Category Hero

    • Terms and conditions

      *Representative Example. Standard Purchases: 14.9% p.a. variable. Representative 14.9% APR variable. Total amount of credit: £1200. This is for Illustrative purposes only and actual total amount of credit may differ.

Product Image

Genie Express Vac GUV-01 - vacuum cleaner - upright
Full Screen Rollover image to zoom

Alternative views:

Genie Express Vac GUV-01 - vacuum cleaner - upright Reviews

Price: £44.96


Product availability status:

In Stock

Collect in store from FREE
from an ASDA store FREE
Collect+ Information to a local store: £4.50

Delivery Details

Delivered from £2.95
by Tuesday 05 August
Standard: 3-5 days £2.95
Next day £4.50
Named day £4.50
Named day and time £5.95
More delivery info

Close [-] Show all options [+]


    Product Details

    Description

    The Genie Express Vac is lightweight yet doesn't compromise on power. At 4.9kg it's easy to use and carry up and down the stairs. The HEPA filters reduce allergens, and the dirt bin is easy to empty at just the touch of a button. Accessories are included on board for cleaning harder to reach areas.

    Full Specification

    Size 29 x 27 x 106
    Colour Purple and Grey
    Bagless Bagless
    Cord Length (m) 6 Meters
    Dimensions 29 x 27 x 106
    Dustbin Capacity (litres) 1.6 Litres
    Edge To Edge Cleaning true
    Filter HEPA Filtration
    Length of Labour Guarantee (Years) 1 Year
    Material Plastic
    Metre Hose Reach 2 Metres
    Mini Turbo Brush false
    Model Number GUV-01
    On Board Tools true
    Length of Parts Guarantee (Years) 1 Year
    Power (watts) 1400 Watts
    Product Type Upright Vacuums
    Type Vacuum Cleaners
    Weight 4.9 kg
    Brand Genie
    Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 557 reviewers.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by Great for a cheap vacuum I bought this cleaner as I'm currently heavily pregnant and was struggling to lug my branded cylinder around, I'm pleased I did, it's very lightweight (almost feels toy like) but has great suction and is easy to empty. The two downsides are that the cord isn't very long but this isn't anything major, and also if you're using the tube with the attachments to clean skirting boards or anything low be careful as the cleaner has a tendency to fall over, that aside and for the price I'm very happy with the purchase 29 June 2014
    Rated 5 out of 5 by awesome suction and lightweight Fantastic upright, don't be put off with it being slim line and lightweight the suction is powerful. Easy to use equally on carpet and hard floors. Easy to store and a big added bonus is bagless. Highly recommend especially for elderly with its lightness and extra tools on board. 05 January 2014
    Rated 5 out of 5 by unbeleivable for the money wasnt expecting much from this vac because of cheap price , but it is everything you want and need for a basic home vac. simple to use , sturdy , well made , straight forward , and smaller and lighter than other vacs. the lead could be a bit longer but over all a great purchase. 14 October 2012
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Savage (in a good way!) This was recommended by a friend, and I can't thank her enough. We have 2 dogs and 2 cats, and a mix of laminate and carpet. We have to hoover every day, and the beige carpet always had a sheen of black hair after hoovering with our Dyson Animal. We have had Dysons for years and I won't go back to them now. The Genie is amazing. In honesty, it looks and feels like a kids' toy hoover. It's plasticy and small. BUT the suction is savage. Absolutely brilliant. Picks up about 4 times as much as the Dyson. 17 October 2013
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Crikey this is good! What a bargain, I love everything about it so far. I have only had it for a few weeks but regardless I feel it was worth it, the suction is impressive albeit a little loud, but being lightweight as well is brilliant. 21 June 2013
    Rated 1 out of 5 by good for a few weeks Taking it back for refund today to buy a different make. After a few weeks of usage it started blowing out rather than sucking in. Dont want another will be too much hassle when the same problem occurs. 24 October 2011
    Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst Hoover ever Was ok for 3 weeks and all of a sudden lost suction today whilst hoovering bedrooms taken back to shop tommorow my sister inlaw also had same problem but with in two weeks 30 April 2013
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Value Product This lightweight hoover is the best value for this price I have come across. It is powerful, sucks up dirt and dust well, and is easy to empty. It also copes well with pet hair. The only comment I would make (and please take note manufacturers) is that the dust and dirt gets up too easily into the top part of the hoover which means that in addition to emptying the cylinder you also have to take it apart to empty all the other sections. That said it would not stop me buying another. 07 August 2013
    Rated 5 out of 5 by An amazing value for mony vacuum Over the last 18 months I have had 3 vacuum cleaners all of which were so called good makes. Each were ok for about three months, but thereafter useless and had to be returned. However, this little Genie out shines all of them and at a fraction of the cost. If it only lasted 12 months I would consider it to be a bargin. Well done Asda and the makers of Genie. If you are fed up paying a high price for a vacuum and not getting result, give this on a try, you wont regret it. 5 STARS 30 December 2013
    Rated 2 out of 5 by Not bad but but you get what you pay for Bought this as a spare for upstairs, the hoover is ok does the job & picks up well but the hose & electric lead are way too short so you will need an extension lead if you have a large room to hoover & it wont do the stairs unless you're prepared to lug the hoover up & down but then you get what you pay for & for a cheapy its not bad. Take my advise though, you're probably better off paying the extra & have it delivered as the click & collect service is a complete waste of time. 05 January 2014
