Genie Express Vac GUV-01 - vacuum cleaner - upright

Rollover image to zoom

Genie Express Vac GUV-01 - vacuum cleaner - upright main view Genie Express Vac GUV-01 - vacuum cleaner - upright alternative view Genie Express Vac GUV-01 - vacuum cleaner - upright alternative view Genie Express Vac GUV-01 - vacuum cleaner - upright alternative view

Genie Express Vac GUV-01 - vacuum cleaner - upright Reviews

Was £44.96
Now £35.00 Save  £9.96

The Genie Express Vac is lightweight yet doesn't compromise on power. At 4.9kg it's easy to use and carry up and down the stairs. The HEPA filters reduce allergens, and the dirt bin is easy to empty at just the touch of a button. Accessories are included on board for cleaning harder to reach areas.

Sorry, out of stock.

 
  • Click and collect Collect in store FREE

    Click & Collect

    Collect in any Asda store for free.

     

    Our Click & Collect service is FREE to a store of your choice and it's now a faster service. If you order before 7 pm you'll be able to collect your order the following day after 5 pm from the store of your choice.
    Click here for further details

    *Please note some items may not be available to collect from store.

  • Delivery Have this item delivered
    Delivered from £2.95by Wednesday 05 November
    Standard: 3-5 days £2.95
    Next day £4.50
    Named day £4.50
    Named day and time £5.95
    More delivery info
  • Free Returns Free returns in store

    Free Returns


    You can return this item for free to any ASDA store.

 
Size 29 x 27 x 106
Colour Purple and Grey
Bagless Bagless
Cord Length (m) 6 Meters
Dimensions 29 x 27 x 106
Dustbin Capacity (litres) 1.6 Litres
Edge To Edge Cleaning Yes
Filter HEPA Filtration
Material Plastic
Metre Hose Reach 2 Metres
Mini Turbo Brush No
Model Number GUV-01
On Board Tools Yes
Power (watts) 1400 Watts
Product Type Upright Vacuums
Type Vacuum Cleaners
Weight 4.9 kg
Brand Genie
Dust Capacity 1.50
Maximum Suction Power 210.00
Maximum Suction Power 210 W
Vacuum Cleaner Type Upright
Weight 4,900.00
Product Line Genie
Model Express Vac GUV-01
Cleaning Method Dry
Power Type Mains
Weight 4.9 kg
Max Power Consumption 1400 W
Max Power Consumption 1,400.00
Warranty 1 year
Filter Type HEPA
Dust Collection Bagless
Dust Capacity 1.5 litres
 
Delivered from £2.95
by Wednesday 05 November
Standard: 3-5 days £2.95
Next day £4.50
Named day £4.50
Named day and time £5.95
More delivery info
 

Returns for UK

If for any reason you are not satisfied with your George Clothing or George Home product, simply return it within 100 days with proof of purchase for an exchange or refund. George branded products only. Excludes watches, jewellery, hair accessories, part assembled flat pack furniture and mattresses. Your statutory rights are not affected. UK Mainland stores only. Excludes franchises.





 
6 Questions & 26 Answers

Asda Q&A is a customer to customer community forum, and as such Asda does not endorse any customers ideas or advice. If you are a Wine Shop customer Asda may respond to questions posted when appropriate to do so regarding product details. If you have a customer service query you can contact us here. Thank you.

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
« Back
 
 
by
London, UK
Gender: Female
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about london17 is loaded.
Additional information about london17 could not be loaded.
13/8/2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?Helpful00No00

Answers

Answer: 
Very easy. Done at the press of a button
by
Dundee
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about georgethefish is loaded.
Additional information about georgethefish could not be loaded.
30/9/2014
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
Thanks for Voting

Answer: 
Yes very easy
by
Stockport, UK
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about MattGR7 is loaded.
Additional information about MattGR7 could not be loaded.
18/9/2014
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
Thanks for Voting

Answer: 
Yes, you just push the button on the top and the canister comes away easily. Unscrew it, shake the filter out and then empty. Takes seconds
by
London, UK
Gender: Female
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Killermontst is loaded.
Additional information about Killermontst could not be loaded.
15/9/2014
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
Thanks for Voting

