Category Hero

Product Image

Genie Express Vac GUV-01 - vacuum cleaner - upright
Full Screen Rollover image to zoom

Alternative views:

Genie Express Vac GUV-01 - vacuum cleaner - upright Reviews

Price: £44.96


Product availability status:

In Stock

Collect in store from FREE
from an ASDA store FREE
Collect+ Information to a local store: £4.50

Delivery Details

Delivered from £2.95
by Tuesday 15 July
Standard: 3-5 days £2.95
Next day £4.50
Named day £4.50
Named day and time £5.95
More delivery info

Close [-] Show all options [+]


    Key Features

    • Powerful
    • HEPA filtration
    • Lightweight
    The Genie Express Vac is lightweight yet doesn't compromise on power. At 4.9kg it's easy to use and carry up and down the stairs. The HEPA filters reduce allergens, and the dirt bin is easy to empty at just the touch of a button. Accessories are included on board for cleaning harder to reach areas.

    Product Features

    • Powerful
      1400 watts gives you powerful suction to ensure effective cleaning around the home.
    • HEPA filtration
      Traps dust and reduces allergens, ideal for allergy sufferers.
    • Lightweight
      Only 4.9kg makes cleaning and carrying quick and easy.
    General
    Product Type
    Vacuum cleaner
    Cleaner Type
    Upright
    Cleaning Method
    Dry
    Dust Collection
    Bagless
    Filter Type
    HEPA
    Dust Capacity
    1.5 litres
    Maximum Suction Power (Air Watts)
    210 W
    Miscellaneous
    Included Tools
    Dusting brush, crevice tool
    Power
    Power Type
    Mains
    Max Power Consumption
    1400 W
    Cord Length
    6 m
    Dimensions & Weight
    Weight
    4.9 kg
    Manufacturer Warranty
    Warranty
    1 year
    • Genie Express Vac GUV-01
    • Dusting brush, crevice tool
    Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 553 reviewers.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by handy little machine I bought this as an alternative to my Dyson which was used every day for crumbs etc. We don't have pets. It was very cheap for what it does and arrived quickly. It was quite easy to assemble. I think I will give it away to my son who has a tiny flat and a very unsatisfactory vacuum as it will be ideal for him. I now realise that what I really want is a rechargeable /cordless thing, as I soon discovered that this new machine is still the same hassle to plug in and stow away afterwards. Great buy if you have a small home and especially if you need something light to work with. 23 October 2012
    Rated 4 out of 5 by Wow - Best £35 Spent EVER! Bought this product after reading reviews all saying hey this is a really good hoover and excellent value for money. Thought - why not £250 cheaper than a dyson my previous hoover of choice and if its rubbish well then it serves me right for being a hoover cheap skate!! But no - its blinking fab - light - powerful does the job - already 4 of my friends have bought (even though many have concerns over my health as for the first week this purchase was my topic of choice). Lead shortish - use an extension and but one now! 29 April 2012
    Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Value for Money Hoover I bought this Hoover for my dad as the reviews were really good. He has a bad back & needed something lightweight. This ticked all the boxes, it has great suction & very easy to empty. I might be a little picky by only giving it 4 stars but my only gripe is that the cable is very short, so i found mmyself un plugging it quite a lot & moving it around to different plugs. My dads living room is rather big so it might be better for smaller areas. All in all its a great wee item for the money & would definately reccomend. 30 March 2012
    Rated 5 out of 5 by best vac ever I am an ex Hoover engineer,and this is the best cleaner I have ever seen/used! The most durable,lightweight,super suction cleaner on the market,and so cheap! Anyone who doesn't own one of these is crazy...if I were Dyson etc I would be very worried.Brilliant design. 26 April 2012
    Rated 4 out of 5 by Fab little hoover I brought this product after reading the reviews & am very pleased. It's lightweight & sucks up all the dog hairs. The only downside of the product is the amount of times that it has to be emptied. To vacum a room it has to be emptied 2 or 3 times. 17 August 2012
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Genie Purple Cyclonic GUV-01 1400W Express Vac Vac Brilliant value for money. I tested it on a deep pile rug that I previously cleaned half an hour before my genie was delivered with my more expensive pet hair cleaner. The amount of dust that the genie collected was embarassingly shocking . Only minor issue is that it could do with a foot button to press for leaning it back. I will definately be telling people about this one and brilliant for those allergic to dust. Far better than paying extortionate prices for other cleaners and very light to move around. 05 April 2013