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing for the price I read all the reviews on this vacuum cleaner before purchasing it and decided to give it a go. I have recently moved into a property with very dirty carpets and my old vaccum had basically given up! I am amazed how such a small vacuum has the suction power to "lift" carpets. It is a little gem. Even though i have been hoovering daily, this vacuum managed to fill up with dust and debris immediately and the carpets look very clean. Fantastic value and brilliant performance. 09 May 2013
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Brilliant little hoover Good value for money. Lightweight so can be carried upstairs easily. Surprisingly loud at first but proof of sucking power. 18 August 2012
    Rated 4 out of 5 by Great little vac! Firstly, I am totally impressed with Asda's super quick delivery - I ordered this on Saturday and it was with me before 11am on Monday morning. Secondly, the vacuum cleaner is very powerful, but I will probably have to empty the cylinder after every use, which is a good thing in that there won't be old dirt in the vac, but can be a bit more frequent than I would have liked. It's small, powerful, does its job well and I would recommend it to anyone. Great value for money! 05 September 2011
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Suprisinglly good for the price Very light and good suction, even on dog hairs but quite hard to push along. Very good value and would recommend 04 October 2012
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Genie Purple Cyclonic GUV-01 1400W Express Vac Vac I'd buy this for a present its so good. Powerful suction. Glad I picked this one now. 11 October 2011
    Rated 5 out of 5 by great this is the most powerfull hoover for i'ts size absolutely fantastic i love it. 11 August 2012
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Value Product I recently bought this after reading other reviews recommending it but I did think it might be a bit too good to be true for the price. I'd previously bought a VAX pet machine as I have a dog but it has been a huge disappointment for the money I paid. This little vacuum is brilliant. Light weight easy to manoevre and it cleans really well. Only con is that the cord could do with being a couple of metres longer but I can live with that. Can't recommend it enough!! 15 October 2012
    Rated 4 out of 5 by very good value for the money very light but quite powerful, ideal for my elderly mother. 22 October 2012
    Rated 4 out of 5 by excellent Cracking wee Vacum, handy and light for everyday cleaning. 12 October 2011
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Little Cleaner I had to purchase a new cleaner as my "top of the range" cleaner finally bayed farewell due to old age. Repair costs proved to be prohibitive. Unable to test drive any of the multitude of vacuums on the market I researched the many websites. It appeared to me that the Genie seemed to have all of the attributes to fit my requirements. Lightweight, ease of maneuverability and excellent performance has far exceeded my expectations. I highly recommend this cleaner. 27 May 2012
    Rated 5 out of 5 by genie express vac i have bought 2 genie vacs from you they are exellent 12 November 2011
    Rated 5 out of 5 by The joy of hoovering I now love hoovering because of this vac - really!! 08 May 2012
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Genie of the Lamp Best little vac ever used the suction is brilliant 03 December 2012
    Rated 4 out of 5 by Really lightweight Lightweight and really effecient for the money 06 August 2012
    Rated 5 out of 5 by What a mover! Terrific little cleaner, don't let size fool you, this is the best vacuum I have bought in years, the suction power is great and I can't believe that in the past I have spent five times as much on a vacuum which does not clean half as well as this one does. It is lightweight, easy to manoeuvre and cord storage is excellent, as are the little tools on board. Just as important - this cleaner is so easy to empty. This is a quality item and I highly recommend it. 30 March 2013
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Best £35 ever spent! What a fantastic little hoover! Read the reviews, which prompted me to buy; I was not disappointed! I was both amazed and disgusted by the amount of c**p it picked up from my carpet! Without a doubt as good as a dyson! (which we did have a few years back). Very easy to use and not overly heavy either. Very impressed, great buy for just £35. Obviously time will only tell how long it will last, but i am hoping it will impress me further by lasting a fair while! 20 October 2011
    Rated 5 out of 5 Fantastic best ever After trying out different hoovers over the years from a really expensive to a real cheapo, i have to say that i was a bit shocked at the price but when i put it together and turned it on, FANTASTIC, we have been struggling to clean a rug for the past couple of months and yet in one hoover the rug was clean with the Genie, and so easy to empty as well, well worth buying, great price and yes i have already recommended to 4 friends and they have ordered as well 26 October 2012
    Rated 5 out of 5 by great vac good value for money lightweight easy to use. 08 March 2012
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Good Purchase Really good vacuum! Would highly recommend! 26 March 2012
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Good little Hoover Good Hoover for price great suction 23 October 2012
    <<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 20 next>>
    5 Questions & 22 Answers

