Genie Express Vac GUV-01 - vacuum cleaner - upright

Rollover image to zoom

Genie Express Vac GUV-01 - vacuum cleaner - upright main view Genie Express Vac GUV-01 - vacuum cleaner - upright alternative view Genie Express Vac GUV-01 - vacuum cleaner - upright alternative view Genie Express Vac GUV-01 - vacuum cleaner - upright alternative view

Genie Express Vac GUV-01 - vacuum cleaner - upright Reviews

£44.96

The Genie Express Vac is lightweight yet doesn't compromise on power. At 4.9kg it's easy to use and carry up and down the stairs. The HEPA filters reduce allergens, and the dirt bin is easy to empty at just the touch of a button. Accessories are included on board for cleaning harder to reach areas.

Sorry, out of stock.

 
  • Click and collect Collect in store FREE

    Click & Collect

    Collect in any Asda store for free.

     

    Our Click & Collect service is FREE to a store of your choice and it's now a faster service. If you order before 7 pm you'll be able to collect your order the following day after 5 pm from the store of your choice.
    Click here for further details

    *Please note some items may not be available to collect from store.

  • Delivery Have this item delivered
    Delivered from £2.95by Saturday 03 January
    Standard: 3-5 days £2.95
    Next day £4.50
    Named day £4.50
    Named day and time £5.95
    More delivery info
  • Free Returns Free returns in store

    Free Returns


    You can return this item for free to any ASDA store.

 
Size 29 x 27 x 106
Colour Purple and Grey
Bagless Bagless
Cord Length (m) 6 Meters
Dimensions 29 x 27 x 106
Dustbin Capacity (litres) 1.6 Litres
Edge To Edge Cleaning Yes
Filter HEPA Filtration
Material Plastic
Metre Hose Reach 2 Metres
Mini Turbo Brush No
Model Number GUV-01
On Board Tools Yes
Power (watts) 1400 Watts
Product Type Upright Vacuums
Type Vacuum Cleaners
Weight 4.9 kg
Brand Genie
 
Delivered from £2.95
by Saturday 03 January
Standard: 3-5 days £2.95
Next day £4.50
Named day £4.50
Named day and time £5.95
More delivery info
 

Returns for UK

If for any reason you are not satisfied with your George Clothing or George Home product, simply return it within 100 days with proof of purchase for an exchange or refund. George branded products only. Excludes watches, jewellery, hair accessories, part assembled flat pack furniture and mattresses. Your statutory rights are not affected. UK Mainland stores only. Excludes franchises.





 
6 Questions & 26 Answers

Asda Q&A is a customer to customer community forum, and as such Asda does not endorse any customers ideas or advice. If you are a Wine Shop customer Asda may respond to questions posted when appropriate to do so regarding product details. If you have a customer service query you can contact us here. Thank you.

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
« Back
 
 
by
London, UK
Gender: Female
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about london17 is loaded.
Additional information about london17 could not be loaded.
13/8/2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?Helpful00No00

Answers

Answer: 
Very easy. Done at the press of a button
by
Dundee
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about georgethefish is loaded.
Additional information about georgethefish could not be loaded.
30/9/2014
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
Thanks for Voting

Answer: 
Yes very easy
by
Stockport, UK
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about MattGR7 is loaded.
Additional information about MattGR7 could not be loaded.
18/9/2014
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
Thanks for Voting

Answer: 
Yes, you just push the button on the top and the canister comes away easily. Unscrew it, shake the filter out and then empty. Takes seconds
by
London, UK
Gender: Female
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Killermontst is loaded.
Additional information about Killermontst could not be loaded.
15/9/2014
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
Thanks for Voting

Answer: 
Yes very easy
by
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent, UK
Gender: Female
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about NessyG is loaded.
Additional information about NessyG could not be loaded.
15/9/2014
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
Thanks for Voting
I have a genie Hoover which is fantastic and I was just wondering as my belt has just snapped where can I purchase a new one and how much would it cost....many thanks angela
by
Manchester, UK
Gender: Female
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about MacyMoo2000 is loaded.
Additional information about MacyMoo2000 could not be loaded.
19/7/2014
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?Helpful00No11
by
Scotland, UK
Gender: Female
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Sheilly62 is loaded.
Additional information about Sheilly62 could not be loaded.
12/6/2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
 
