boiling and easy cleaning

      Flat heating element for fast boiling and easy cleaning
      The stainless steel concealed element of the Philips kettle ensures fast boiling and easy cleaning.
    • Anti-calc filter for a clean cup of water
      Anti-calc filter for a clean cup of water and a cleaner kettle.
    • Safe to use

      Four-way safety system
      Four-way safety system against short circuit and boil-dry, with auto switch-off when boiled or when lifted from the base.

    Specifications

    Design specifications
    Colour(s)bright white - grey
    MaterialsHeating element: Stainless steel
    General specifications
    CordlessYes
    Non-slip feetYes
    Ergonomic gripYes
    Easy spout fillingYes
    Wide opening lidYes
    Cord storageYes
    Automatic shut-offYes
    Boil-dry protectionYes
    360-degree baseYes
    Lid as well as spout fillingYes
    Flat heating elementYes
    Technical specifications
    Capacity1.7 l
    Power2500-3000 W
    Cord length0.75 m
    Voltage220-240 V
    Frequency50–60 Hz
    Service
    2-year worldwide guaranteeYes

    Awards

    Philips Green Logo

    Philips Green Products can reduce costs, energy consumption and CO2 emissions. How? They offer a significant environmental improvement in one or more of the Philips Green Focal Areas - Energy efficiency, Packaging, Hazardous substances, Weight, Recycling and disposal and Lifetime reliability.

    Royal Philips

    Philips Green Logo

    Philips Green Products can reduce costs, energy consumption and CO2 emissions. How? They offer a significant environmental improvement in one or more of the Philips Green Focal Areas — Energy efficiency, Packaging, Hazardous substances, Weight, Recycling and disposal and Lifetime reliability.


    Review summary for the Philips HD4644

    alaTest has collected and analysed 1015 reviews from magazines and websites. Reviewers are impressed by the size and reliability. The design and usability are also appreciated.