    Asda Q&A is a customer to customer community forum, and as such Asda does not endorse any customers ideas or advice. If you are a Wine Shop customer Asda may respond to questions posted when appropriate to do so regarding product details. If you have a customer service query you can contact us here. Thank you.

    Ask your questions. Share your answers.

     
     
    « Back
     
     
    I have a genie Hoover which is fantastic and I was just wondering as my belt has just snapped where can I purchase a new one and how much would it cost....many thanks angela
    by
    Manchester, UK
    Gender: Female
    Read all my Q&A
     
    Please wait while more information about MacyMoo2000 is loaded.
    Additional information about MacyMoo2000 could not be loaded.
    19/7/2014
    0points
    0out of 0found this question helpful.
    Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
    by
    Scotland, UK
    Gender: Female
    Read all my Q&A
     
    Please wait while more information about Sheilly62 is loaded.
    Additional information about Sheilly62 could not be loaded.
    12/6/2014
    0points
    0out of 0found this question helpful.
    Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
     
    10 answers

    dog hair

    I have a dog who shreads her white hair and I have a blacky grey carpet will this pick up my dog hair
    by
    Dumbarton, West Dunbartonshire, UK
    Gender: Female
    Read all my Q&A
     
    Please wait while more information about chezzyg1984 is loaded.
    Additional information about chezzyg1984 could not be loaded.
    22/4/2014
    +4points
    4out of 4found this question helpful.
    Was this helpful?Helpful44No00

    Answers

    Answer: 
    I have 2 cats, "1 a long haired calico", this vaccum picked up all the hair, especially on my stairs which seems to be the favourite place for them.
    by
    Liverpool, Merseyside, UK
    Read all my Q&A
     
    Please wait while more information about burky is loaded.
    Additional information about burky could not be loaded.
    16/7/2014
    0points
    0out of 0found this answer helpful.
    Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
    Thanks for Voting

    Answer: 
    It will probably pick up your carpet! This really is a powerfull little thing for it's size and value, it does actually lift the carpet slightly when you use it. I cut my own hair at home and however much newspaper goes down there's always some that finds it's way onto the carpet and the Genie coped well with it at the weekend, so I would imagine it would do the same on pet hair. Hope that helps!
    by
    Manchester, UK
    Gender: Male
    Read all my Q&A
     
    Please wait while more information about Elevensees is loaded.
    Additional information about Elevensees could not be loaded.
    15/7/2014
    0points
    0out of 0found this answer helpful.
    Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
    Thanks for Voting