Answer: 
Yes very easy
by
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent, UK
Gender: Female
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about NessyG is loaded.
Additional information about NessyG could not be loaded.
15/9/2014
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
Thanks for Voting
I have a genie Hoover which is fantastic and I was just wondering as my belt has just snapped where can I purchase a new one and how much would it cost....many thanks angela
by
Manchester, UK
Gender: Female
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about MacyMoo2000 is loaded.
Additional information about MacyMoo2000 could not be loaded.
19/7/2014
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?Helpful00No11
by
Scotland, UK
Gender: Female
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Sheilly62 is loaded.
Additional information about Sheilly62 could not be loaded.
12/6/2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
 
10 answers

dog hair

I have a dog who shreads her white hair and I have a blacky grey carpet will this pick up my dog hair
by
Dumbarton, West Dunbartonshire, UK
Gender: Female
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about chezzyg1984 is loaded.
Additional information about chezzyg1984 could not be loaded.
22/4/2014
+5points
5out of 5found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?Helpful55No00

Answers

Answer: 
I have 2 cats, "1 a long haired calico", this vaccum picked up all the hair, especially on my stairs which seems to be the favourite place for them.
by
Liverpool, Merseyside, UK
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about burky is loaded.
Additional information about burky could not be loaded.
16/7/2014
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
Thanks for Voting

Answer: 
It will probably pick up your carpet! This really is a powerfull little thing for it's size and value, it does actually lift the carpet slightly when you use it. I cut my own hair at home and however much newspaper goes down there's always some that finds it's way onto the carpet and the Genie coped well with it at the weekend, so I would imagine it would do the same on pet hair. Hope that helps!
by
Manchester, UK
Gender: Male
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Elevensees is loaded.
Additional information about Elevensees could not be loaded.
15/7/2014
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
Thanks for Voting

Answer: 
I have various coloured carpets throughout my home including black/dark grey and have a ginger cat, the suction on this vacuum is quite strong and I have had no problem with it failing to pick up the hairs however I do clean the filters and empty on a weekly basis, hope this answers your question.
by
London
Gender: Female
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about mama4papa is loaded.
Additional information about mama4papa could not be loaded.
11/6/2014
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
Thanks for Voting

Answer: 
Have a West Highland Terrier and picks up the hair without a problem.
by
Ashington, Northumberland, UK
Gender: Male
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Blackdragon69 is loaded.
Additional information about Blackdragon69 could not be loaded.
11/6/2014
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
Thanks for Voting

Answer: 
My dog sheds copious amounts of light hair on a black carpet. This product removes it all.
by
Rotherham
Gender: Male
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Pinkldycool123 is loaded.
Additional information about Pinkldycool123 could not be loaded.
8/6/2014
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
Thanks for Voting

Answer: 
i have a collie and it picks her hair up
by
Shropshire, UK
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about minnie13 is loaded.
Additional information about minnie13 could not be loaded.
7/6/2014
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
Thanks for Voting

Answer: 
I have a scottie and beige carpets it definitely got the dog hairs up no problem
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about itsallaboutthetime is loaded.
Additional information about itsallaboutthetime could not be loaded.
5/6/2014
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
Thanks for Voting

Answer: 
I have a small dog and it's great for picking up the hair. Only thing is you may have to empty the cylinder more often cause it's quite a small Hoover.
by
Renfrewshire, UK
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Sia85 is loaded.
Additional information about Sia85 could not be loaded.
2/6/2014
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
Thanks for Voting

Answer: 
Yes, I have two husky x malamutes and this does a wonderful job everyday of picking their fur up.
by
Northampton, UK
Gender: Female
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about emily51 is loaded.
Additional information about emily51 could not be loaded.
28/5/2014
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?Helpful11No00
Thanks for Voting

Answer: 
Probably
by
Anonymous
North Ayrshire KA12, UK
Gender: Female
9/5/2014
-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?Helpful00No22
Thanks for Voting
I bought this item today but there doesn't seem to be any written information about this. Was considering returning it.
by
Blackburn, Blackburn with Darwen, UK
Gender: Female
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about FKAMAL is loaded.
Additional information about FKAMAL could not be loaded.
24/2/2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?Helpful00No00

