Breville VKJ142 1.5L HotCup Kettle - Gloss Black

Sorry, out of stock.

Add Breville VKJ142 1.5L HotCup Kettle - Gloss Black to basket

Breville VKJ142 1.5L HotCup Kettle - Gloss Black features in our Kettles collection

Previous itemView full Kettles collectionNext item

Product Information

Click and collect Collect in any ASDA store for free. More delivery info
Colour Black
Capacity 1.5 Litres
Cord Length (m) 0.8 Metres
Cord Storage Yes
Cordless No
Dimensions 16.3 x 27.5 x 28.6 cm
Filter Yes
Material Plastic & Stainless Steel
Model Number VKJ142
Net Capacity (litres) 1.5 Litres
Power 3000 Watts
Product Type Electric Kettles
Rapid Boil Yes
Type Kettles
Water Level Indicator Yes
Weight 1.65kg
Brand Breville

Why we love this

The VKJ142 Breville HotCup dispenses boiling water in seconds at the touch of button.

The contemporary, gloss black and stainless steel design looks great in any kitchen and dispenses up to five cups/mugs without re-filling. Its patented design means you only boil one cup at a time, helping to save time, money and energy.

The one-touch operation is ideal for those who cannot lift a heavy kettle while the removable drip tray keeps your worktop mess-free.

Filling is easy thanks to the lid-release button and the illumination in boil mode gives a soft blue glow to your kitchen.

Key Features & Benefits:
  • Dispenses boiling water at the touch of a button
  • Push-button lid release makes filling easy ' just like a kettle
  • Removable, easy-to-clean drip tray means no worktop mess
  • Blue illumination in boil mode
  • Large water window makes accurate filling easy
  • Gloss black finish with polished stainless steel trim


  • Product Specification:
  • 3kW heating element for rapid boiling times
  • 1.5 Litre capacity
  • 360 degree base for left- and right-hand use
  • Concealed element
  • Permanent limescale filter
  • Non-slip feet
  • Cord storage
  • Our customers say

    Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 313 reviewers.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Love it! Great product. Bought in the sale, love it. Easy to use & very quick, boils a cup in 30 seconds. Stylish & easy to clean. Would recommend it to anyone 17 January 2016
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Item had one before but they don't last long Bought this and had to take back as it was leaking on first use. Got another and today this one has started leaking. I've had one before and it just stopped working, it was less than a year old but I could'nt find the receipt to take it back. The item when not faulty is just great. 17 January 2016
    Rated 3 out of 5 by Certainly good for a person living on their own It doesn't hold enough water for a family. 17 January 2016
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Quick cuppa Gives a hot cup of tea in 30 seconds so can make 4 cups in 2 minutes . Don't have to lift a boiling kettle and no pouring boiling water into cups or teapot .great product , 17 January 2016
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Great purchase Recommended this product to my family up to now 8 members purchased great especially as under units no kettle boiling away u can go away whilst your cup fills automatically no tipping kettle it is great people who struggle with lifting convencial kettles . 16 January 2016
    Rated 5 out of 5 by great gadget ideal for use on bedside table for night drinks-bought for elderly lady boils as quickly as stated cord short for non worktop use but the length is quoted 16 January 2016
    Rated 5 out of 5 by one cuppa at a time Excellent For making one cuppa at a time no more heavy kettles to pick up just fill and go Ideal for people who have some wrong and can't lift items 15 January 2016
    Rated 4 out of 5 by excellent gadget This is one gadget that wont be put to the back of the cupboard and not used again. How ever, filling with water can be a little tricky. 15 January 2016
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Vary happy This is a great price from Asia and how quick this boils must be saving money on the electric. Only down side is that you can not variate the amount of water it diliveres so we have to distribute the water into a jug first then pour it into the cups or mugs because our mugs are just not big enough for the amount of water it delivers and would therefore overflow. Never the less we have the knack of doing it now therefore very pleased with the unit. Just one more point though is the cord is very short and you would need to put I very close to a plug socket. 15 January 2016
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Ideal for those with limited hand mobility Bought one of these for my elderly mother who has difficulty managing a kettle after breaking her arm. Brilliant, does just as it says. She fills it with a plastic 750ml bottle to save lifting. I found it so handy we bought one for my wifes mother (90) and another for ourselves (we have no issues). Much safer than lugging the kettle of boiling water about. You do have to use a mug big enough to take the 250ml of hot water dispensed though. 14 January 2016
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic. My mum has bad arthritis and this product means she has some independence back because she can use a hug to fill it and doesn't need to lift a heavy kettle. Great from a safety point of view and puts my mind at ease. 14 January 2016
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent I love this new buy and massive bargain works really well especially if you only have to make hot drink for 1 or 2 people. Takes a couple of second to boil would definitely recommend xx 13 January 2016
    Rated 5 out of 5 Saves time and money Ideal for the one cup option. Not the biggest cup though.Heats the water enough for a good tea bag brew. Great if you just need a small amount of hot water while cooking. 13 January 2016
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Bargain It is fabulous very easy to set up and use. All my family have one now they love it. Especially when they bought it in the sale bargain!!! 12 January 2016
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Really pleased with purchase Really quick, makes my fathers life so much easier 12 January 2016
    Rated 5 out of 5 by brilliant purchase This kettle saves water, electricity and time. It is an asset in my kitchen and I am buying more as gifts for my family. 12 January 2016
    Rated 5 out of 5 by A good product that does what it says it does Was hesitant to order having seen some reviews but it seemed to be what i was after. Yes, it is a bit noisy but only briefly - after all, it is boiling water. It delivers a mug full of hot water and although a bigger reservoir might help, that is just laziness on my part. Easy to refil. I am really pleased i ignored bad reviews and bought it. 12 January 2016
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent quality for money So pleased with this. Couldnt believe the quality of it for the price when it arrived. Only small thing I would alter if I could is that it is a bit noisy when actually dispersing the water but this is only for a few seconds so can easily live with that. Would definitely recommend. 12 January 2016
    Rated 3 out of 5 by I wanted a new kettle so... ..I looked quite hard for a replacement to my old kettle which still works but was looking a little tired and shabby next to my new toaster! Didn't consider a one cup version at all, at first, but decided to give it a go. I don't have any regrets, it provides enough water for my medium size cups of tea and coffee. I'm impressed that it does only boil enough water for one cup at a time as I mostly only make one cup at a time. It is a shame that the quantity of water poured into the cup is not adjustable to suit all users. The water boils very quickly and quietly but the pouring of water sound takes a little getting used to (sounds a bit like someone having a good cough!) And it looks great next to my shiny new toaster by the way. Hope this helps. 08 January 2016
    Rated 3 out of 5 by Only recommend for standard size hot drinks Great if you only make a single normal size hot drinks. Thought I would be able to pour the quantity of hot water I required but will only give you 300 mils measure at a time. 06 January 2016
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Brilliant Bought it for mum mother in law, loved it so bought myself one..... Now thinking of buying one for my mum.... 06 January 2016
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Quick & economical for single cuppa - Econominal and quick way for making one cup. Note - not full larger mugs and won't fully replace kettle when need more hot water (another item for overloaded worktop) Read on-line problems leaking and emptying hot water itself but no problems so far. Will wait see descaling problems as can't use powder have. May opt lemon juice or approved citrus based descaler. Nice blue light colour, approx 45 sec max for hot water and will need to get used to water sitting there in reservoir rather than emptying and re-filling each time. Not noticed tinny taste some people said. Post xmas price Asda half almost than other retailers so good deal if still on offer. 06 January 2016
    Rated 4 out of 5 by clever & well designed Does exactly what its supposed to do. Its fast. Dispenses boiling water and is easy to use. Looks good too. 06 January 2016
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Brilliant Gadget Bought as I am mainly on my own - love that it just gives enough boiling water for one cup and is very quick at heating up and also, even if you fill the kettle to the top, it only boils one cup, love it. 06 January 2016
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic. Brilliant for teaching our young man with special needs to be independant safely, well done Breville. Also great for ourselves too. Thank you. 06 January 2016
    Rated 4 out of 5 by Good profuct Very useful when only making just a single hot drink. 05 January 2016
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for single cup of tea This smart kettle dispenses one cup of hot water at a time, so saves boiling a kettle full for a single cup. Lights up blue when boiling water. Just put the cup under the spout and hey presto a single measure is dispensed straight into the cup. It can be a bit noisy when boiling and gurgles as it moves water into position for next boiling operation. States holds 5 cups but seems to reach minimum mark after just 3 cups. I may need to go back to the instructions to try to sort this out. 05 January 2016
    Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Kettle for Beverages This is a well designed, good looking kettle for anyone looking for a quick hot drink. If you have not experienced such a kettle before. it will boil a set amount of water for one cup at a time. I would highly recommend this kettle for singles, couples or small families wanting to just create hot beverages quickly. I wouldn't recommend it if you also use the kettle for large amounts of people or for cooking purposes. How to use The kettle comes in 2 pieces, the base and the kettle boiler. The boiler sits on top of the base and detaches/ fills up with water like an ordinary wireless kettle. There is only one button to use - an On/Off Switch. Place mug under the value, switch on, wait 15 seconds and you have a cup of boiling hot water. Pros - Good aesthetic design - Boils very quickly. Boils a cup of hot water in about 15 seconds - Very simple to use Cons - No settings to alter the amount of water boiled. Pre-set amount of water may not be enough for a large mug. - As only one cup of water is boiled at a time, practically, it would be very annoying to use this machine to pre-boil large amounts of water for cooking (say for pasta) or for making drinks for lots of people (6+) at once 05 January 2016
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Breville HotCup Quick and easy to use. Why didn't someone think of this before? It is the way a kettle should be. I keep a jug under the spout and dispense boiling water from that then there's no problem with large or small cups or mugs. Making tea and coffee is a breeze either in a mug, cup or teapot. So is instant gravy and hot diluting juice. I love my new kettle., can you tell? 05 January 2016
    Rated 4 out of 5 by Glorified Kettle Liked the concept of the product, would be great for a single person living on their own or a student. Only downside is that you still have to wait for the kettle to boil if full instead of just the one cup. Would not be worth the full price only value for money if in a sale Great otherwise 04 January 2016
    • 2016-02-07 T06:07:41.902-06:00
    • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
    • cp-2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_313, tr_313
    • loc_en_US, sid_001567270, prod, sort_default
    <<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>
    Read all reviews
    No reviews have been left for this product, be the first to leave a review.
    Write the first review

