Breville VKJ142 HotCup - kettle - gloss black

Rollover image to zoom

Breville VKJ142 HotCup - kettle - gloss black main view

Breville VKJ142 HotCup - kettle - gloss black Reviews

Was £39.96
Now £25.00 Save  £14.96

The Breville HotCup dispenses boiling water at just the touch of a button! The Breville HotCup is designed to boil a cup of water in a matter of seconds, meaning great hot drinks at the touch of a button.
The Breville HotCup dispenses a 250ml cup of boiling water, and will dispense up to 5 cups without refilling. The exclusive, patented technology ensures that water is only dispensed at boiling point, making perfect hot drinks every time! What's more, the smooth and continuous flow of water keeps any splashing to a minimum. The HotCup also features a blue illumination as it boils, which along with the sleek design will add a sense of style and sophistication to any kitchen worktop.
By just boiling what you need you can save energy. With the Breville HotCup you just press a button and it dispenses one cup of boiling water, so you choose the right number of cups to boil. Tens of millions of pounds are wasted on unnecessary electricity each year by people boiling water they don't need. So why not avoid wasting your hard-earned cash on hefty electricity bills and just boil the number of cups you need? Spend your money on something fun! By saving energy you are also reducing the drain on the world's natural resources, which is never a bad thing!
The Breville HotCup is easy to use - simply lift the main unit off the base and fill up at a tap just like a normal kettle! The base also holds a removable drip tray, which is easy to clean and dishwasher safe. No hassle, no fuss! Perfect for those with a hectic lifestyle, the Breville Hot Cup will dispense boiling water in a matter of seconds - meaning you can grab a cup of tea or coffee on the go - no waiting around and no need to be late for work! Also ideal for small offices, the Breville Hot Cup provides a quick and simple solution to time wasted standing by while a kettle boils... pop your cup on the drip tray, press a button and go. It's easy to fill, easy to use and easy to love. With its sleek and contemporary design the Breville Hot Cup is bound to become the focus and talking point of any kitchen.
Speedy, slick and simple - the exciting Breville HotCup is set to take the world by storm - in a tea cup!
AddBreville VKJ142 HotCup - kettle - gloss black to basket
 

  • Click and collect Collect in store FREE

    Click & Collect

    Collect in any Asda store for free.

     

    Our Click & Collect service is FREE to a store of your choice and it's now a faster service. If you order before 7 pm you'll be able to collect your order the following day after 5 pm from the store of your choice.
    Click here for further details

    *Please note some items may not be available to collect from store.

  • Delivery Have this item delivered
    Delivered from £2.95by Monday 29 December
    Standard: 3-5 days £2.95
    Next day £4.50
    Named day £4.50
    Named day and time £5.95
    More delivery info
  • Free Returns Free returns in store

    Free Returns


    You can return this item for free to any ASDA store.

 
Colour Black
Capacity 1.5 Litres
Model Number VKJ142
Net Capacity (litres) 1.5 Litres
Product Type Electric Kettles
Type Kettles
Brand Breville
 
Delivered from £2.95
by Monday 29 December
Standard: 3-5 days £2.95
Next day £4.50
Named day £4.50
Named day and time £5.95
More delivery info
 

Returns for UK

If for any reason you are not satisfied with your George Clothing or George Home product, simply return it within 100 days with proof of purchase for an exchange or refund. George branded products only. Excludes watches, jewellery, hair accessories, part assembled flat pack furniture and mattresses. Your statutory rights are not affected. UK Mainland stores only. Excludes franchises.