Answers

Answer: 
It has a 1 year warranty, if you go to the specifications part when viewing the product it will state it there, as long as you keep the invoice/receipt or have proof of purchase I am sure you won't have any problems, I hope this answers your question.
by
London
Gender: Female
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about mama4papa is loaded.
Additional information about mama4papa could not be loaded.
11/6/2014
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
Thanks for Voting

Answer: 
As long as you have the reciept, then usual one year guarantee from ASDA. For the cost I think this is sufficient. As my wife destroys vacuum cleaners regularly.
by
Ashington, Northumberland, UK
Gender: Male
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Blackdragon69 is loaded.
Additional information about Blackdragon69 could not be loaded.
11/6/2014
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
Thanks for Voting

Answer: 
Don't worry about it ASDA will always accept the return of a faulty item if you keep the receipt.
by
Hampshire, UK
Gender: Male
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Chooser is loaded.
Additional information about Chooser could not be loaded.
4/6/2014
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
Thanks for Voting
2 next>>
2 next>>
Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 575 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Good Purchase Really good vacuum! Would highly recommend! 26 March 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good little Hoover Good Hoover for price great suction 23 October 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by great price very good cleaner for the price. 02 October 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great little Hoover My vax broke after Xmas so I needed a cheap Hoover as money was tight. After reading all the Great reviews I decided to go for this one. I wasn't disappointed. It's a great wee Hoover. So light and picks up great. The 2 things I would improve - for the cable to be a bit longer and the bit u empty to be a bit bigger. As I have a dog I need to do it after every use. These are not big issues. Still love my purchase. Glad I read the reviews and bought it. 01 February 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by FANTASTIC!!! This cleaner is brilliant! It was recommended to me by someone at work and boy was she right abou it! Its so worth the money, after already cleaning with our old vac this arrived so I gave it a quick run round to see it worked ok, wow it is amazing after going around part of the room it was ready for emptying, it really does have some suck! A wonderful cleaner, the instructions are not very clear but its fairly simple to attach the handle and use. 14 April 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Vacuum , great price We bought this vacuum for our daughter and she was absolutely thrilled with it. She says it cleans very thoroughtly and is great to use. For the price (£35) it was a great buy. However, we tried to re-order another one for our other daughter and found that the price on line has risen to £44. When we visited our local store we were surprised to find one selling for the lower price on the shop floor, we thought the product was only available on line. 19 October 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Value for Money I bought this to replace my old hoover and thought for the price it would be average. I was pleasantly surprised! It is an excellent, powerful hoover. On the first use it removed loads of pet fur from my carpet that my old hoover must have left behind. The carpet looked great, and I was amazed how powerful it was. I would reccomend this for pet owners ad anyone who wants a great value for money product. Very impressed! Puts my old hoover to shame! 22 April 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by I love my purchase, it's the best vac I have used I have three vacuum cleaners in my house, two of them are dyson, the third being my express vac. I suffer with painful joints and found the dysons were just too heavy for me. I then purchased the express vac, for a fraction of the price than the dysons. I was so pleased how easy my vac was to assemble, when I turned it on I couldn't believe the powerful suction and how light and easy it manuvered . I am so pleased and would recommend to everyone. 25 October 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wee cracker Bought this hoover to replace my old one as the wheels kept falling off. Money was tight so I searched online and found this one. Easy to assemble..one screw. Great wee hoover..good suction and easy to empty. just place over the bin and press a button and the bottom falls down to empty. My house isn't big so takes a few minutes to whizz around. Come with two attachments...a nozzle and brush attachment for upholstery. Very pleased with purchase. 12 March 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great buy! Needed a vacuum quickly & budget limited. Read reviews on here & decided to order it. Great value. Lightweight, which is ideal for me as I have back problems. Better suction than any other cleaner I've had, all of which were well known brands. Easy to assemble & use & good on stairs. The cannister does not hold much so if you are cleaning large rooms you may get fed up with the need to empty it regularly but for smaller properties it is ideal. 27 January 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fabtastic what a suprememachine Really light, does exactly what it says on the pack and with great attitude. Cleans well and is simple to construct out of the box. Really well laid out but can prove how little your previous cleaner worked or not as the case may be. Constructed well for the price and not too noisy but as a Vacuum it is bound to make some noise. Phenomenal Sucking Force have already mentioned to various friends. What more can I say excellent value for money. 