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Great vacuum I was a bit skeptical at first given the price, but after reading the reviews I thought I'd give it a go. I was after a lightweight small vacuum, as my other one is really heavy, and given I have only one rug downstairs, it's heavy work bringing it down the stairs just to do that. The vacuum is really light and I can easily carry it upstairs in one hand. As other people have mentioned the container is quite small and quickly fills up, which is to be expected if you want a lightweight small cleaner. And the hose is not that long, but its no problem using the hose on the stairs in one hand, and carrying the vacuum in the other. The vacuum itself does look cheap (but it was!), but the suction is really good, better than my expensive big branded vacuum. It brought my carpets up really well, and put my old one to shame! Overall its a great product for the price, and does what you would expect of it. 16 May 2013
    Rated 4 out of 5 by Just what I was looking for! This cleaner is lightweight and easy to use, it is also very easy to empty. I have never had a cleaner without a bag inside but I find this one very easy to empty and clean the inside. 18 August 2012
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Brilliant, wish i'd bought it years ago this small Vacuum has been great, at first when new it seems hard to push, but, once you get it going the dirt it lifts is unbelievable. I didn't realise my carpets were so ''dirty'' and it picks up right up to the edges. The tools that come with it are easy to use also and work excellently, thanks again for a wonderful peice of equipment. The price helps greatly too!! 24 March 2013
    Rated 5 out of 5 by What a little beauty. Intended to purchase a lightweight Dyson for Mum and then spotted this one online. Impressed by reviews and decided to take a chance on a 'cheapie' - one for Mum and one for myself.(I already have a Dyson and love it but it is heavy to lug up and down stairs) Don't be put off by cheap price tag - this is a lightweight super sucker that's narrow enough to get under and around radiator pipes. I won't be dragging the Dyson upstairs again. Cheap and lightweight it is - cheap and nasty it ISN'T. 23 August 2011
    Rated 4 out of 5 by Great price, great Hoover Bought this to replace another brands vacuum that didn't live very long - still waiting for their promised replacement - I gave up the wait and this was under the £50 budget. Works brilliantly, moves better than I was expecting AND picks up everything thrown at it. Hairs, crumbs and those annoying threads that appear from nowhere. The only negative was the delivery, the guy didn't bring it to my door as instructed, he left it in the site office. Normally, Asda come right to my door. 13 May 2012
    Rated 4 out of 5 Good Value Purchase Have owned this hoover for two weeks now, in a busy family environment. Felt a little bit like a toy hoover at first as it is quite small but very light which isn't a bad thing for carrying it up the stairs. Hoovers well, the tools are easy to use and it is easy to empty as well. Would recommend this hoover as a value for money buy. 26 October 2011
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent purchase This product is excellent. We bought it to use in our static caravan. It is compact and easy to use. It has plenty of suck to suck up the sand, dust and dirt in our caravan. We also used it at home as it was much lighter to carry up and down stairs than our dyson. It is outstanding value for money. It is simple but very effective. 19 April 2012
    Rated 1 out of 5 by Cheap rubbish Strong suction but rarely lifts, everytime I use it the filter gets clogged and I am constantly pulling out stuck bits, cant tackle pet hair either, I would have returned this product but was unable to find receipt, at this price I should have bought a carpet sweeper and a brush. worse purchase I have made. 13 December 2011
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Purchase Ever I saw this advertised and thought for the price it wouldn't be very good. I looked at other reviews and saw some really good comments. I was very impressed with my purchase. I thought my carpets were clean but I couldn't believe how much dirt was vacuumed up. Very very happy with my purchase. 12 October 2012
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Works better than an expensive Vac - Fantastic! For the price, i wasn't sure how effective this vac would be, especially when it isn't ready assembled. However, assembly is very easy so don't let that put you off. This vac is just superb. I couldn't believe how well the suction was. I hadn't been able to hoover for over a week due to having no vac but this did the job in no time. I can't recommend enough. The only drawback is that it has a tendency to fall over on its' side, but that is the only downside that i can see and can be overlooked due to its wonderful suction. 23 November 2011
    Rated 5 out of 5 by wow unpacked and thought well this look as if it will be rubbish BUT how wrong i was.This vacuum is GREAT hoovered my bedroom this morning with the old hoover and just done it again with the new one and was totally amazed at who much dirt it picked up. 21 July 2012
