click and collect


Order online and pick up in-store
for free





Breville VKJ142 1.5L HotCup Kettle - Gloss Black

Rollover image to zoom

Breville VKJ142 1.5L HotCup Kettle - Gloss Black main view

Breville VKJ142 1.5L HotCup Kettle - Gloss Black Reviews


The VKJ142 Breville HotCup dispenses boiling water in seconds at the touch of button.

The contemporary, gloss black and stainless steel design looks great in any kitchen and dispenses up to five cups/mugs without re-filling. Its patented design means you only boil one cup at a time, helping to save time, money and energy.

The one-touch operation is ideal for those who cannot lift a heavy kettle while the removable drip tray keeps your worktop mess-free.

Filling is easy thanks to the lid-release button and the illumination in boil mode gives a soft blue glow to your kitchen.

Key Features & Benefits:
  • Dispenses boiling water at the touch of a button
  • Push-button lid release makes filling easy ' just like a kettle
  • Removable, easy-to-clean drip tray means no worktop mess
  • Blue illumination in boil mode
  • Large water window makes accurate filling easy
  • Gloss black finish with polished stainless steel trim

  • Product Specification:
  • 3kW heating element for rapid boiling times
  • 1.5 Litre capacity
  • 360 degree base for left- and right-hand use
  • Concealed element
  • Permanent limescale filter
  • Non-slip feet
  • Cord storage
  • AddBreville VKJ142 1.5L HotCup Kettle - Gloss Black to basket

    • Click and collect Collect in store FREE

      Click & Collect

      Collect in any Asda store for free.


      Our Click & Collect service is FREE to a store of your choice and it's now a faster service. If you order before 7 pm you'll be able to collect your order the following day after 5 pm from the store of your choice.
      Click here for further details

      *Please note some items may not be available to collect from store.

    • Delivery Have this item delivered
      Delivered from £2.95by Thursday 08 October
      Standard: 3-5 days £2.95
      Next day £4.50
      Named day £4.50
      Named day and time £5.95
      More delivery info
    • International delivery International delivery not available
      This item is not available for international delivery
    • Free Returns Free returns in store

      Free Returns

      You can return this item for free to any ASDA store.

    Colour Black
    Capacity 1.5 Litres
    Cord Length (m) 0.8 Metres
    Cord Storage Yes
    Cordless No
    Dimensions 16.3 x 27.5 x 28.6 cm
    Filter Yes
    Material Plastic & Stainless Steel
    Model Number VKJ142
    Net Capacity (litres) 1.5 Litres
    Power 3000 Watts
    Product Type Electric Kettles
    Rapid Boil Yes
    Type Kettles
    Water Level Indicator Yes
    Weight 1.65kg
    Brand Breville
    Delivered from £2.95
    by Thursday 08 October
    Standard: 3-5 days £2.95
    Next day £4.50
    Named day £4.50
    Named day and time £5.95
    More delivery info

    Returns for UK

    If for any reason you are not satisfied with your George Clothing or George Home product, simply return it within 100 days with proof of purchase for an exchange or refund. George branded products only. Excludes watches, jewellery, hair accessories, part assembled flat pack furniture and mattresses. The 100 Day Guarantee only applies to George branded products. Please refer to our terms and conditions for details of our returns and refund process for non-George branded products. Your statutory rights are not affected. UK Mainland stores only. Excludes franchises.

    2 Questions & 3 Answers

    Asda Q&A is a customer to customer community forum, and as such Asda does not endorse any customers ideas or advice. If you are a Wine Shop customer Asda may respond to questions posted when appropriate to do so regarding product details. If you have a customer service query you can contact us here. Thank you.

    Ask your questions. Share your answers.

    « Back
    Northamptonshire, UK
    Gender: Female
    0out of 0found this question helpful.
    Was this helpful?Helpful00No00


    Gender: Male
    Read all my Q&A
    Please wait while more information about stepviv is loaded.
    Additional information about stepviv could not be loaded.
    0out of 0found this answer helpful.
    Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
    Thanks for Voting

    Plymouth, Plymouth, UK
    Gender: Male
    Read all my Q&A
    Please wait while more information about doowder is loaded.
    Additional information about doowder could not be loaded.
    0out of 0found this answer helpful.
    Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
    Thanks for Voting
    I would like to know the measurements for this item e.g. height length width and depth thank you
    Bo'ness, Falkirk EH51, UK
    Gender: Female
    Read all my Q&A
    Please wait while more information about Dot1226 is loaded.
    Additional information about Dot1226 could not be loaded.
    0out of 0found this question helpful.
    Was this helpful?Helpful00No00