    Answer: 
    I have various coloured carpets throughout my home including black/dark grey and have a ginger cat, the suction on this vacuum is quite strong and I have had no problem with it failing to pick up the hairs however I do clean the filters and empty on a weekly basis, hope this answers your question.
    by
    London
    Gender: Female
    Read all my Q&A
     
    Please wait while more information about mama4papa is loaded.
    Additional information about mama4papa could not be loaded.
    11/6/2014
    0points
    0out of 0found this answer helpful.
    Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
    Thanks for Voting

    Answer: 
    Have a West Highland Terrier and picks up the hair without a problem.
    by
    Ashington, Northumberland, UK
    Gender: Male
    Read all my Q&A
     
    Please wait while more information about Blackdragon69 is loaded.
    Additional information about Blackdragon69 could not be loaded.
    11/6/2014
    0points
    0out of 0found this answer helpful.
    Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
    Thanks for Voting

    Answer: 
    My dog sheds copious amounts of light hair on a black carpet. This product removes it all.
    by
    Rotherham
    Gender: Male
    Read all my Q&A
     
    Please wait while more information about Pinkldycool123 is loaded.
    Additional information about Pinkldycool123 could not be loaded.
    8/6/2014
    0points
    0out of 0found this answer helpful.
    Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
    Thanks for Voting

    Answer: 
    i have a collie and it picks her hair up
    by
    Shropshire, UK
    Read all my Q&A
     
    Please wait while more information about minnie13 is loaded.
    Additional information about minnie13 could not be loaded.
    7/6/2014
    0points
    0out of 0found this answer helpful.
    Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
    Thanks for Voting

    Answer: 
    I have a scottie and beige carpets it definitely got the dog hairs up no problem
    by
    Read all my Q&A
     
    Please wait while more information about itsallaboutthetime is loaded.
    Additional information about itsallaboutthetime could not be loaded.
    5/6/2014
    0points
    0out of 0found this answer helpful.
    Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
    Thanks for Voting

    Answer: 
    I have a small dog and it's great for picking up the hair. Only thing is you may have to empty the cylinder more often cause it's quite a small Hoover.
    by
    Renfrewshire, UK
    Read all my Q&A
     
    Please wait while more information about Sia85 is loaded.
    Additional information about Sia85 could not be loaded.
    2/6/2014
    0points
    0out of 0found this answer helpful.
    Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
    Thanks for Voting

    Answer: 
    Yes, I have two husky x malamutes and this does a wonderful job everyday of picking their fur up.
    by
    Northampton, UK
    Gender: Female
    Read all my Q&A
     
    Please wait while more information about emily51 is loaded.
    Additional information about emily51 could not be loaded.
    28/5/2014
    +1point
    1out of 1found this answer helpful.
    Was this helpful?Helpful11No00
    Thanks for Voting

    Answer: 
    Probably
    by
    Anonymous
    North Ayrshire KA12, UK
    Gender: Female
    9/5/2014
    -1point
    0out of 1found this answer helpful.
    Was this helpful?Helpful00No11
    Thanks for Voting
    I bought this item today but there doesn't seem to be any written information about this. Was considering returning it.
    by
    Blackburn, Blackburn with Darwen, UK
    Gender: Female
    Read all my Q&A
     
    Please wait while more information about FKAMAL is loaded.
    Additional information about FKAMAL could not be loaded.
    24/2/2014
    0points
    0out of 0found this question helpful.
    Was this helpful?Helpful00No00

    Answers

    Answer: 
    It has a 1 year warranty, if you go to the specifications part when viewing the product it will state it there, as long as you keep the invoice/receipt or have proof of purchase I am sure you won't have any problems, I hope this answers your question.
    by
    London
    Gender: Female
    Read all my Q&A
     
    Please wait while more information about mama4papa is loaded.
    Additional information about mama4papa could not be loaded.
    11/6/2014
    0points
    0out of 0found this answer helpful.
    Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
    Thanks for Voting

    Answer: 
    As long as you have the reciept, then usual one year guarantee from ASDA. For the cost I think this is sufficient. As my wife destroys vacuum cleaners regularly.
    by
    Ashington, Northumberland, UK
    Gender: Male
    Read all my Q&A
     
