Genie Express Vac GUV-01 - vacuum cleaner - upright

Rollover image to zoom

Genie Express Vac GUV-01 - vacuum cleaner - upright main view Genie Express Vac GUV-01 - vacuum cleaner - upright alternative view Genie Express Vac GUV-01 - vacuum cleaner - upright alternative view Genie Express Vac GUV-01 - vacuum cleaner - upright alternative view

Genie Express Vac GUV-01 - vacuum cleaner - upright Reviews

Was £44.96
Now £35.00 Save  £9.96

The Genie Express Vac is lightweight yet doesn't compromise on power. At 4.9kg it's easy to use and carry up and down the stairs. The HEPA filters reduce allergens, and the dirt bin is easy to empty at just the touch of a button. Accessories are included on board for cleaning harder to reach areas.
AddGenie Express Vac GUV-01 - vacuum cleaner - upright to basket
 

  • Click and collect Collect in store FREE

    Click & Collect

    Collect in any Asda store for free.

     

    Our Click & Collect service is FREE to a store of your choice and it's now a faster service. If you order before 7 pm you'll be able to collect your order the following day after 5 pm from the store of your choice.
    Click here for further details

    *Please note some items may not be available to collect from store.

  • Delivery Have this item delivered
    Delivered from £2.95by Friday 26 September
    Standard: 3-5 days £2.95
    Next day £4.50
    Named day £4.50
    Named day and time £5.95
    More delivery info
  • Free Returns Free returns in store

    Free Returns


    You can return this item for free to any ASDA store.

 
Size 29 x 27 x 106
Colour Purple and Grey
Bagless Bagless
Cord Length (m) 6 Meters
Dimensions 29 x 27 x 106
Dustbin Capacity (litres) 1.6 Litres
Edge To Edge Cleaning Yes
Filter HEPA Filtration
Material Plastic
Metre Hose Reach 2 Metres
Mini Turbo Brush No
Model Number GUV-01
On Board Tools Yes
Power (watts) 1400 Watts
Product Type Upright Vacuums
Type Vacuum Cleaners
Weight 4.9 kg
Brand Genie
Dust Capacity 1.50
Maximum Suction Power 210.00
Maximum Suction Power 210 W
Vacuum Cleaner Type Upright
Weight 4,900.00
Product Line Genie
Model Express Vac GUV-01
Cleaning Method Dry
Power Type Mains
Weight 4.9 kg
Max Power Consumption 1400 W
Max Power Consumption 1,400.00
Warranty 1 year
Filter Type HEPA
Dust Collection Bagless
Dust Capacity 1.5 litres
 
Delivered from £2.95
by Friday 26 September
Standard: 3-5 days £2.95
Next day £4.50
Named day £4.50
Named day and time £5.95
More delivery info
 

Returns for UK

If for any reason you are not satisfied with your George Clothing or George Home product, simply return it within 100 days with proof of purchase for an exchange or refund. George branded products only. Excludes watches, jewellery, hair accessories, part assembled flat pack furniture and mattresses. Your statutory rights are not affected. UK Mainland stores only. Excludes franchises.





 
6 Questions & 25 Answers

Asda Q&A is a customer to customer community forum, and as such Asda does not endorse any customers ideas or advice. If you are a Wine Shop customer Asda may respond to questions posted when appropriate to do so regarding product details. If you have a customer service query you can contact us here. Thank you.

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
« Back
 
 
by
London, UK
Gender: Female
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about london17 is loaded.
Additional information about london17 could not be loaded.
13/8/2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?Helpful00No00

Answers

Answer: 
Yes very easy
by
Anonymous
Stockport, UK
18/9/2014
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
Thanks for Voting

Answer: 
Yes, you just push the button on the top and the canister comes away easily. Unscrew it, shake the filter out and then empty. Takes seconds
by
London, UK
Gender: Female
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Killermontst is loaded.
Additional information about Killermontst could not be loaded.
15/9/2014
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
Thanks for Voting

Answer: 
Yes very easy
by
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent, UK
Gender: Female
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about NessyG is loaded.
Additional information about NessyG could not be loaded.
15/9/2014
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
Thanks for Voting
I have a genie Hoover which is fantastic and I was just wondering as my belt has just snapped where can I purchase a new one and how much would it cost....many thanks angela
by
Manchester, UK
Gender: Female
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about MacyMoo2000 is loaded.
Additional information about MacyMoo2000 could not be loaded.
19/7/2014
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?Helpful00No11
by
Scotland, UK
Gender: Female
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Sheilly62 is loaded.
Additional information about Sheilly62 could not be loaded.
12/6/2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
 