    Hi, here are the measurements when the kettle is on the stand; just under 30cm high (it slopes so this is the highest point) & the base is 28cm x 17cm. Hope this helps!
    Southend-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea, UK
    Gender: Female
    Read all my Q&A
    Please wait while more information about Mich1968 is loaded.
    Additional information about Mich1968 could not be loaded.
    3out of 3found this answer helpful.
    Was this helpful?Helpful33No00
    • 2015-10-02T05:51:47.405-05:00
    • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
    • cp-1, bvpage1
    • co_hasquestionsanswers
    • loc_en_US, sid_001567270, prod, sort_default
    1 of 1
    • 2015-10-02T05:51:47.407-05:00
    • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
    • cp-1, bvpage1
    • co_hasquestionsanswers
    • loc_en_US, sid_001567270, prod, sort_default
    1 of 1
    Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 257 reviewers.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Present ever This was bought for elderly mum. Fabulous, quick & so much safer than her lifting the kettle. Instant hot water. She puts her teapot under and has just the right amount for her mug. Tea for her coffee for me no long waiting between cups. Her kettle in at the back of a cupboard to stay there!! She uses a wee plastic jug to fill it so nothing heavy for her to drop. Brilliant buy 20 January 2012
    Rated 5 out of 5 by very useful item after using my breville for a week i have now put my kettle in the cupboard, not needed. i use mugs all the time so the amount that comes out is spot on for my needs. i have a 2 litre pouring container to fill up when on MIN to save removing from base. the only ajustment from a normal kettle is to make sure you have the mug in place before switching on. EXELLENT PRODUCT. 08 February 2013
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Almost instant hot water! Excellent value product. Dispenses exact amount of boiling water REALLY quickly. Remember to put the mug underneath the dispenser BEFORE pressing the button though! May also buy the slightly more expensive model as this give choice of water quantity to dispense, so can use for espresso coffee etc. Really like this as it means we can use our favourite products without the need for an expensive pod system. 26 January 2015
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent time saver I bought this as boiling a kettle whether half full or not seemed to take what seemed forever so I thought this would be a great way to save time esp in the mornings when its already a rushed time of the day! It is an excellent product that I am extremely glad I purchased and even though it is a little noisey I love it! Have already recommended this to several friends and family members. 26 November 2011
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Great item This item is so easy to use, A hot drink in seconds. Due to my disability, I cannot lift a kettle of boiling water. With this item I don't have to. I just place my cup under the dispenser, press the button & in less than a minute I have a hot drink. This item not only makes my life eaiser but also saves me time & money due to its rapid heating of the water. 10/10 17 September 2012
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Quickest cuppa ever! This is my second one of these, the first lasted 3 years with lots and lots of use. Breville do a larger one but I have a small kitchen and it does the job for me. Asda was the cheapest, even with delivery... Which was super quick. Bought one for my nan too, so she doesn't have to pick up a heavy hot kettle, she then bought one for her blind neighbour.... 24 March 2014
    Rated 4 out of 5 by Good product for ease of use and a great cuppa! I like this because freshly boiled water makes a better cup of tea and each cup is freshly brewed with this kettle. It also saves on electricity because you only boil what you need. It is an improvement on the old model because it is lighter and less complex. My only quibble is that it's slightly smaller than the old model and needs re-filling more often 10 September 2015
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Great kettle I had the bigger kettle before but went for this smaller one as the bigger one was to heavy. This kettle is wonderful. It gives 3 full mugs of tea or coffee. It's easy to feel up and is not to heavy to carry when full. I like it so much that I have another one in my bedroom for my morning cupped. Oh yes it makes wonderfully instant sauces and gravys. 31 August 2012
    Rated 5 out of 5 by good looking This is a very good looking piece of equipment. As of yet I haven't used it only tried it out. As it issue's a set amount of liquid I only have a couple of mugs to accommodate the water. My old water boiler dispenses any amount so I am uses to that so I will wait until that one breaks down first. Much better looking than the one I am using now though. 02 February 2015
    Rated 4 out of 5 by Great for a gimmick I saw this and thought it was a pretty cool addition to my kitchen, it's a great but if it and you get your hot water much quicker than a conventional kettle. However if you like to cheat and pre boil your water before putting it in the hob for cooking then it's impractical you only get 1 mug per boil so you need to do it several times. That said it's still a good buy 30 January 2015
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Brilliant Fill with water once and it boils one cup full of water at a time in 30 seconds and puts it in your cup for you! Everyone should have one. Half asleep morning coffee in 30 seconds - how did I manage without one and it saves electricity just by making life easier. Wish I had bought one years ago. Very happy with it. Cannot think of a bad point. 16 September 2012
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Very useful product. I was not sure if i would be wasting my money buying this, but it has turned out to be one of the best things i have bought. There is just myself and my husband so is perfect, takes seconds to boil so no waiting and boils the second cup in seconds. I agree with other comments that you can only use a mug not a cup but this is the only negative. 31 December 2014
    Rated 5 out of 5 by energy efficient, safe and quick, this product was recommended to me by a friend. i shopped around on line and found it cheaper in asdas than anywhere else. this is an excellent buy for any1, but more so for people having problems lifting kettles. ie, painfull arms, elderly, weak and infirm. it holds 1.5 litres and only boils enough for 1 cup at a time. i love it. 05 February 2013
