Breville VKJ142 1.5L HotCup Kettle - Gloss Black

Rollover image to zoom

Breville VKJ142 1.5L HotCup Kettle - Gloss Black main view

Breville VKJ142 1.5L HotCup Kettle - Gloss Black Reviews

£39.96

The VKJ142 Breville HotCup dispenses boiling water in seconds at the touch of button.

The contemporary, gloss black and stainless steel design looks great in any kitchen and dispenses up to five cups/mugs without re-filling. Its patented design means you only boil one cup at a time, helping to save time, money and energy. The one-touch operation is ideal for those who cannot lift a heavy kettle while the removable drip tray keeps your worktop mess-free.

Filling is easy thanks to the lid-release button and the illumination in boil mode gives a soft blue glow to your kitchen.

Sorry, out of stock.

  • Click and collect Collect in store FREE

    Click & Collect

    Collect in any Asda store for free.

     

    Our Click & Collect service is FREE to a store of your choice and it's now a faster service. If you order before 7 pm you'll be able to collect your order the following day after 5 pm from the store of your choice.
    Click here for further details

    *Please note some items may not be available to collect from store.

  • Delivery Have this item delivered
    Delivered from £2.95by Thursday 10 September
    Standard: 3-5 days £2.95
    Next day £4.50
    Named day £4.50
    Named day and time £5.95
    More delivery info
  • International delivery International delivery not available
    This item is not available for international delivery
  • Free Returns Free returns in store

    Free Returns


    You can return this item for free to any ASDA store.

 
Colour Black
Additional Features Key Features & Benefits:
  • Dispenses boiling water at the touch of a button
  • Push-button lid release makes filling easy ' just like a kettle
  • Removable, easy-to-clean drip tray means no worktop mess
  • Blue illumination in boil mode
  • Large water window makes accurate filling easy
  • Gloss black finish with polished stainless steel trim


  • Product Specification:
  • 3kW heating element for rapid boiling times
  • 1.5 Litre capacity
  • 360 degree base for left- and right-hand use
  • Concealed element
  • Permanent limescale filter
  • Non-slip feet
  • Cord storage
  • Capacity 1.5 Litres
    Cord Length (m) 0.75 Metres
    Cord Storage Yes
    Cordless No
    Dimensions 16.3 x 27.5 x 28.6 cm
    Filter Yes
    Material Plastic & Stainless Steel
    Model Number VKJ142
    Net Capacity (litres) 1.5 Litres
    Power 3000 Watts
    Product Type Electric Kettles
    Rapid Boil Yes
    Type Kettles
    Water Level Indicator Yes
    Weight 1.65kg
    Brand Breville
     
    Delivered from £2.95
    by Thursday 10 September
    Standard: 3-5 days £2.95
    Next day £4.50
    Named day £4.50
    Named day and time £5.95
    More delivery info
     

    Returns for UK

    If for any reason you are not satisfied with your George Clothing or George Home product, simply return it within 100 days with proof of purchase for an exchange or refund. George branded products only. Excludes watches, jewellery, hair accessories, part assembled flat pack furniture and mattresses. The 100 Day Guarantee only applies to George branded products. Please refer to our terms and conditions for details of our returns and refund process for non-George branded products. Your statutory rights are not affected. UK Mainland stores only. Excludes franchises.





     
    2 Questions & 3 Answers

    Asda Q&A is a customer to customer community forum, and as such Asda does not endorse any customers ideas or advice. If you are a Wine Shop customer Asda may respond to questions posted when appropriate to do so regarding product details. If you have a customer service query you can contact us here. Thank you.

    Ask your questions. Share your answers.

     
     
    « Back
     
     
    by
    Anonymous
    Northamptonshire, UK
    Gender: Female
    20/5/2015
    0points
    0out of 0found this question helpful.
    Was this helpful?Helpful00No00

    Answers

    Answer: 
    Yes
    by
    gosport
    Gender: Male
    Read all my Q&A
     
    Please wait while more information about stepviv is loaded.
    Additional information about stepviv could not be loaded.
    6/6/2015
    0points
    0out of 0found this answer helpful.
    Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
    Thanks for Voting

    Answer: 
    yes
    by
    Plymouth, Plymouth, UK
    Gender: Male
    Read all my Q&A
     
    Please wait while more information about doowder is loaded.
    Additional information about doowder could not be loaded.
    4/6/2015
    0points
    0out of 0found this answer helpful.
    Was this helpful?Helpful00No00
    Thanks for Voting
    I would like to know the measurements for this item e.g. height length width and depth thank you
    by
    Bo'ness, Falkirk EH51, UK
    Gender: Female
    Read all my Q&A
     