    Questions & Answers

    Questions & Answers
    George Q&A is a customer to customer community forum, and as such George does not endorse any customers ideas or advice. George will not respond to questions posted, however you can contact us here. Thank you.
    3 Questions & 7 Answers

    Asda Q&A is a customer to customer community forum, and as such Asda does not endorse any customers ideas or advice. If you are a Wine Shop customer Asda may respond to questions posted when appropriate to do so regarding product details. If you have a customer service query you can contact us here. Thank you.

    Ask your questions. Share your answers.

     
     
    « Back
     
     
    by
    Kent, UK
    Gender: Male
    Read all my Q&A
     
    Please wait while more information about toob is loaded.
    Additional information about toob could not be loaded.
    8/1/2016
    0points
    0out of 0found this question helpful.
    Was this helpful?Helpful00No00

    Answers

    Answer: 
    Just over 250ml
    by
    Anonymous
    Bury St Edmunds, Bury Saint Edmunds, Suffolk, UK
    Gender: Male
    13/1/2016
    0points
    0out of 0found this answer helpful.
    Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
    Thanks for Voting

    Answer: 
    This kettle holds 1.7 litres.
    by
    Darwen, Blackburn with Darwen, UK
    Read all my Q&A
     
    Please wait while more information about LCDasher is loaded.
    Additional information about LCDasher could not be loaded.
    12/1/2016
    0points
    0out of 0found this answer helpful.
    Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
    Thanks for Voting

    Answer: 
    the kettle holds 5Lt is 5000 ml
    by
    London, UK
    Gender: Female
    Read all my Q&A
     
    Please wait while more information about Littlemisslondon5 is loaded.
    Additional information about Littlemisslondon5 could not be loaded.
    12/1/2016
    0points
    0out of 0found this answer helpful.
    Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
    Thanks for Voting
    by
    Dagenham, Greater London, UK
    Gender: Male
    Read all my Q&A
     
    Please wait while more information about Dogsbollocks23 is loaded.
    Additional information about Dogsbollocks23 could not be loaded.
    1/1/2016
    0points
    0out of 0found this question helpful.
    Was this helpful?Helpful00No00

    Answers

    Answer: 
    Not an expert but for making myself one cup and thus using electric for max 45 seconds assuming more economical than kettle as even if don't fully fill kettle, will be eg 2 cups of water leaving one cup covering element so heating extra water never using?
    by
    London
    Read all my Q&A
     
    Please wait while more information about Jitu2 is loaded.
    Additional information about Jitu2 could not be loaded.
    6/1/2016
    +2points
    2out of 2found this answer helpful.
    Was this helpful?Helpful22No00
    Thanks for Voting

    Answer: 
    Yes it only boils what you need very fast and Fills a standard cup.
    by
    Oldbury, West Midlands, UK
    Gender: Female
    Read all my Q&A
     
    Please wait while more information about Wifeyd is loaded.
    Additional information about Wifeyd could not be loaded.
    3/1/2016
    +2points
    2out of 2found this answer helpful.
    Was this helpful?Helpful22No00
    Thanks for Voting
    I would like to know the measurements for this item e.g. height length width and depth thank you
    by
    Bo'ness, Falkirk EH51, UK
    Gender: Female
    Read all my Q&A
     