    Rated 4 out of 5 by not bad! Yes overall a good kettle , if u want to just a small mug of water at a time. Unfortunately, I use my kettle for alot more than just a mug of water. So I would have a good think of what you use your kettle beforer you purchase.A cup of tea fime but a hot water bottle , so. I did return it as I picked holes in it before I'd got it home. 28 August 2014
    Rated 4 out of 5 by great coffee Ordered this and received it when stated actually it was a day early for a click n collect at store. Does exactly what it should. Boils just enough for a full cup and it is hot. Only fault is the coffee/tea doesn't stay hot for too long. I tend to leave my drink n come back to it later and it doesn't hold the heat for too long otherwise no faults. Happy with purchase. 03 September 2014
    Rated 4 out of 5 pleased with the Breville Hot Cup But don't like it as much as the original Tefal instant hot water dispenser, this Breville is good but noisy like a kettle and not instant, takes about 30-40 seconds. But wouldn't want to go back to a normal kettle! saves on water and electricity...easy to fill also, again same as a kettle. small and compact on worktop, looks good. 25 January 2013
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Better than a kettle! Highly recommend the hotcup. Reviews I read in other places made a fuss about it always dispensing 250ml and the noise - neither of these things bother me.. I don't think it's too noisy and it's only for a few seconds anyway. Looks great and does a great job. Very happy with the purchase. Also, save £20 by going to Asda Direct. 15 September 2012
    Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst purchase ever! Read some reviews and seen this had 4 to 5 stars so thought this would be a good buy. But no. Leaked everywhere before I could even use it. It leaked from the dispenser, from the base and from the handle! Read a review like this before and thought it was a one off, but sadly its not. Bought a normal breville kettle in the end. 01 September 2013
    Rated 4 out of 5 by Glorified Kettle With Limitations Ordered x2 as we returned the first one with cosmetic scratches...the second one is worse. Expect a third one will be too so gave up. Major stumbling block of this unit is that, you cannot adjust the quantity of water that the unit will boil each time. It is quieter and the water much hotter than our previous Tefal One-Cup. 07 December 2013
    Rated 3 out of 5 by okay for the money I have just replaced my old Breville with the same. Although it is not the best there is it is the cheapest, I have found they soon make a loud noise when pouring, They do not tend to last that long as the machine ceases to turn off unless u turn it off at the socket, On saying that you get what you pay for, if you want the best you have to pay the price. 01 June 2013
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Useful economically Smart piece of kit. Very handy especially for single people but equally great for a couple. Made even better by the special offer price at the moment. About £15 reduction in price!!! I refill the chamber using my slimline Brita water filter jug rather than the tap as it becomes too heavy to hold if you have arthritis. 17 September 2014
    Rated 1 out of 5 by wrong purchase The purpose of buying this product was because my husband's hands shake and he could not lift a normal kettle to make a cup of tea. However this product dispenses only a set amount of water which fills a large mug, again which my husband could not hold. If the amount of water dispensed could be controlled, this would be an excellent product. 08 September 2012
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product! I needed to replace my kettle, as it was old and very noisy and heavy so I have done my research and came across hot water dispenser. It is a great product! Boils water in seconds, takes the same amount of space as normal kettle and is glowing when boiling water. It is easy to fill up water again. I would highly recommend this product. 12 February 2013
    Rated 4 out of 5 by One cup kettle Ideal if your cups are 300ml or multiples of this. It's good for anyone who can't lift full cups or small house hold. Would have preferred an adjustable cup amount as not all cups hold a small amount. It does fill a small mug. Ideal cup size would be 300ml to allow for milk does what it says on the box. 24 March 2014
    Rated 4 out of 5 Excellent Price Great ASDA price second 'one cup' as last one started to malfunction after 3 years (didn't switch off after dispensing a cup of hot water) spoke to Breville and nearly didn't get another as their response was poor however love the convenience of this machine and I suppose 3 years of constant use isn't bad! 05 September 2015
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Bought Three Was thinking of having one of these for a long time then saw this in the sale and decided to try, well so glad I did and my partner has had one and we bought one for her elderly mother as we thought that it would be safer than lifting a kettle to make a drink and when she has a cuppa soup 29 August 2014
    Rated 4 out of 5 by quick cup of coffee! This is the size of a large kettle and is removed from the base to fill it up at the tap like you would a normal kettle. You can make 4 standard size mugs of boiling water between refills. There is enough room left for milk once the water is dispensed. Your mug is filled with boiling water in less than 30 seconds. 04 July 2014
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent kitchen accessory This is an excellent addition to the kitchen. You can have a cup of tea/coffee in seconds. The kettle hols around 4 cups of water and therefore if you are a tea aholic like me it needs to be re-filled regularly. It looks stylish in the kitchen and even my daughter can make me a cuppa now! 10 February 2013
    Rated 5 out of 5 by PERFECT This is just perfect for me i love it read all the reviews before i brought it don't agree with any of the negatives.............water is boiling............takes seconds to make a decent cup of tea/coffee .....easy to fill .......wish i had seen this product before .............well worth the money.............highly recomend 14 April 2015
    Rated 2 out of 5 by Returned I have bought HotCup Kettle couple weeks ago, and took it back few days later. I found it a bit tricky, as the amount of the water being dispenced couldn't be adjusted, therefore only certain cups could be used only and very inconvinient if needed a bit more or less water then dispensed. 08 June 2015
    • 2015-10-02T06:06:10.325-05:00
    • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
    • cp-3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_257, tr_257
    • loc_en_US, sid_001567270, prod, sort_default
    <<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>