    Please wait while more information about Dot1226 is loaded.
    Additional information about Dot1226 could not be loaded.
    12/1/2015
    0points
    0out of 0found this question helpful.
    Was this helpful?Helpful00No00

    Answers

    Answer: 
    Hi, here are the measurements when the kettle is on the stand; just under 30cm high (it slopes so this is the highest point) & the base is 28cm x 17cm. Hope this helps!
    by
    Southend-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea, UK
    Gender: Female
    Read all my Q&A
     
    Please wait while more information about Mich1968 is loaded.
    Additional information about Mich1968 could not be loaded.
    22/1/2015
    +3points
    3out of 3found this answer helpful.
    Was this helpful?Helpful33No00
    • 2015-08-31T06:09:57.674-05:00
    • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
    • cp-1, bvpage1
    • co_hasquestionsanswers
    • loc_en_US, sid_001567270, prod, sort_default
    1 of 1
    • 2015-08-31T06:09:58.080-05:00
    • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
    • cp-1, bvpage1
    • co_hasquestionsanswers
    • loc_en_US, sid_001567270, prod, sort_default
    1 of 1
    Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 251 reviewers.
    Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst Purchase Ever If I had read the review I am about to put then I would not have bought the kettle in the first place. It is messy when it fills your cups, water splashed all over the back panel, Most of my cups/mugs were dormant once this machine turned up as the water was overspilling as you cannot cancel it once started. The drinks dont taste boiling hot from a normal kettle, dont take long to go cold once made. This product lasted 1 week on my worktop now it sits next to my Tassimo in the useless cupboard !! I emailed Breville and they said I descale the kettle, duh it is brand new !! 21 March 2013
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Breville hot cup This is a kettle which dispenses hot water, it fills like a kettle at the tap, but doesn't pour - instead it dispenses hot water within about 30 seconds, just pop cup under and press button. The water is nice and hot for drinking coffee or tea. The kettle holds about 1.5 litre water in a reservoir and puts 300ml (ish) into the heating chamber so it just heats enough for one cup at a time so is energy saving, but only takes about 2 mins to do 4 cups, we fill with a jug so we don't need to lift the kettle at all, my 8 yr old suddenly wants to be tea-boy! we love it, 21 March 2014
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Exellent one cup hot water dispenser This is the fourth Beville HotCup we have purchased - one for ourselves, one for my sister and 2 for our elederly Mums. They have been a godsend for our Mums as they dont have to lift a heavy kettle every time they want a hot drink. They are heavy to carry from the tap when refilled so my Mum uses a milk bottle to top up the Breville. Small cups are not suitable as they will overfill as there is a fixed vollume of hot water per cup, but this makes them safer as they automatically switch off when the fixed ammount of water has been dispensed. The HotCup dispenses 255ml water, so a cup that holds 300ml or more will be fine. Both Mums can now make a hot drink for themselves when before they couldn't manage to lift the kettles. 07 April 2015
    Rated 4 out of 5 by Great kettle We have been looking for this kind of kettle for sometime so were pleased when discovered it. Provides quick hot water (about 30 secs) as a normal kettle in less time therefore saving time & money. You avoid the issues of a traditional kettle. Stylish looking as if in a fancy hotel. Only issue it that it splatters hot water towards the end when filling which if not careful could get on to your hand etc. there is a drip tray but the splatters go past the tray. The opening to fill with water could have been bigger as it's a tight space & water can / does drip on the outside when filling. Great price as almost £10 off. Will be buying a second. Friends & family who have seen so far will / are also purchasing. Money well spent so far! 25 March 2014
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Delighted We've had one of these before and loved it, they do tend to be expensive so we didn't replace it when it stopped working. Asda had this at a really good price so I decided to get one - I'm delighted I did too. No more waiting for a kettle to boil, no more boiling too much water (so it MUST be more economical). It boils enough for a mug, it would be far too much for a cup, and that's what we use so it's ideal for us. I would happily recommend this to anyone, we do still have a kettle, which we use if we need a lot of boiling water. 01 September 2014
    Rated 4 out of 5 by Does what it says This Breville Hotcup dispenses one cup of boiling water at a time. You will need the right size cup or it will under or overfill. It produces a gushing sound as the water comes out but overall I think that it is a good money saving product, well made and looks great in the kitchen. Also a great price as we got it reduced at Asda. I believe that Breville make an enhanced model which can dispense variable amounts of boiling water, so it may be worth considering paying extra for this if you want similar versatility to a kettle. 30 December 2014
    Rated 4 out of 5 by Well worth it I've had this product for a week now and can't imagine how I ever managed without it. Dispenses 250ml of hot water within 30 seconds or so of pressing the button, and will dispense again straight away if you've got a really big mug or want more than one drink. There's a large drip tray if you need it. Note though that it's hot water, not boiling - not a problem for me as I don't drink milk but, if you like milky coffee, the water might not be hot enough for you (which is the only reason I've not given it an 'excellent' score). 27 January 2015