    Please wait while more information about Blackdragon69 is loaded.
    Additional information about Blackdragon69 could not be loaded.
    11/6/2014
    0points
    0out of 0found this answer helpful.
    Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
    Thanks for Voting

    Answer: 
    Don't worry about it ASDA will always accept the return of a faulty item if you keep the receipt.
    by
    Hampshire, UK
    Gender: Male
    Read all my Q&A
     
    Please wait while more information about Chooser is loaded.
    Additional information about Chooser could not be loaded.
    4/6/2014
    0points
    0out of 0found this answer helpful.
    Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
    Thanks for Voting
    by
    Read all my Q&A
     
    Please wait while more information about Slim11 is loaded.
    Additional information about Slim11 could not be loaded.
    18/2/2014
    +1point
    1out of 1found this question helpful.
    Was this helpful?Helpful11No00

    Answers

    Answer: 
    yes
    by
    Manchester, UK
    Gender: Male
    Read all my Q&A
     
    Please wait while more information about Elevensees is loaded.
    Additional information about Elevensees could not be loaded.
    15/7/2014
    0points
    0out of 0found this answer helpful.
    Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
    Thanks for Voting

    Answer: 
    The information booklet states not suitable for hard floors but I have had no problems using it on my vinyl and laminate flooring, hope this answers your question.
    by
    London
    Gender: Female
    Read all my Q&A
     
    Please wait while more information about mama4papa is loaded.
    Additional information about mama4papa could not be loaded.
    11/6/2014
    0points
    0out of 0found this answer helpful.
    Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
    Thanks for Voting

    Answer: 
    This product is not recommended for wooden floors
    by
    Rotherham
    Gender: Female
    Read all my Q&A
     
    Please wait while more information about Pinkldycool123 is loaded.
    Additional information about Pinkldycool123 could not be loaded.
    8/6/2014
    0points
    0out of 0found this answer helpful.
    Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
    Thanks for Voting

    Answer: 
    Why wouldn't it? - unless you have grass growing in your house. Might struggle with the old fashioned shagpile carpets I suppose but there are not many of those these days.
    by
    Hampshire, UK
    Gender: Male
    Read all my Q&A
     
    Please wait while more information about Chooser is loaded.
    Additional information about Chooser could not be loaded.
    4/6/2014
    0points
    0out of 0found this answer helpful.
    Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
    Thanks for Voting

    Answer: 
    no its says on the instructions its not to be used on hard floors
    by
    Peterborough, UK
    Gender: Female
    Read all my Q&A
     
    Please wait while more information about sandyhd is loaded.
    Additional information about sandyhd could not be loaded.
    2/6/2014
    0points
    0out of 0found this answer helpful.
    Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
    Thanks for Voting

    Answer: 
    I've used it on carpets and tiles with no problems.
    by
    Anonymous
    North Ayrshire KA12, UK
    Gender: Female
    9/5/2014
    +1point
    1out of 1found this answer helpful.
    Was this helpful?Helpful11No00
    Thanks for Voting

    Answer: 
    Yes it does well on wooden floors & ceramic tiles, as well as it does on carpets
    by
    glasgow
    Read all my Q&A
     
    Please wait while more information about pusskas is loaded.
    Additional information about pusskas could not be loaded.
    4/5/2014
    0points
    0out of 0found this answer helpful.
    Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
    Thanks for Voting

    Answer: 
    I bought this 2 weeks ago being as one of my main vac was playing up and its brilliant for the money !! It works well on my tiles wooden flooring and great on carpets , Only problem I seem to have is the electrical lead is much very short , have to plug in each room I do ,
    by
    Read all my Q&A
     
    Please wait while more information about Missk21p is loaded.
    Additional information about Missk21p could not be loaded.
    19/3/2014
    +1point
    1out of 1found this answer helpful.
    Was this helpful?Helpful11No00
    Thanks for Voting

    Answer: 
    Yes works on all floor services
    by
    Gateshead
    Gender: Female
    Read all my Q&A
     
    Please wait while more information about mamasmurf1966 is loaded.
    Additional information about mamasmurf1966 could not be loaded.
    21/2/2014
    0points
    0out of 0found this answer helpful.
    Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
    Thanks for Voting
    1 of 1
    1 of 1

        There are no recently viewed products to show