    Full Specification

    Colour White
    Capacity 1.7 Litres
    Net Capacity (litres) 1.7 Litres
    Product Type Kettles
    Type Kettles
    Brand Philips
    Rated 4 out of 5 by 81 reviewers.
    Rated 2 out of 5 by Kettle leaked through seams onto electrical base within 9 months This kettle operated well for about 9 months but after this time we noticed that a small amount of water was accumulating in the base overnight. Although this water did not cause our RCD breaker to trip we were concerned about the close proximity of the water in the base and the electrical feed. After a while the kettle would not switch on reliably. We have replaced the kettle. The water appeared to be weeping from the seam between the kettle wall and the base. Although this has happened to this particular kettle we are clearly not able to say whether our experience is unique. 26 July 2012
    Rated 1 out of 5 by First one leaked and dodgy switch on second one After about 2.5 years my kettle developed a leak, which Philips do not seem concerned about but I do not think is a decent lifetime for a kettle. It seems that I am not the only person to have this problem. When it wasn't leaking the kettle was actually quite good so I decided to buy another one. However after about 3 days the on/off switch has developed a fault and now only comes on occasionally. It seems like a loose connection. So that will be returned. Up until this kettle I had happily bought Philips products, but never again. 14 April 2013
    Rated 4 out of 5 by So good to look at and just the right size but..... I only awarded 4 stars because this is the third one of these kettles I have had. The first started leaking before the two years warranty had expired and it was replaced by the retailer. The second one started leaking six weeks after the two year warranty expired. It is to Phillips's credit that Customer Services replaced that one too. I just hope this one is OK. It is a good size not too big, not heavy and looks good. A kettle which allows you to boil just one cup which is just under a mugfull - we like large coffee mugs. 24 July 2012
    Rated 4 out of 5 by Large capacity, fast boiling, great-looking kettle! A kettle is a kettle, right? Well, no, not always - I've had some pretty ropey, loud and slow kettles, but this Philips is extremely quiet, boils very quickly (and importantly shuts down quickly, too, rather than that interminable wait for the click off) and allows you to boil just a single cup of water, or enough to fill a panful of pasta. It's got a nice, solid feel to it, too. One drawback - it's white plastic, so it can look grubby between cleans, but give it a quick wipe down and it is good-as-new. 02 October 2011
    Rated 4 out of 5 by Works great - until it leaks! All the positive reviews are right - it's fast, allows a lot or a little amount of water to be boiled, and looks good. However, clearly it has a leak problem, as mentioned by other reviewers, which started in mine at just about 2 years. I must absolutely credit Philips with sending me a replacement within three days, even though it was out of warranty by the time I actually contacted them. So marks lost on design, but brownie points for customer service. 26 October 2012
    Rated 4 out of 5 by Love being able to boil one cup of water Worked brilliantly for several months but recently began to leak - large puddles of water both in the base and under it. I contacted Philips customer services on Tuesday evening, was advised to stop using it immediately and today (Thursday) I received a replacement (upgraded kettle) ...FREE of charge! I am one happy Philips Kettle user! A special thank you to Konrad who was so very helpful and demonstrated excellent customer services skills. 01 August 2013
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Kettle Good appearence,easy to fill and pore out without dripping excellent value,just the right size and works well with the measured cup indications, so you can make a saving on the electricity that you use by useing the cup indication marks.This is a replacement for our last Phillips kettle that my wife unfortunatly placed on the hot plate on stove witch melted the bottom of the kettle,it still worked but began to leak,it had to go. 25 July 2012
    Rated 3 out of 5 by Great kettle but may eventually leak Great kettle. It is fast, can boil just a cup or two, it's quiet compared to all metal kettles; easy to fill through the spout. My kettle is about 4 years old and now leaks. Customer service tell me there are no known issues!! Will I replace it with one the same - probably - as they make so many of them, they must have improved the seal over the years. 4 years daily use out of an inexpensive appliance is probably ok anyway. 04 February 2013
    Rated 5 out of 5 Great value and planet saving! This is a great product. It looks remarkable modern and well designed considering it's excellent price. The best part about it is that it boils water incredibly quickly and has a see through plastic water gauge which quickly makes sure you don't overfill it. The only thing I'd change is make the amount for one cup a little bigger as who drinks tea out of cups anymore? It's a mug of tea !! 03 October 2011
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Fully lives up to expectations Very reliable and absolutely fit for purpose. Do as I do & save even more money by using the intended cup/s or mug/s to decant the water into the kettle to avoid any waste water or electricity, also, to save even more electricity, flip the switch to off before waiting for auto cut-off. Easy to keep the exterior pristine: wipe off drops on outside on every use - no lime-scale staining. 26 July 2012
    Rated 2 out of 5 by Two years on Although this has been an excellent kettle I now, I'm afraid, have to announce its demise. The two year guarantee ran out in July and it is now November and what a surprise, the kettle won't work. The light comes on but it does not heat the water. This is so typical of modern products, they manage to expire just after the guarantee. It has a one star rating for longevity. 26 November 2013
    Rated 1 out of 5 by It leaks! Okay I have had my kettle for just under 3 years but it is the shortest living kettle I have ever owned despite being the most expensive! It suddenly started to leak from around the base. Not cracked or mistreated so I really dont know what has caused this fault. Philips wont tell me that there kettles will last more than 2 years and 10 months. Nuff said I suppose? 29 September 2011