10 answers

dog hair

I have a dog who shreads her white hair and I have a blacky grey carpet will this pick up my dog hair
by
Dumbarton, West Dunbartonshire, UK
Gender: Female
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about chezzyg1984 is loaded.
Additional information about chezzyg1984 could not be loaded.
22/4/2014
+5points
5out of 5found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?Helpful55No00

Answers

Answer: 
I have 2 cats, "1 a long haired calico", this vaccum picked up all the hair, especially on my stairs which seems to be the favourite place for them.
by
Liverpool, Merseyside, UK
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about burky is loaded.
Additional information about burky could not be loaded.
16/7/2014
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
Thanks for Voting

Answer: 
It will probably pick up your carpet! This really is a powerfull little thing for it's size and value, it does actually lift the carpet slightly when you use it. I cut my own hair at home and however much newspaper goes down there's always some that finds it's way onto the carpet and the Genie coped well with it at the weekend, so I would imagine it would do the same on pet hair. Hope that helps!
by
Manchester, UK
Gender: Male
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Elevensees is loaded.
Additional information about Elevensees could not be loaded.
15/7/2014
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
Thanks for Voting

Answer: 
I have various coloured carpets throughout my home including black/dark grey and have a ginger cat, the suction on this vacuum is quite strong and I have had no problem with it failing to pick up the hairs however I do clean the filters and empty on a weekly basis, hope this answers your question.
by
London
Gender: Female
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about mama4papa is loaded.
Additional information about mama4papa could not be loaded.
11/6/2014
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
Thanks for Voting

Answer: 
Have a West Highland Terrier and picks up the hair without a problem.
by
Ashington, Northumberland, UK
Gender: Male
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Blackdragon69 is loaded.
Additional information about Blackdragon69 could not be loaded.
11/6/2014
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
Thanks for Voting

Answer: 
My dog sheds copious amounts of light hair on a black carpet. This product removes it all.
by
Rotherham
Gender: Male
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Pinkldycool123 is loaded.
Additional information about Pinkldycool123 could not be loaded.
8/6/2014
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
Thanks for Voting

Answer: 
i have a collie and it picks her hair up
by
Shropshire, UK
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about minnie13 is loaded.
Additional information about minnie13 could not be loaded.
7/6/2014
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
Thanks for Voting

Answer: 
I have a scottie and beige carpets it definitely got the dog hairs up no problem
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about itsallaboutthetime is loaded.
Additional information about itsallaboutthetime could not be loaded.
5/6/2014
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
Thanks for Voting

Answer: 
I have a small dog and it's great for picking up the hair. Only thing is you may have to empty the cylinder more often cause it's quite a small Hoover.
by
Renfrewshire, UK
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Sia85 is loaded.
Additional information about Sia85 could not be loaded.
2/6/2014
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
Thanks for Voting

Answer: 
Yes, I have two husky x malamutes and this does a wonderful job everyday of picking their fur up.
by
Northampton, UK
Gender: Female
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about emily51 is loaded.
Additional information about emily51 could not be loaded.
28/5/2014
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?Helpful11No00
Thanks for Voting

Answer: 
Probably
by
Anonymous
North Ayrshire KA12, UK
Gender: Female
9/5/2014
-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?Helpful00No22
Thanks for Voting
I bought this item today but there doesn't seem to be any written information about this. Was considering returning it.
by
Blackburn, Blackburn with Darwen, UK
Gender: Female
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about FKAMAL is loaded.
Additional information about FKAMAL could not be loaded.
24/2/2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?Helpful00No00

Answers

Answer: 
It has a 1 year warranty, if you go to the specifications part when viewing the product it will state it there, as long as you keep the invoice/receipt or have proof of purchase I am sure you won't have any problems, I hope this answers your question.
by
London
Gender: Female
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about mama4papa is loaded.
Additional information about mama4papa could not be loaded.
11/6/2014
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
Thanks for Voting

Answer: 
As long as you have the reciept, then usual one year guarantee from ASDA. For the cost I think this is sufficient. As my wife destroys vacuum cleaners regularly.
by
Ashington, Northumberland, UK
Gender: Male
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Blackdragon69 is loaded.
Additional information about Blackdragon69 could not be loaded.
11/6/2014
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
Thanks for Voting