10 answers

dog hair

I have a dog who shreads her white hair and I have a blacky grey carpet will this pick up my dog hair
by
Dumbarton, West Dunbartonshire, UK
Gender: Female
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about chezzyg1984 is loaded.
Additional information about chezzyg1984 could not be loaded.
22/4/2014
+5points
5out of 5found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?Helpful55No00

Answers

Answer: 
I have 2 cats, "1 a long haired calico", this vaccum picked up all the hair, especially on my stairs which seems to be the favourite place for them.
by
Liverpool, Merseyside, UK
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about burky is loaded.
Additional information about burky could not be loaded.
16/7/2014
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
Thanks for Voting

Answer: 
It will probably pick up your carpet! This really is a powerfull little thing for it's size and value, it does actually lift the carpet slightly when you use it. I cut my own hair at home and however much newspaper goes down there's always some that finds it's way onto the carpet and the Genie coped well with it at the weekend, so I would imagine it would do the same on pet hair. Hope that helps!
by
Manchester, UK
Gender: Male
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Elevensees is loaded.
Additional information about Elevensees could not be loaded.
15/7/2014
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
Thanks for Voting

Answer: 
I have various coloured carpets throughout my home including black/dark grey and have a ginger cat, the suction on this vacuum is quite strong and I have had no problem with it failing to pick up the hairs however I do clean the filters and empty on a weekly basis, hope this answers your question.
by
London
Gender: Female
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about mama4papa is loaded.
Additional information about mama4papa could not be loaded.
11/6/2014
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
Thanks for Voting

Answer: 
Have a West Highland Terrier and picks up the hair without a problem.
by
Ashington, Northumberland, UK
Gender: Male
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Blackdragon69 is loaded.
Additional information about Blackdragon69 could not be loaded.
11/6/2014
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
Thanks for Voting

Answer: 
My dog sheds copious amounts of light hair on a black carpet. This product removes it all.
by
Rotherham
Gender: Male
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Pinkldycool123 is loaded.
Additional information about Pinkldycool123 could not be loaded.
8/6/2014
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
Thanks for Voting

Answer: 
i have a collie and it picks her hair up
by
Shropshire, UK
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about minnie13 is loaded.
Additional information about minnie13 could not be loaded.
7/6/2014
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
Thanks for Voting

Answer: 
I have a scottie and beige carpets it definitely got the dog hairs up no problem
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about itsallaboutthetime is loaded.
Additional information about itsallaboutthetime could not be loaded.
5/6/2014
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
Thanks for Voting

Answer: 
I have a small dog and it's great for picking up the hair. Only thing is you may have to empty the cylinder more often cause it's quite a small Hoover.
by
Renfrewshire, UK
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Sia85 is loaded.
Additional information about Sia85 could not be loaded.
2/6/2014
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
Thanks for Voting

Answer: 
Yes, I have two husky x malamutes and this does a wonderful job everyday of picking their fur up.
by
Northampton, UK
Gender: Female
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about emily51 is loaded.
Additional information about emily51 could not be loaded.
28/5/2014
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?Helpful11No00
Thanks for Voting

Answer: 
Probably
by
Anonymous
North Ayrshire KA12, UK
Gender: Female
9/5/2014
-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?Helpful00No22
Thanks for Voting
I bought this item today but there doesn't seem to be any written information about this. Was considering returning it.
by
Blackburn, Blackburn with Darwen, UK
Gender: Female
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about FKAMAL is loaded.
Additional information about FKAMAL could not be loaded.
24/2/2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?Helpful00No00

Answers

Answer: 
It has a 1 year warranty, if you go to the specifications part when viewing the product it will state it there, as long as you keep the invoice/receipt or have proof of purchase I am sure you won't have any problems, I hope this answers your question.
by
London
Gender: Female
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about mama4papa is loaded.
Additional information about mama4papa could not be loaded.
11/6/2014
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
Thanks for Voting

Answer: 
As long as you have the reciept, then usual one year guarantee from ASDA. For the cost I think this is sufficient. As my wife destroys vacuum cleaners regularly.
by
Ashington, Northumberland, UK
Gender: Male
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Blackdragon69 is loaded.
Additional information about Blackdragon69 could not be loaded.
11/6/2014
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
Thanks for Voting