 
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 147 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by A good product meeting all my expectations I purchased this product having read previous reviews. My elderly Mother struggles to lift a heavy kettle and required a simpler method of making a cup of tea. She has little stamina so a 30 second boiling period is idea for quick cup of tea. Living alone, this device is ideally suited to her requirements. A larger cup is recommended on the basis the quantity of boiling water delivered from the spout is greater than the standard china cup. She is thrilled with the product and has devised a simpler method of filling the reservior without spilling any water. I would reconmend this product for anyone requiring an easy and more cost effective way of making hot drinks. 16 April 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Messy and noisy. I was quite excited by this product but it's really not worth the money. It sounds like a plane taking off with comedy raspberry noises towards the end. The amount of water it dispenses is far too much for even a large mug. You can't turn it off so you have to whip the mug away quickly and allow the over spill to go into the drip tray. And drip tray it is as i discovered on first use that it leaks from underneath! The silver grate covering the tray jumps out of place every time you put a cup on it too. I'll be returning mine when i have a day off. Not worth the money or the mess. 14 February 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Brilliant I bought this for Mother in law who was at the time bed bound. It sits on the bedside table and she gets tea in 30 seconds How brilliant is that! 21 November 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great item This item is so easy to use, A hot drink in seconds. Due to my disability, I cannot lift a kettle of boiling water. With this item I don't have to. I just place my cup under the dispenser, press the button & in less than a minute I have a hot drink. This item not only makes my life eaiser but also saves me time & money due to its rapid heating of the water. 10/10 17 September 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Present ever This was bought for elderly mum. Fabulous, quick & so much safer than her lifting the kettle. Instant hot water. She puts her teapot under and has just the right amount for her mug. Tea for her coffee for me no long waiting between cups. Her kettle in at the back of a cupboard to stay there!! She uses a wee plastic jug to fill it so nothing heavy for her to drop. Brilliant buy 20 January 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst Purchase Ever If I had read the review I am about to put then I would not have bought the kettle in the first place. It is messy when it fills your cups, water splashed all over the back panel, Most of my cups/mugs were dormant once this machine turned up as the water was overspilling as you cannot cancel it once started. The drinks dont taste boiling hot from a normal kettle, dont take long to go cold once made. This product lasted 1 week on my worktop now it sits next to my Tassimo in the useless cupboard !! I emailed Breville and they said I descale the kettle, duh it is brand new !! 21 March 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent one cup tea maker Love this as makes a cup of tea so quickly, it is boiling hot making a good cuppa. It is very efficient as only boils the one cup fo water. I have several Brevill products and they never disappoint. Value for money and quality. Would also make a good teasmaid for bedside use. 13 November 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Brilliant Fill with water once and it boils one cup full of water at a time in 30 seconds and puts it in your cup for you! Everyone should have one. Half asleep morning coffee in 30 seconds - how did I manage without one and it saves electricity just by making life easier. Wish I had bought one years ago. Very happy with it. Cannot think of a bad point. 16 September 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Shockingly inefficient We own a same make water heater and expected at least the same quality however this model has no facility to stop the flow of water or reduce the quantity of water produced. The quantity dispensed is a full large mug with no facility to reduce hence no room for any milk or if you use a small mug or even worse a teacup it just floods. Totally inefficient design flaw on this model only overcome by using a jug with large capacity then wasting the excess boiled water which defeats the purpose of having this over a kettle. Thank goodness asda operate an efficient return and refund policy 31 August 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by very useful item after using my breville for a week i have now put my kettle in the cupboard, not needed. i use mugs all the time so the amount that comes out is spot on for my needs. i have a 2 litre pouring container to fill up when on MIN to save removing from base. the only ajustment from a normal kettle is to make sure you have the mug in place before switching on. EXELLENT PRODUCT. 08 February 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Buy Product is great for making just one cup. Brilliant for old people as it is very safe for despensing water. 27 December 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Breville hot cup This is a kettle which dispenses hot water, it fills like a kettle at the tap, but doesn't pour - instead it dispenses hot water within about 30 seconds, just pop cup under and press button. The water is nice and hot for drinking coffee or tea. The kettle holds about 1.5 litre water in a reservoir and puts 300ml (ish) into the heating chamber so it just heats enough for one cup at a time so is energy saving, but only takes about 2 mins to do 4 cups, we fill with a jug so we don't need to lift the kettle at all, my 8 yr old suddenly wants to be tea-boy! we love it, 21 March 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by a good idea! we thought this was a great idea, then we realised that it only does one cup size, so although it was good for some of our mugs others were left needing a top up, other overfilled. it was ok we managed. but then after about 3 days of using it, the jug started leaking from the bottom. so we returned it. we did however then find the varible version f this product, you can choose 15 different cup sizes. fab. when we boxed the bew model realised the 1st 1 cup has weak and not half as substanical. 24 August 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by wrong purchase The purpose of buying this product was because my husband's hands shake and he could not lift a normal kettle to make a cup of tea. However this product dispenses only a set amount of water which fills a large mug, again which my husband could not hold. If the amount of water dispensed could be controlled, this would be an excellent product. 