Answer: 
Don't worry about it ASDA will always accept the return of a faulty item if you keep the receipt.
by
Hampshire, UK
Gender: Male
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Chooser is loaded.
Additional information about Chooser could not be loaded.
4/6/2014
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
Thanks for Voting
2 next>>
2 next>>
Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 575 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by will ruin your carpet Good: It is very light and compact, it has good suction, easy to use. Bad: The brush roller is on constantly, even in upright position, so while you are cleaning the skirting or stairs with the hoes it is busy burning a hole in your carpet. I also found that the brushes were so aggressive it was pulling up the carpet pile not just the dirt etc. Bought on 30/08/11 took back 31/08/11. 31 August 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Brilliant Product I bought this after reading the reviews, when I opened the box I chuckled as it looked a bit like a toy cleaner,!!! but wow turned it on, it is brilliant very light but the suction is the best I have found in any cleaner, also brilliant for a older person or some-one who has just had a Operation, as its so light and compact. I give this cleaner 10 out of 10 21 September 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent wee vacuum I bought this for my father aged 84. He is delighted with it. We can't believe the suction this vacuum has. The dust collector isn't large but he can see when it's needing cleaned and so far he is finding it easy to do so. We wanted a light vacuum with suction and easy for arthritic hands to use. Thumbs up on this product. 10 July 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great for a cheap vacuum I bought this cleaner as I'm currently heavily pregnant and was struggling to lug my branded cylinder around, I'm pleased I did, it's very lightweight (almost feels toy like) but has great suction and is easy to empty. The two downsides are that the cord isn't very long but this isn't anything major, and also if you're using the tube with the attachments to clean skirting boards or anything low be careful as the cleaner has a tendency to fall over, that aside and for the price I'm very happy with the purchase 29 June 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by awesome suction and lightweight Fantastic upright, don't be put off with it being slim line and lightweight the suction is powerful. Easy to use equally on carpet and hard floors. Easy to store and a big added bonus is bagless. Highly recommend especially for elderly with its lightness and extra tools on board. 05 January 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by unbeleivable for the money wasnt expecting much from this vac because of cheap price , but it is everything you want and need for a basic home vac. simple to use , sturdy , well made , straight forward , and smaller and lighter than other vacs. the lead could be a bit longer but over all a great purchase. 14 October 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Savage (in a good way!) This was recommended by a friend, and I can't thank her enough. We have 2 dogs and 2 cats, and a mix of laminate and carpet. We have to hoover every day, and the beige carpet always had a sheen of black hair after hoovering with our Dyson Animal. We have had Dysons for years and I won't go back to them now. The Genie is amazing. In honesty, it looks and feels like a kids' toy hoover. It's plasticy and small. BUT the suction is savage. Absolutely brilliant. Picks up about 4 times as much as the Dyson. 17 October 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Crikey this is good! What a bargain, I love everything about it so far. I have only had it for a few weeks but regardless I feel it was worth it, the suction is impressive albeit a little loud, but being lightweight as well is brilliant. 21 June 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Value Product This lightweight hoover is the best value for this price I have come across. It is powerful, sucks up dirt and dust well, and is easy to empty. It also copes well with pet hair. The only comment I would make (and please take note manufacturers) is that the dust and dirt gets up too easily into the top part of the hoover which means that in addition to emptying the cylinder you also have to take it apart to empty all the other sections. That said it would not stop me buying another. 07 August 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by An amazing value for mony vacuum Over the last 18 months I have had 3 vacuum cleaners all of which were so called good makes. Each were ok for about three months, but thereafter useless and had to be returned. However, this little Genie out shines all of them and at a fraction of the cost. If it only lasted 12 months I would consider it to be a bargin. Well done Asda and the makers of Genie. If you are fed up paying a high price for a vacuum and not getting result, give this on a try, you wont regret it. 5 STARS 30 December 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not bad but but you get what you pay for Bought this as a spare for upstairs, the hoover is ok does the job & picks up well but the hose & electric lead are way too short so you will need an extension lead if you have a large room to hoover & it wont do the stairs unless you're prepared to lug the hoover up & down but then you get what you pay for & for a cheapy its not bad. Take my advise though, you're probably better off paying the extra & have it delivered as the click & collect service is a complete waste of time. 05 January 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing for the price I read all the reviews on this vacuum cleaner before purchasing it and decided to give it a go. I have recently moved into a property with very dirty carpets and my old vaccum had basically given up! I am amazed how such a small vacuum has the suction power to "lift" carpets. It is a little gem. Even though i have been hoovering daily, this vacuum managed to fill up with dust and debris immediately and the carpets look very clean. Fantastic value and brilliant performance. 