Answer: 
Don't worry about it ASDA will always accept the return of a faulty item if you keep the receipt.
by
Hampshire, UK
Gender: Male
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Chooser is loaded.
Additional information about Chooser could not be loaded.
4/6/2014
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
Thanks for Voting
2 next>>
2 next>>
Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 564 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best value cleaner EVER. Brought this on the advise of our daughter (she has similar model). As stated the best value vac cleaner we have EVER brought. The first time we used it we sucked up about half a dog! The floors had been cleaned by our old cleaner the day before, but you would never believe it. It really cleanes deep down and keeps on doing so. The only small negative point is that on deep pile carpets it is a bit hard to push, that is because of so much suction. But better that than not enough! Not sure how it will stand up build wise but hey at the offer price you can buy one every year for ten years and still be cheaper than a Dyson!! 18 October 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 Good quality buy Having previously bought a more expensive Samsung vacuum cleaner that broke after a few months and didnt ever really pick up dust and dirt effectvely, I was pleasantly surprised by this vacuum cleaner. I read reviews online and am happy to say they are all correct. The suction is really strong and it is small and compact enough to store in a flat with very little storage. I am really happy with this product and wouldn't hesitate to recommend this to anyone looking for a lightweight, compact, good value vacuum cleaner. 26 September 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Vac Ever This Genie Express Vac is Fantastic I hoovered with my old vac then used this one and it picked up so much it cleans deep down. It is so light and easy to put together and simple to clean out. IT brings up the carpets lovely and good on wooden flooring. I would say it was better than my old dyson or any hoover I have had . I am going to tell everyone about this vac as it is excellent. My Grandma would love this as it is so light. So cheap and so good go on treat yourself you will not regreat it. 21 August 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not pleased Bought this vac after reading all the excellent reviews, I had purchased a Bissell easy vac from asda's some time ago, apart from the fact that it is a bit awkward to clean the filter and the attachments are not very powerful, there is nothing wrong with it, but after reading the excellent reviews on the genie vac ,decided to try one, but must say I am very disappointed,after only using about 4 times,it was not as good as I expected, now tonight, after my dearly beloved said he would do the vacuuming for me it packed up working. I did accuse home of sabotage but he assures me this is not so. So I'm afraid it's back to asda for a refund. Sorry. 23 December 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Perfect Little Hoover I've been using a stupid little pull along hoover for months and cursed every time I had to use it. So, in the end I decided to get myself a decent upright! After browsing the site I plumped for this one as it looked and sounded ideal. I only have a one bed flat so didn't want a huge expensive model. Well, I am certainly not disappointed. It may be small but boy does it have some suction!!!! I hoovered my lounge and was disturbed at how much it picked up that my old hoover had not touched. I would reccomend this little hoover without hesitation. It's light and small enough to hide away in a corner. My only slight criticism is that the cylinder is on the small side. But, for the money I paid, I am not going to grumble aout that. 06 June 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic value for money. I bought the Genie as a present for my parents as they are now in their later eighties and their monster Dyson has become too heavy for them to safely lug up and down stairs. It is almost ideal for them, and a very good piece of kit. It is both small and light, easy to move and store. The cleaning power is phenomenal and this is a slight issue as the super-powerful suction makes it difficult for my very weak Mum to push. A high/low power switch would address this issue. A washable filter would also be an improvement. These are really nit-picking issues, though. This vacuum cleaner is not a Dyson, but is compact, powerful and fantastic value for money. 01 January 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by OK (on a budget) I bought this vacuum as I'd just got my first house and was on a budget what can I say it does exactly what you expect it to do! Its lightweight and easy to store and its not big and bulky, doesn't look cheap either. The only downside is that the suction isn't very good to say its a 1400 it doesn't seem like it and if you have pets it's not really that good as you will find around the filter it gets clogged very easy with hair (you will find you are emptying it more). Other than that if you on a budget or just fancy a second vacuum around the house this is a sensible option you wont find one as good for the price!! 21 July 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic little machine I own a regular well known brand Vacuum which is very good but on the heavy side. I purchased the Genie to leave upstairs as it is so light but what a super little upright this is. I note that some reviews say the hose isn't long enough but I don't have a problem and as for the cord also not being very long, I justuse a single extension lead and can now use it over all of the upstairs and downstairs too. It's really powerful and altho doesn't have large cylinder it's easy to empty. Easy to store and all in all highly recommended 10 June 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by WOW I bought this Hoover on the strength of the other reviews. My Dyson didn't seem to be doing it's job and was looking for a replacement. I was worried by the low cost but decided to give it a go and I'm so glad I did ! Its so light it's almost like a child's toy but it's suction seems very powerful. I had hoovered my kitchen rug last night and have been out all so unless the dust/cat hair/dirt fairys have been in I should not of wasted my time because the Genie has just lifted so much of muck from the rug I'm ashamed ! Would highly recommend. 