03 February 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by DAMAGED MY CARPET. This has damaged my expensive thick pile wool carpet as when using the nozzle whilst the hoover is in it's upright position the roller brush was still touching the carpet and busy tearing up the pile.Never notice until i'd went round the room. Read the reviews on here as i'm not the 1st person that this has happened to. 15 December 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love it! We bought this hoover based on the reviews at asda.com and were not disappointed. This hoover is lightweight and can hoover up anything. I now have beautiful carpets that i didnt realise I had! (This is mainly due to a house rabbit which leaves his fur all over the place. However, the Genie hoover sorted that out right away). I would advise buying this hoover due to it's performance, lightweight nature and low cost. It wont disappoint. 15 January 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Hoover. I wanted a compact hoover which was easy to manage and that's exactly what I got. As you get a bit older, you want to make things a bit easier for yourself and this hoover is easy to use, empty and get out of the cupboard and put away again. It doesn't take much room up. I have used it with the tools and pipe aswell as using it as an upright hoover. I was surprised the brushes are down when doing carpets, but it makes a good job of them. 26 July 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by sadly not so impressed I bought this hoover as it had such great reviews, sadly I can not say I agree. I have 3 dogs and 3 cats so i do appreciate I really do put a hoover through its paces but I just did not find the suction on this that great. Even on the upstairs carpets where the animals are not allowed it did not suck up all the bits of lint on the floor nor fluff up the pile of the carpets. Unfortunately I feel unable to recommend this vacuum cleaner. 28 April 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Good Value For money I was dubious about buying this product because of the price, It turns out to be a fantastic bit of kit. Ok it's smaller than a "normal" vacuum cleaner but thanks to its 1400w motor its in a league of its own. I think that if the price was a bit dearer, with an extra filter and spare belt, it would be a better option, as I feel the need to contact the supplier to have at least a spare belt in the house. Go and buy one its great!!!! 30 September 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Happy with this purchase This Vacuum cleaner is ideal for what we need, it's light, quick and good to look at. It's the first bag-less cleaner I have ever had, the cylinder is clear so you can see how full it is getting. It has good suction and I love the colour, it looks modern and compact and does the job it is suppose to. I have not tried the attatchments yet, but I am a very pleased customer at the moment. Pricewise, it is brilliant, a real little gem. 27 April 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by fantastic I have to say going on the price i didnt think this vac was going to be very good, but after reading the reveiws thought i would give it a go and its FAB. i have a very high pilled shaggy rug in the front room and i thought my old vax vacuum was good at getting that clean. I was very wrong, i was shocked at the amount of dust and durt this vacuum picked up from it. It has never been so clean i couldnt be happier. BRILLIANT BUY!!! 10 October 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Small but packs a big punch! I have to admit when we first took this out of the box I thought it was a toy vacuum cleaner that my kids would use, but I have to say I was WRONG! Yes it is small, yes it is light but it picks up dirt really, really well. The only negative point I could pick is that the cylinder is small so needs emptying quite often. Overall for the price paid (a fraction of what I have paid on some others) it is fantastic value for money. 18 March 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Brilliant I bought this hoover for my caravan, I couldn't believe how good it is. I have a dyson animal, and the Genie picks up better than that. my husband did the back of our car which is quite often full of dog hairs, the genie cleared them, I don't normally write reviews, but feel that this hoover is Brilliant, it is so good I have taken it home to use in house aswell. brilliant on tiles and laminate aswell. would highly recommend. 17 October 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nifty little hoover! Very lightweight and easy to use, compact so easy to store away between uses. Comes with a few different attachments for hard to reach areas and excellent suction. I can only think of a couple of negatives - it is a bit fiddly to empty and the cylinder isn't particularlyly large so it needs emptying quite often. The flexible hose could also do with being a tad longer but apart from that I think it's brilliant value for money! 