08 September 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disapointed very disappointed with the Kettle. Two of the reasons being, (1) the kettle overflowed our cups whenever we used it. (2) The water does not seem hot enough to brew tea properly. So now we have reverted to our old kettle. Marks out of 10, I give it five. 05 April 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great kettle We have been looking for this kind of kettle for sometime so were pleased when discovered it. Provides quick hot water (about 30 secs) as a normal kettle in less time therefore saving time & money. You avoid the issues of a traditional kettle. Stylish looking as if in a fancy hotel. Only issue it that it splatters hot water towards the end when filling which if not careful could get on to your hand etc. there is a drip tray but the splatters go past the tray. The opening to fill with water could have been bigger as it's a tight space & water can / does drip on the outside when filling. Great price as almost £10 off. Will be buying a second. Friends & family who have seen so far will / are also purchasing. Money well spent so far! 25 March 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Delighted We've had one of these before and loved it, they do tend to be expensive so we didn't replace it when it stopped working. Asda had this at a really good price so I decided to get one - I'm delighted I did too. No more waiting for a kettle to boil, no more boiling too much water (so it MUST be more economical). It boils enough for a mug, it would be far too much for a cup, and that's what we use so it's ideal for us. I would happily recommend this to anyone, we do still have a kettle, which we use if we need a lot of boiling water. 01 September 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by quick cup of coffee! This is the size of a large kettle and is removed from the base to fill it up at the tap like you would a normal kettle. You can make 4 standard size mugs of boiling water between refills. There is enough room left for milk once the water is dispensed. Your mug is filled with boiling water in less than 30 seconds. 04 July 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Buy Bought this for my son as a gift for his new home. As only him and his girlfriend this is all they needed. It is a great kettle and looks fab in the kitchen. I also got it on a great deal half price! I would still pay the full price as it is definitely worth the money. 14 September 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The beverage revolution is here This is a fantastic innovation. It takes between 30 seconds and a minute to boil and deliver a cup of water. No more re-boiling the kettle, no more "did I make the tea or just put the kettle on?" it just does it. The only downside is that I had to buy a new teapot (traditional stainless steel type) since my old ceramic one wouldn't fit under. That said you can't overfill the teapot, 2 cups = 2 button pushes. This is definitely one to give to people as a Christmas present instead of another jumper. 28 August 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointed!!! Was excited to try this new gadget out but failed!!! Did not boil water hit enough to make a tasty of a tea or coffee!!! Ended up sticking it in the microwave for another 30-45secs!!!!!! Water just didn't seem hot enough 05 June 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very good buy This product was bought for a blind person who lives on her own and is exactly what was needed to keep her safe from scalding herself when making a cup of tea, Practical, easy to use and quick making it economical. 13 October 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Purchase When our existing kettle broke my wife and I went online to search for another. We we all prepared to go for a like for like replacement then saw this model on Asda Direct. Must admit the 'dispense one cup' at a time really appealed to our green side, the customer reviews were very good and the fact there was a saving of nearly £20 off the price made it an offer too good to refuse so we went ahead and purchased online for in store delivery. This kettle is really easy to set up and is absolutely BRILLIANT in every day use. One cup at a time suits our lifestyle. With our previous kettle we always boiled too much water at any one time, with this Breville you just boil a cup at time. By the time you've filled one cup, removed it and placed the next cup it's ready to go again. So, if you wanted to fill a tea pot, just keep pressing the 'boil' button. A highly recommended product. 13 January 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent buy Bought this for my partially sighted, disabled mother so she doesn't have to lift, tip and pour a conventional kettle. No more drips or leaks, or more importantly missing the cup or overfilling it. 08 September 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by excellent product Well packaged, well-presented product. Fits ith "green" wishes just boiuling one cup at a time. better than tefal product I had previously as it really does deliverBoiling not just hot water. 25 October 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Graet purchase We found the hot cup easy to use, stylish, and economical only boiling the amount of water you need, the only fault is it heats just short of boiling so your tea goes cold quite quickly. 03 September 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Breville VKJ142 HotCup The Breville Hotcup is very easy and clean to use, also "boils" very quickly, I find that the waters NOT boiling hot, if you use a mug for your drink then its ok,anything small then the water boils over the top. and if you have a few friends round then a normal kettle would be better as you have to boil and boil again. As I drink a few cups a day I seem always to be filling the "kettle" up ... overall a good bit of kit for what it is designed for....a quick mug of water for one.. 05 April 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic I bought this item as I am terrible for clicking the kettle on and because it takes so long walking away, then reboiling it again when I come back. My mum had bought one of these and I was impressed with the fact it only boils what it needs to, I love this product, saves on time as it's really quick (no time to walk away) and it fills my cup perfectly! Would recommend this product to anyone as I'm sure at some point I'm going to make my money back on electricity used alone!! 18 April 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by good idea good price for a good idea, boils quickly with a good size mug, only draw back is the water only reaches 91 deg c. 11 October 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice n Easy in just 30 secs your cuppa is ready :) only downside is it's a lil noisey other than that it's greatttt !! 11 January 2012
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 next>>

Additional information from the manufacturer

From the Manufacturer|Powered by Answers™

Thank You Is the information in this section helpful? Yes / No

The Breville Hot Cup - for a quicker cuppa

  • 1.5L capacity

    The VKJ142 can dispense up to 5 250ml sized cups of boiling water without needing a refil. 
  • One cup of boiling water in less than 1 minute

    The Hot Cup provides a quick and simple solution, saving electricity and time, dispensing just one cup of boiling water in a matter of seconds. 
  • Removable drip tray

    A removable drip tray makes cleaning your Hot Cup quick and easy. 

Breville VKJ142 Hot Cup