25 August 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Excellent value, easy to assemble but basic model I was initially a bit disappointed when I opened the box as the hoover was much smaller than I'd expected. I joked with my partner that it looked like a toy hoover. It is very easy to assemble although the workmanship isn't that impressive. The screw to secure the handle was too short. However, securing the dirt bin in place did hold the handle in place. On testing the hoover I found that it was more powerful than it looked...and noisy! It is great value for money if you need a cheap lightweight hoover with a decent suction although in hindsight I wish I'd went for a more expensive model. You get what you pay for after all... 27 February 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Bought Two I bought one for myself and was really pleased with how light and powerful it was, so I bought one for my friend. Its a brilliant vacuum, and well worth the money, I would highly recommend to anyone 14 September 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by dreadful bought this from asda weeks ago,belt went on it and cant get spare belt,i have rang genie customer services who in turn said they have run out of the belts and thats why they are so cheap as dont get supplied with extra belts,unbelievable,then they gave me another number to phone outwith their company who sent me belts,only to be the wrong ones even though ive supplied the number of the vacum cleaner,sent me more again after complained and got wrong ones again,hoover defunked now for 3 months so be warned its rubbish 15 November 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by This sucks, in a good way! Initially I had my reservations due to the low cost of this vacuum. However after reading numerous positive reviews I decided to give it a go and boy am I glad I did. This is a lightweight and compact cleaner. It works wonders on my carpets and is excellent at getting up dog hair. The only negative I have experienced so far (and the reason why I have not given it 5 stars) is that due to the compact nature of the cleaner it fills quickly and therefore needs frequent emptying to maintain the suction. However, that said this is still a great value for money cleaner that gets the job done! 03 April 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Brilliant Vacuum Cleaner We have had expensive vacs in the past - Dyson, Oreck but this beats them all hands down!! Light but Powerful but picks up dog hair leaving carpet really clean. ok the dirt canister is small and needs emptying more often than the bigger machines but that's expected as it is a compact unit, yet has basic onboard tools too so its versatile Dont lash out on pricey vacs - get one of these! Would recommend to anyone. 12 August 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by suprb purchase I bought the Genie Vaccum cleaner after reading a recommndation in a magazine it is ideal for me as it is light but as I have two small dogs it is perfect for any dog hairs 12 December 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by extremely good value We purchased this Product based on the low price as we tend to replace vacuum cleaners on a far too regular basis.This cleaner is remarkably light which helps in use but especially when carrying up stairs.The suction is excellent and the carpets are noticeably cleaner after using this vacuum.The lead isn't the longest we've had but perfectly acceptable without the need to be constantly looking for the next electrical socket to plug it into.In short,it's extremely good value for money,one we would recommend and definitely one we would purchase again in the future. 22 October 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best bargain ever i bought this genie hoover today,i was abit unsure at first as i read a few reviews that put me off but then thought i would ignore the bad ones and go with the good review and i am delighted that i did as i have a bad back at the moment and found the hoover very light,easy to put together,and the suction on it is amazing especially for the price,some people complained about it being noisy but i cant say iv ever heard a noise free one yet!its a good height,the cord is long enough for two rooms so yes very pleased with my purchase today :) 19 January 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great lightweight hoover for a flat Ideal size for my flat, small and lightweight it's the best hoover I've had. Picks up bits of hair etc really well 25 April 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Why pay more? We have had some cleaners in recent years from very well known makes (can't be mentioned but you can guess) and we are not stupid enough to pay for a certain "prestige" make which one sees at the tip regularly. So when we decided to get a new cleaner as the present "lightweight" is showing signs of playing up, we chose to try the Genie because at this price one can't really go wrong. What a surprise - it most definitely does a more thorough job than the allegedly more powerful existing machine and is even lighter in weight than the said cleaner. It is better designed too, you will not be disappointed if you buy a Genie. 04 June 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best I have ever had! I have had my share of hovers and having animals have opted for the more expensive ones with the hyper allergenic no loss of suction and so on.