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Totally delighted I bought this based on my sisters advice to buy an upright vacuum. She has a Dyson but I couldn't stretch the budget that far. Then I read on Martins Money Tips about the genie and that Asda sold it. I read the reviews and ordered one. It arrived within 4 days and, to say I am delighted is an understatement. It has to be the best thing I ever bought for my home. Having recently moved into a rented bungalow, fully carpeted, I went right through the place. It had looked clean when we moved in - I emptied the box twice. I actually enjoy vacuuming now. Thank you! 09 August 2013
    Rated 5 out of 5 by brilliant got mine today. i was a bit doubtful cos it was cheap but read the reviews. what a brilliant vac. tools easier to use than my old dyson. it is a bit dolly size and hardish to push but the suction is amazing. definatly buy if u need a hoover 31 August 2011
    Rated 5 out of 5 by best hoover ever honestly this hoover is better than my dyson iv'e chucked the dyson out and i am going to purchase another one of the genie hoovers for upstairs this hoover is that good well worth the money iv told my mum etc about it too. 01 July 2012
    Rated 1 out of 5 by THINK AGAIN... Dislike it intensely: we use it three times week but I really, really wish that we didn’t have to. It’s very, very noisy, sucks the carpet up between the rollers and the handle will not stay upright which all means that we can only use it as cylinder vacuum as we have to vacuum the carpet with the hose for fear of it being chewed up and ending up in the dust cylinder! Not at all recommended. 10 October 2011
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Great little Genie Great little cleaner with hugh power, How did I ever manage without it ?Brilliant little machine would recommend to anyone. Buying another one for my son's home, he will love it. 01 April 2012
    Rated 4 out of 5 by Bargain price for a very good vacuum Bought this after reading all the good reviews and I wasn't disappointed, very lightweight, vacuums carpets beautifully and just glides along. I wanted a reasonably priced upright vacuum as I was finding my other one quite hard to use on the carpet. This one is a breeze. It was a pleasure to use. Only slight niggle is it does fill up quickly, but that might be because I was so impressed with it that I hoovered every carpet twice! Would recommend this definitely, especially for anyone that wants a lighter version of some of the more expensive brands! 04 January 2014
    Rated 4 out of 5 by I'm happy Got rid of all the cat hair and a good deal of dust I thought I had already cleaned up. Quick service and very reasonable price. lives up to all the reviews. 02 July 2012
    Rated 5 out of 5 by best ever I just love this vacuum cleaner it is light to use and picks up every thing no problem dont think about it if you need a new one just buy a Genie 02 July 2012
    Rated 3 out of 5 by disappointed I am 81 tears old and still like to see my house looking good I thought the Genie was the answer Light to carry Light to use-bagless-powerful I can manage to carry it The suction is good Certainly effective in lifting the dirt and fluff Clear cylinder not difficult to empty Price was excellent BUT Using it is like driving a tank Cleaning half a room slows me up for the rest of the day Am I doing something wrong? 13 October 2012
    Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Purchase I bought this hoover as the reviews i had read were all brilliant and they werent wrong at all, The hoover itself is very light which is brilliant as i suffer from a bad back, the suction on the hoover is just as good as all the top brands if not better, Only downside i would say is the wire on the hoover isnt very long so you need to keep unplugging to switch rooms, Overall Brilliant Buy Very Happy Customer :D 22 January 2013
    Rated 1 out of 5 by will ruin your carpet Good: It is very light and compact, it has good suction, easy to use. Bad: The brush roller is on constantly, even in upright position, so while you are cleaning the skirting or stairs with the hoes it is busy burning a hole in your carpet. I also found that the brushes were so aggressive it was pulling up the carpet pile not just the dirt etc. Bought on 30/08/11 took back 31/08/11. 31 August 2011
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Brilliant Product I bought this after reading the reviews, when I opened the box I chuckled as it looked a bit like a toy cleaner,!!! but wow turned it on, it is brilliant very light but the suction is the best I have found in any cleaner, also brilliant for a older person or some-one who has just had a Operation, as its so light and compact. I give this cleaner 10 out of 10 21 September 2011
    Rated 1 out of 5 by biggest waste of money ever after reading reviews and buying the hoover i take it that most buyers left a review after first couple of uses but im glad i left it a little longer, as it is only good for first couple of uses then after that a dust pan and brush would do a better job my friend bought this hoover the same week as me and her opinion is the same as mine. 27 September 2012
    <<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 20 next>>
    4 Questions & 19 Answers