    Additional information from the manufacturer

    From the Manufacturer|Powered by Answers™

    Thank You Is the information in this section helpful? Yes / No

    The Breville Hot Cup - for a quicker cuppa

    • The Breville Hot Cup is designed to boil a cup of water in a matter of seconds, meaning great hot drinks at the touch of a button. It dispenses a 250 millilitre (ml) cup of boiling water--the equivalent of a standard drinking mug--and will dispense up to five cups without refilling--perfect for families or small offices.

      The innovative patented technology ensures that water is only dispensed once it has reached boiling point, not simply very warm, but 100 degrees Celsius, making perfect hot drinks every time. In addition, the smooth and continuous flow of water keeps any splashing to a minimum.

      By only boiling enough water for the number of cups you need, the Hot Cup is economical and energy efficient. There's no boiled water going to waste and it helps you save pennies on electricity bills.

    • 1.5L capacity

      The VKJ142 can dispense up to 5 250ml sized cups of boiling water without needing a refil.
    • One cup of boiling water in less than 1 minute

      The Hot Cup provides a quick and simple solution, saving electricity and time, dispensing just one cup of boiling water in a matter of seconds.
    • Removable drip tray

      A removable drip tray makes cleaning your Hot Cup quick and easy.
    • Boiled water at the touch of a button
    • 1.5 litre illuminating water tank
    • Save on spills with the detachable drip tray
    • Easy to fill water tank works just like a kettle

    Breville VKJ142 Hot Cup


    • About Breville

      Breville believes that creativity shouldn’t be out of reach. They believe that with the right tools anything is possible. They want to help you make the most of your home. Drink, toast, mix, whisk and chop your way to a world of pure imagination. Creative solutions, inspiring ideas. No excuses, no limits. Let Breville help to turn on your creativity.