    Rated 5 out of 5 by I can not fault the product or the service The Kettle is efficient and boils the water for two cups of tea or coffee faster than I get around the kitchen organising the cups and milk where my old kettle took longer and I had to wait. I have no complaints about the product and service, and would recommend the Kettle to any prospective buyer – should it ever need replacing I would buy the same product again 02 October 2011
    Rated 2 out of 5 by Leaks like all the other cheap kettles we bought After buyng a couple of unknown brand kettles and having them leak we'd had enough and went for a reknowned brand. Worked for a few months now leaks like all the others. The reason I always buy unknown brands in the first place was because I they usually perform just as well if not better. This just proves it. When you buy a known brand you pay for the name. 17 March 2013
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Simply does what it needs to well This kettle is a great buy. Compared to all the fancy ones this has many advantages. I have owned expensive kettles and all they do is break in one way or another. This kettle on the other hand is no nonsense, it's designed to be practical and it excels. If your looking for a kettle not a design piece then this is perfect for making an efficient cuppa. 02 October 2011
    Rated 3 out of 5 by Leaking problems A couple of years ago we purchased 2 of these kettles to use in our Church, and up until now they had performed well, but one has started leaking from the base. Others have reported similar problems - our kettles are not used as much as they would be in a home environment so it is disappointing that they are not lasting as long as we had expected. 15 July 2013
    Rated 3 out of 5 by Leaks While it works, it is a great kettle. Fast, easy to use and looks good. The problem is poor reliability. I liked it so much so bought another one for my parents. This was a mistake. Theirs started to leak after a year. We thought it was a faulty unit, but now a year later also my kettle is leaking. Clearly a fault in the design and manufacturing. 05 December 2013
    Rated 2 out of 5 by Leaks Bought this kettle in May 2012 has now begun to leak from left side onto base. Reading through reviews this would seem to be typical of the model. I would urge anyone to read (trawl) through reviews if they wish to save money and get a decent product. Unhappy this has happened in so short a time when product only serves myself. 05 December 2013
    Rated 5 out of 5 by This kettle has good fetures I have had my kettle for just over two years. It has given excellent service during this time, many cups off tea /coffee. It has now started to leak very badly.at the base which has taken the edge off the kettle. I am considering buying another as I note you have modernised the base seal ,could you confirm this has been done. 02 September 2013
    Rated 1 out of 5 by HD4644 Jug Kettle I like everything about this Kettle. Ease of use ,and cup markings encourage you to boil the corrrect amount of water. Economical to use ***BUT ** now on my third one and it , like the previous two has started leaking after approx one years use. So looks like I need a different make. 11 October 2011
    Rated 5 out of 5 by This kettle looks smart, is quick to boil and has a clear water indicator I am extremely happy with my kettle as it not only looks good but has all the features needed for ease of use. It is fast boiling, pours cleanly and the water indicator is useful for ensuring you do not have to boil more than is necessary. I would certainly recommend it. 08 October 2011
    Rated 4 out of 5 by Just what I wanted Looks good, comfy to use, and boils fast. Just what I wanted. However, it started leaking after about 18months (hence only 4 stars) but as it was still under guarantee Phillips replaced it - no trouble - great customer service. No problems (so far) with new one. 30 October 2011
    Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent Kettle, Some Problems, Excellent service I had this kettle for over two year. It looks lovely, easy to use and energy efficient. Only problem I had was a leak from the kettle, but after contacting the service centre it was promptly replaced (even though I didn't have a copy of the warranty at hand). 12 October 2011
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Works efficiently, easy to see water level, quick boil and pleasing design. After using metal bodied kettles for many years I decided to try a plastic version. Much to my surprise it has out-performed all previous models. My wife likes the lightweight handling and ease of use, wished we had one sooner! 11 September 2012
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Quick to boil This kettle boils quickly and is, unlike some kettles quiet while it is heating up. It also only needs one cup of water in it, if that is all that is required, added to it’s own light weight, makes it easy to use. 16 October 2011
    Rated 1 out of 5 by Leak problem In common with many other users, I found that this kettle started leaking into the base after a couple of years - much too short a lifespan. But far worse is Philips refusal to remedy the fault. Not recommended. 10 July 2013
    Rated 4 out of 5 by Great kettle until water and electric mix I like this kettle a lot. It boils quickly, its a good design but it has floors. It leaks badly unless completely emptied after use. Very dissapointed that I have to buy another kettle because of this 29 April 2013
    Rated 5 out of 5 by A first class product,can't fault it in any way. It was the ability to boil small quantities with a guide without having to guess,ie 1 Cup etc. which attracted me in the first place and I have not been disappointed.An excellent product. 02 October 2011
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Boils water Can't get very excited about a kettle - but it does the job well. I'd prefer it to be silent - it does seem a bit noisy. Nice clean lines inside - no nasty crevices for the gunge to hide. 02 October 2011
    Rated 5 out of 5 by This product is a all round winner This kettle is great if you are right or left handed as the level indecator is on both sides, also easy to descale. This is the second one i have had and would not buy anything else. 02 October 2011
    <<prev 2 3 4 next>>

        There are no recently viewed products to show