    Asda Q&A is a customer to customer community forum, and as such Asda does not endorse any customers ideas or advice. If you are a Wine Shop customer Asda may respond to questions posted when appropriate to do so regarding product details. If you have a customer service query you can contact us here. Thank you.

    Ask your questions. Share your answers.

     
     
    « Back
     
     
    by
    Scotland, UK
    Gender: Female
    Read all my Q&A
     
    Please wait while more information about Sheilly62 is loaded.
    Additional information about Sheilly62 could not be loaded.
    12/6/2014
    0points
    0out of 0found this question helpful.
    Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
     
    8 answers

    dog hair

    I have a dog who shreads her white hair and I have a blacky grey carpet will this pick up my dog hair
    by
    Dumbarton, West Dunbartonshire, UK
    Gender: Female
    Read all my Q&A
     
    Please wait while more information about chezzyg1984 is loaded.
    Additional information about chezzyg1984 could not be loaded.
    22/4/2014
    +3points
    3out of 3found this question helpful.
    Was this helpful?Helpful33No00

    Answers

    Answer: 
    I have various coloured carpets throughout my home including black/dark grey and have a ginger cat, the suction on this vacuum is quite strong and I have had no problem with it failing to pick up the hairs however I do clean the filters and empty on a weekly basis, hope this answers your question.
    by
    London
    Gender: Female
    Read all my Q&A
     
    Please wait while more information about mama4papa is loaded.
    Additional information about mama4papa could not be loaded.
    11/6/2014
    0points
    0out of 0found this answer helpful.
    Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
    Thanks for Voting

    Answer: 
    Have a West Highland Terrier and picks up the hair without a problem.
    by
    Ashington, Northumberland, UK
    Gender: Male
    Read all my Q&A
     
    Please wait while more information about Blackdragon69 is loaded.
    Additional information about Blackdragon69 could not be loaded.
    11/6/2014
    0points
    0out of 0found this answer helpful.
    Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
    Thanks for Voting

    Answer: 
    My dog sheds copious amounts of light hair on a black carpet. This product removes it all.
    by
    Rotherham
    Gender: Male
    Read all my Q&A
     
    Please wait while more information about Pinkldycool123 is loaded.
    Additional information about Pinkldycool123 could not be loaded.
    8/6/2014
    0points
    0out of 0found this answer helpful.
    Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
    Thanks for Voting

    Answer: 
    i have a collie and it picks her hair up
    by
    Shropshire, UK
    Read all my Q&A
     
    Please wait while more information about minnie13 is loaded.
    Additional information about minnie13 could not be loaded.
    7/6/2014
    0points
    0out of 0found this answer helpful.
    Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
    Thanks for Voting

    Answer: 
    I have a scottie and beige carpets it definitely got the dog hairs up no problem
    by
    Read all my Q&A
     
    Please wait while more information about itsallaboutthetime is loaded.
    Additional information about itsallaboutthetime could not be loaded.
    5/6/2014
    0points
    0out of 0found this answer helpful.
    Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
    Thanks for Voting

    Answer: 
    I have a small dog and it's great for picking up the hair. Only thing is you may have to empty the cylinder more often cause it's quite a small Hoover.
    by
    Renfrewshire, UK
    Read all my Q&A
     
    Please wait while more information about Sia85 is loaded.
    Additional information about Sia85 could not be loaded.
    2/6/2014
    0points
    0out of 0found this answer helpful.
    Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
    Thanks for Voting

    Answer: 
    Yes, I have two husky x malamutes and this does a wonderful job everyday of picking their fur up.
    by
    Northampton, UK
    Gender: Female
    Read all my Q&A
     
    Please wait while more information about emily51 is loaded.
    Additional information about emily51 could not be loaded.
    28/5/2014
    +1point
    1out of 1found this answer helpful.
    Was this helpful?Helpful11No00
    Thanks for Voting

    Answer: 
    Probably
    by
    Anonymous
    North Ayrshire KA12, UK
    Gender: Female
    9/5/2014
    -1point
    0out of 1found this answer helpful.
    Was this helpful?Helpful00No11
    Thanks for Voting
    I bought this item today but there doesn't seem to be any written information about this. Was considering returning it.
    by
    Blackburn, Blackburn with Darwen, UK
    Gender: Female
    Read all my Q&A
     
    Please wait while more information about FKAMAL is loaded.
    Additional information about FKAMAL could not be loaded.
    24/2/2014
    0points
    0out of 0found this question helpful.
    Was this helpful?Helpful00No00

    Answers

    Answer: 
    It has a 1 year warranty, if you go to the specifications part when viewing the product it will state it there, as long as you keep the invoice/receipt or have proof of purchase I am sure you won't have any problems, I hope this answers your question.
    by
    London
    Gender: Female
    Read all my Q&A
     