(you know the ones I mean) I was looking for a cheap little hover for my business. I opened it at home to check it was ok and that is where it has stayed. My other hover was taken by the scrap man! Seriously this is the best hover I have ever had. Fantastic. Only one drawback is the cord. It is not long enough and as previous reviewers have said the cord should have a hook near the handle. Petty really considering. Go buy one today. I have 3. One upstairs one downstairs and one in my business. Best buy for years. Buy one today! 17 June 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by A bargain vac I was looking for a lightweight cleaner but with lots of power. This fits the bill very well and is a remarkable price when you consider how much power it has. It really shifted the ingrained dirt from my carpets and the removable nozzle is brilliant for hard surfaces. It's very easy to empty and small enough to stow tidily. I wish the hose were longer for reaching above door height and the cyclone holder looks a bit fragile. It's not that good for hard floors because you have to use the hose instead of the roller brush. But it's not expensive and does its job very well. 22 December 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Purchase Ever I bought this hoover for my 3 bedroom home after reading all the good reviews and I have to say they didn't lie. It's the best I've ever had. It's small and light enough to carry up and downstairs, the suction on it is amazing for such a little hoover. I have 2 cats and it pulled cat hair up straight away, my other hoover wouldn't touch them that's why I bought this 1. The only bad points I could say about it is it could do with a longer hose but it's not that much of a issue and that it doesn't hold much and needs emptying more but again not that much of a issue it's still a fantastic hoover. 15 September 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great purchase An excellent value product. Cleans the carpets well and is light to use. Flex is a bit short but you can't have everything for such a low price. 10 August 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic value This is a great vacuum, easy to assemble. Takes seconds to empty dustbox and to clean filters. This machine seems to be based on my other very expensive cleaner but at a fraction of the cost. Excellent suction when using upright and on board tools mean they are to hand for awkward places. Not too bulky either. Purchased while on offer, making this excellent value for money. I would recommend this item. 24 April 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great value vacuum Having read the reviews I was pleasantly surprised to find the vacuum stood up to all the positive ones. It has great suction, no more going over the same patch of carpet a million times to pick up hair & sock fluff!! It's very compact but packs a punch. My only real criticism would be that it lacks a little in height, but then I knew the dimensions before I purchased it so I'm not complaining... Overall, it is a great value vacuum and I'm very happy I got it. 24 April 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by IMPRESSED! I initially purchased this as a 2nd vacuum for upstairs but my other vacuum for downstairs a well known brand let me down because it scorched my carpet in several places, this is now my main and I purchased another while on offer as a spare because I was so impressed with the 1st which I've had for about two years, it's lightweight, easy to carry, easy to manoeuvre, the suction is brilliant on both carpet and hard floors, I have a cat and have no problems with it picking up the hairs, it comes with two extra tools which come in very handy, my parents have purchased one aswel after seeing mine in action! 11 June 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by great little buy bought this a week ago 9/4/2012 great little vac very light yet plenty of power have a red hall rug and a white cat gets pet hairs up no fuss easy to put together only one screw done in 3 mins easy to empty only given 4 stars mainly because there is no extenstion tube for the crevis tool so you have to stoop very low but solved that by finding a old one that fits and the lead is down by the floor took me a week to find under the handle there is a little hook you can fit lead into yes would buy again 16 April 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best purchase to date I only have carpets upstairs so wanted a small hoover to keep in the airing cupboard. This hoover is so lightweight and easy to assemble and use. The suction power is out of this world, either I had a very dirty house or the power on this hoover is very high! Long lead enables me to leave it plugged in and also do stairs! Only criticism is that to try and get cobwebs from ceiling with the hose you have to lift hoover up as hose lead not long enough. Overall brilliant! 01 May 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Genie Vacuum Not sure yet if I can get on with this vacuum. Yes its light to carry, but hurts my back when using, It seems hard to push, Picks up great. Going to speak to someone about this problem, maybe it needs adjusting. 29 June 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Suction! Lightweight, easy to use and carry up/down the stairs. Powerful suction, amazing how much its collects in the bin! Nice colour,design and generally a cute product! Few cons: its really plasticky, toy-ish almost, so can't see it lasting for long without cracks appearing in the hose pipe or it just breaking and cracking apart totally, thats got to be the worst point! Also dislike the fan blowing at the top of the bin when you're vacuuming away! Hose could've been a bit longer to reach in high up places. It does say not suitable for hard floors but worked ok on laminate flooring. 22 February 2012
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 20 next>>