09 May 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Brilliant little hoover Good value for money. Lightweight so can be carried upstairs easily. Surprisingly loud at first but proof of sucking power. 18 August 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great little vac! Firstly, I am totally impressed with Asda's super quick delivery - I ordered this on Saturday and it was with me before 11am on Monday morning. Secondly, the vacuum cleaner is very powerful, but I will probably have to empty the cylinder after every use, which is a good thing in that there won't be old dirt in the vac, but can be a bit more frequent than I would have liked. It's small, powerful, does its job well and I would recommend it to anyone. Great value for money! 05 September 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Suprisinglly good for the price Very light and good suction, even on dog hairs but quite hard to push along. Very good value and would recommend 04 October 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Genie Purple Cyclonic GUV-01 1400W Express Vac Vac I'd buy this for a present its so good. Powerful suction. Glad I picked this one now. 11 October 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by great this is the most powerfull hoover for i'ts size absolutely fantastic i love it. 11 August 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Value Product I recently bought this after reading other reviews recommending it but I did think it might be a bit too good to be true for the price. I'd previously bought a VAX pet machine as I have a dog but it has been a huge disappointment for the money I paid. This little vacuum is brilliant. Light weight easy to manoevre and it cleans really well. Only con is that the cord could do with being a couple of metres longer but I can live with that. Can't recommend it enough!! 15 October 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by very good value for the money very light but quite powerful, ideal for my elderly mother. 22 October 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by excellent Cracking wee Vacum, handy and light for everyday cleaning. 12 October 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Little Cleaner I had to purchase a new cleaner as my "top of the range" cleaner finally bayed farewell due to old age. Repair costs proved to be prohibitive. Unable to test drive any of the multitude of vacuums on the market I researched the many websites. It appeared to me that the Genie seemed to have all of the attributes to fit my requirements. Lightweight, ease of maneuverability and excellent performance has far exceeded my expectations. I highly recommend this cleaner. 27 May 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by genie express vac i have bought 2 genie vacs from you they are exellent 12 November 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by The joy of hoovering I now love hoovering because of this vac - really!! 08 May 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Genie of the Lamp Best little vac ever used the suction is brilliant 03 December 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 Great hover Light weight, easy to store away,Picks up Great 26 September 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Really lightweight Lightweight and really effecient for the money 06 August 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best £35 ever spent! What a fantastic little hoover! Read the reviews, which prompted me to buy; I was not disappointed! I was both amazed and disgusted by the amount of c**p it picked up from my carpet! Without a doubt as good as a dyson! (which we did have a few years back). Very easy to use and not overly heavy either. Very impressed, great buy for just £35. Obviously time will only tell how long it will last, but i am hoping it will impress me further by lasting a fair while! 20 October 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by What a mover! Terrific little cleaner, don't let size fool you, this is the best vacuum I have bought in years, the suction power is great and I can't believe that in the past I have spent five times as much on a vacuum which does not clean half as well as this one does. It is lightweight, easy to manoeuvre and cord storage is excellent, as are the little tools on board. Just as important - this cleaner is so easy to empty. This is a quality item and I highly recommend it. 30 March 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 Fantastic best ever After trying out different hoovers over the years from a really expensive to a real cheapo, i have to say that i was a bit shocked at the price but when i put it together and turned it on, FANTASTIC, we have been struggling to clean a rug for the past couple of months and yet in one hoover the rug was clean with the Genie, and so easy to empty as well, well worth buying, great price and yes i have already recommended to 4 friends and they have ordered as well 26 October 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by great vac good value for money lightweight easy to use. 08 March 2012
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 20 next>>

Additional information from the manufacturer