    Please wait while more information about mama4papa is loaded.
    Additional information about mama4papa could not be loaded.
    11/6/2014
    0points
    0out of 0found this answer helpful.
    Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
    Thanks for Voting

    Answer: 
    As long as you have the reciept, then usual one year guarantee from ASDA. For the cost I think this is sufficient. As my wife destroys vacuum cleaners regularly.
    by
    Ashington, Northumberland, UK
    Gender: Male
    Read all my Q&A
     
    Please wait while more information about Blackdragon69 is loaded.
    Additional information about Blackdragon69 could not be loaded.
    11/6/2014
    0points
    0out of 0found this answer helpful.
    Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
    Thanks for Voting

    Answer: 
    Don't worry about it ASDA will always accept the return of a faulty item if you keep the receipt.
    by
    Hampshire, UK
    Gender: Male
    Read all my Q&A
     
    Please wait while more information about Chooser is loaded.
    Additional information about Chooser could not be loaded.
    4/6/2014
    0points
    0out of 0found this answer helpful.
    Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
    Thanks for Voting
    by
    Read all my Q&A
     
    Please wait while more information about Slim11 is loaded.
    Additional information about Slim11 could not be loaded.
    18/2/2014
    +1point
    1out of 1found this question helpful.
    Was this helpful?Helpful11No00

    Answers

    Answer: 
    The information booklet states not suitable for hard floors but I have had no problems using it on my vinyl and laminate flooring, hope this answers your question.
    by
    London
    Gender: Female
    Read all my Q&A
     
    Please wait while more information about mama4papa is loaded.
    Additional information about mama4papa could not be loaded.
    11/6/2014
    0points
    0out of 0found this answer helpful.
    Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
    Thanks for Voting

    Answer: 
    This product is not recommended for wooden floors
    by
    Rotherham
    Gender: Female
    Read all my Q&A
     
    Please wait while more information about Pinkldycool123 is loaded.
    Additional information about Pinkldycool123 could not be loaded.
    8/6/2014
    0points
    0out of 0found this answer helpful.
    Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
    Thanks for Voting

    Answer: 
    Why wouldn't it? - unless you have grass growing in your house. Might struggle with the old fashioned shagpile carpets I suppose but there are not many of those these days.
    by
    Hampshire, UK
    Gender: Male
    Read all my Q&A
     
    Please wait while more information about Chooser is loaded.
    Additional information about Chooser could not be loaded.
    4/6/2014
    0points
    0out of 0found this answer helpful.
    Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
    Thanks for Voting

    Answer: 
    no its says on the instructions its not to be used on hard floors
    by
    Peterborough, UK
    Gender: Female
    Read all my Q&A
     
    Please wait while more information about sandyhd is loaded.
    Additional information about sandyhd could not be loaded.
    2/6/2014
    0points
    0out of 0found this answer helpful.
    Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
    Thanks for Voting

    Answer: 
    I've used it on carpets and tiles with no problems.
    by
    Anonymous
    North Ayrshire KA12, UK
    Gender: Female
    9/5/2014
    +1point
    1out of 1found this answer helpful.
    Was this helpful?Helpful11No00
    Thanks for Voting

    Answer: 
    Yes it does well on wooden floors & ceramic tiles, as well as it does on carpets
    by
    glasgow
    Read all my Q&A
     
    Please wait while more information about pusskas is loaded.
    Additional information about pusskas could not be loaded.
    4/5/2014
    0points
    0out of 0found this answer helpful.
    Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
    Thanks for Voting

    Answer: 
    I bought this 2 weeks ago being as one of my main vac was playing up and its brilliant for the money !! It works well on my tiles wooden flooring and great on carpets , Only problem I seem to have is the electrical lead is much very short , have to plug in each room I do ,
    by
    Read all my Q&A
     
    Please wait while more information about Missk21p is loaded.
    Additional information about Missk21p could not be loaded.
    19/3/2014
    +1point
    1out of 1found this answer helpful.
    Was this helpful?Helpful11No00
    Thanks for Voting

    Answer: 
    Yes works on all floor services
    by
    Gateshead
    Gender: Female
    Read all my Q&A
     
    Please wait while more information about mamasmurf1966 is loaded.
    Additional information about mamasmurf1966 could not be loaded.
    21/2/2014
    0points
    0out of 0found this answer helpful.
    Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
    Thanks for Voting
    1 of 1
    1 of 1

        There are no recently viewed products to show