    Please wait while more information about Dot1226 is loaded.
    Additional information about Dot1226 could not be loaded.
    12/1/2015
    0points
    0out of 0found this question helpful.
    Was this helpful?Helpful00No00

    Answers

    Answer: 
    Hi this product is surprisingly smaller than I expected. Approx 30cm tall, 15cm wide.
    by
    Hampshire
    Read all my Q&A
     
    Please wait while more information about classrunner is loaded.
    Additional information about classrunner could not be loaded.
    3/1/2016
    0points
    0out of 0found this answer helpful.
    Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
    Thanks for Voting

    Answer: 
    Hi, here are the measurements when the kettle is on the stand; just under 30cm high (it slopes so this is the highest point) & the base is 28cm x 17cm. Hope this helps!
    by
    Southend-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea, UK
    Gender: Female
    Read all my Q&A
     
    Please wait while more information about Mich1968 is loaded.
    Additional information about Mich1968 could not be loaded.
    22/1/2015
    +4points
    5out of 6found this answer helpful.
    Was this helpful?Helpful55No11
    Thanks for Voting
    • 2016-02-07 T06:04:19.680-06:00
    • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
    • cp-1, bvpage1
    • co_hasquestionsanswers
    • loc_en_US, sid_001567270, prod, sort_default
    1 of 1
    • 2016-02-07 T06:04:19.693-06:00
    • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
    • cp-1, bvpage1
    • co_hasquestionsanswers
    • loc_en_US, sid_001567270, prod, sort_default
    1 of 1

    Delivery & Returns

    • Click and collect
      Collect in an ASDA store FREE

      Click & Collect

      Collect in any Asda store for free.

       

      Our Click & Collect service is FREE to a store of your choice and it's now a faster service. If you order before 9 pm you'll be able to collect your order the following day after 5 pm from the store of your choice.
      Click here for further details

      *Please note some items may not be available to collect from store.

    • Delivery
      Have this item delivered
      Delivered from £2.95 by Wednesday 17 February
      Standard: 3-5 days £2.95
      Next day £4.50
      Named day £4.50
      More delivery info
    • International delivery
      International delivery not available
      This item is not available for international delivery
    • Free Returns
      Return in any ASDA store FREE

      Free Returns


      You can return this item for free to any ASDA store.

      Returns for UK

      If for any reason you are not satisfied with your George Clothing or George Home product, simply return it within 100 days with proof of purchase for an exchange or refund. George branded products only. Excludes watches, jewellery, hair accessories, part assembled flat pack furniture and mattresses. The 100 Day Guarantee only applies to George branded products. Please refer to our terms and conditions for details of our returns and refund process for non-George branded products. Your statutory rights are not affected. UK Mainland stores only. Excludes franchises.





    Additional information from the manufacturer

    Additional product information|Powered by Webcollage

    Thank You Is the information in this section helpful? Yes / No

    The Breville Hot Cup - for a quicker cuppa

    • The Breville Hot Cup is designed to boil a cup of water in a matter of seconds, meaning great hot drinks at the touch of a button. It dispenses a 250 millilitre (ml) cup of boiling water--the equivalent of a standard drinking mug--and will dispense up to five cups without refilling--perfect for families or small offices.

      The innovative patented technology ensures that water is only dispensed once it has reached boiling point, not simply very warm, but 100 degrees Celsius, making perfect hot drinks every time. In addition, the smooth and continuous flow of water keeps any splashing to a minimum.

      By only boiling enough water for the number of cups you need, the Hot Cup is economical and energy efficient. There's no boiled water going to waste and it helps you save pennies on electricity bills.

    • 1.5L capacity

      The VKJ142 can dispense up to 5 250ml sized cups of boiling water without needing a refil.
    • One cup of boiling water in less than 1 minute

      The Hot Cup provides a quick and simple solution, saving electricity and time, dispensing just one cup of boiling water in a matter of seconds.
    • Removable drip tray

      A removable drip tray makes cleaning your Hot Cup quick and easy.
    • Boiled water at the touch of a button
    • 1.5 litre illuminating water tank
    • Save on spills with the detachable drip tray
    • Easy to fill water tank works just like a kettle

    Breville VKJ142 Hot Cup

    Breville

    • About Breville

      Breville believes that creativity shouldn’t be out of reach. They believe that with the right tools anything is possible. They want to help you make the most of your home. Drink, toast, mix, whisk and chop your way to a world of pure imagination. Creative solutions, inspiring ideas. No excuses, no limits. Let Breville help to turn on your creativity.