26 November 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 Marvellous little machine I needed a vaccum that wasn't going to be expensive to buy, and that also had tools. This wee machine fitted the bill exactly. My only comment is that it took me about 5 minutes to work out how to get the vacuum from the upright position so that it would hoover the carpets. It wasn't very clear in the instructions. You have to put your foot on the front of the vacuum and pull the handle back. Simple really once you know how! 09 May 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fantastic Little Hoover I was looking to replace my previous pull along hoover as it was not picking up very well and was too heavy for me to keep lifting up and down the stairs. I wanted a lightweight, powerful hoover suitable for all floor types as I have wood, carpet and tiled floors and after comparing many products I was planning to buy a very expensive branded hoover as it seemed to fit the bill perfectly, however I came accross this hoover and saw the fantastic reviews and thought what have I got to lose rather than spending hundreds of pounds for a branded hoover I thought I'd give this a try. I am very pleaed I did, so far I am extremely pleased with the results and can lift it up and down the stairs no problem at all- If you are thinking of buying an expensive hoover I would seriously think about it and purchase this instead as for the money you get a very good little machine! 14 October 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by good value for money To be honest this seems to be the most powerful vacuum cleaner we have ever owned. However its not without its faults and oddities. Whats good: * Power Button at top of vacuum cleaner means its in a more convenient place than rather down by the foot of the cleaner. * Suction is very very powerful, so powerful in fact that if your carpet is not affixed properly to the floor or if you have a thin carpet the cleaner will more than likely lift it up! * Very compact and lightweight. What's Bad: * Handle of cleaner should be a bit longer so your not bending over when you vacuum. * The power cable exits at the bottom of the cleaner and does get in the way and you can easily end up treading on it. * There is no level knob for selecting what kind of floor you are vacuuming nor is there a way of adjusting the motor speed to adjust the suction. * when using the crevis and brush tools there are no extension tubes supplied with the cleaner (presumably to keep the size of the cleaner small) * A very cheap it seems and temperamental way of putting the cleaner into the upright locking position no catch or anything that can be released with the foot. I fail to see why the design of the cleaner could not have been improved more without adding to the cost of production at the same time. Maybe the company will take this criticism in a positive way and make MK2 of their cleaner even better. But at the end of the day you really have to weigh all this up with the fantastic price of £35 we paid for it from ASDA in Enniskillen. 14 February 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Surprisingly Good Very basic, easy to put together and works well. It is VERY light. Easy to empty but could pose a problem to people who find it hard to grip as you need to twist the top off the jug to empty and it's quite stiff. Overall I am over the moon with the product, It is much better than the all singing all dancing hoover it has replaced, and, dare I say I now quite enjoy the task of hoovering as it is no longer such an effort. 26 February 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Buy This is one of the best upright vacuum cleaners I have ever had. Awesome suction, lightweight, easy to assemble and use. For the price (got it at a knock down price) it is great value. It handles the pet hairs (there are many) no problem and leaves the pile on the carpets looking like new. True it has a relatively small dirt cannister but that isn't an issue, it does exactly what it claims to, and is well worth buying. 18 October 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent value for money I purchased this vacumn cleaner for upstairs in my house as my other cleaner I was finding hard to take up and down stairs. The Genie Express has excellent suction and is light to use, I am now saving for another to use downstairs, as I had hoovered downstairs before collecting the Genie and then tried it out on the lounge carpet and was surprised at how much dirt and fluff came off of the carpet. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED. 30 November 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just the job My old 5 star vac. finally "died " and I bought a replacement to use downstairs. For some time I had been toying with the idea of having a second vacuum cleaner for upstairs which would stay there and be small enough to fit in a wardrobe when not in use.This one is ideal.It is light to push around and picks up the dust easily.OK, it's not in the "Rolls Royce " department, but it's excellent value for what I need. 22 April 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Thumbs Down I'm Afraid I never got as far as actually trying this cleaner out as it would not stay upright at all. Even without the handle slotted into place it slowly fell back but when the handle was in place it fell back really quickly. As this was for an elderly disbaled relative it would have been unsuitable so it was sent back without using it. All I can say was it was pretty lightweight (but not when it kept whacking my shins ! 28 December 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic little cleaner Purchased this cleaner about 3 weeks ago, I thought my carpets were clean but this picked up so much!! Really powerful suction compares really well with Dyson. Lightweight, so easy to lift upstairs. I can't believe what great value for money this is. Picks up fluffy cat hair with no problem. Hose could do with being a bit longer but for the price I'm not complaining. The best cleaner I have had for a long time. 22 October 2012
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 20 next>>

Additional information from the manufacturer