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Great kettle I have had kettles/water dispensers in the past but this is the best one yet. The difference between this one and others that I have had is that you can actually pick up the kettle/water container part and fill straight from the tap, other makes you would have to use a jug to refill. This is a quick and easy way of making a fast cuppa. The water container lights up blue when you turn it on. I would highly recommend this product and it was a great buy especially when I got this from Asda's £20 cheaper than other stores. 08 February 2013
    Rated 5 out of 5 by best kettle i ever had first the one cup looks great takes away the boring look of a kettle the fact im single parent means less risk to child burning as only one cup at a time boils no need to lift and pour so hands free for hyper kids guests enjoy making thier own tea n coffee it boils in just under 30 sec so very quick for advert breaks so you dont miss your programs saves on energy as boil one at a time very stylish over all if you looking for a new kettle i would highly recommend i know i will never go back to old style kettles im hooked on this type now all friends think it cost a lot but a same price as normal(cheaper in fact)kettle it really is a eye catcher in the kitchen it be perfect for bed n breakfast as well save water electric and guest would really appreciate all in all i love it 18 September 2012
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Even better than expected We liked the design and style of this kettle and as I suffer from joint problems the dispensing feature would be of great benefit. We also considered that this kettle would likely be more economic to use as you are only boiling the amount of water to use. Well, we've been using this kettle now for a month and it's perfect, we have no complaints whatsoever. Admittedly you need an average size mug, cups are no good, you can't control the amount of water dispensed, but this is not a concern for us as we always use mugs. We have read other reviews that criticize the water dispensed is not hot enough, all we can say is ours dispenses water as hot as a standard kettle, perhaps these people had a faulty one. We would never go back to a standard kettle, can't be more pleased. 05 August 2013
    Rated 5 out of 5 by The beverage revolution is here This is a fantastic innovation. It takes between 30 seconds and a minute to boil and deliver a cup of water. No more re-boiling the kettle, no more "did I make the tea or just put the kettle on?" it just does it. The only downside is that I had to buy a new teapot (traditional stainless steel type) since my old ceramic one wouldn't fit under. That said you can't overfill the teapot, 2 cups = 2 button pushes. This is definitely one to give to people as a Christmas present instead of another jumper. 28 August 2013
    Rated 1 out of 5 by a good idea! we thought this was a great idea, then we realised that it only does one cup size, so although it was good for some of our mugs others were left needing a top up, other overfilled. it was ok we managed. but then after about 3 days of using it, the jug started leaking from the bottom. so we returned it. we did however then find the varible version f this product, you can choose 15 different cup sizes. fab. when we boxed the bew model realised the 1st 1 cup has weak and not half as substanical. 24 August 2012
    Rated 4 out of 5 by Breville VKJ142 HotCup The Breville Hotcup is very easy and clean to use, also "boils" very quickly, I find that the waters NOT boiling hot, if you use a mug for your drink then its ok,anything small then the water boils over the top. and if you have a few friends round then a normal kettle would be better as you have to boil and boil again. As I drink a few cups a day I seem always to be filling the "kettle" up ... overall a good bit of kit for what it is designed for....a quick mug of water for one.. 05 April 2014
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic I bought this item as I am terrible for clicking the kettle on and because it takes so long walking away, then reboiling it again when I come back. My mum had bought one of these and I was impressed with the fact it only boils what it needs to, I love this product, saves on time as it's really quick (no time to walk away) and it fills my cup perfectly! Would recommend this product to anyone as I'm sure at some point I'm going to make my money back on electricity used alone!! 18 April 2014
    Rated 4 out of 5 by A few buts - but still pleasantly surprised Great appliance when you drink tea like I do. Although first few boils after following preparation instructions did leave my tea tasting metally and horrible so I'd definitely recommend giving it a good few extra boils before using. Also a little noisy - my daughter describes it as comparable to a plane coming in to land. Still I'm glad I bought it and it suits me fine. Good quality and value for money too when you compare to what other retailers are selling it for! 04 June 2015
    Rated 5 out of 5 by one cup star quality I bought this for myself as I have arthritis in my hands, it is not too big in size, I get 5 to 6 average cups of almost instant hot water before its empty ( although I never let it run that low) you can fill it up while it's preparing hot water as the tank does not warm up, only the water coming out is heated. I liked it so much based on it is easy to use and does what it says on the pack that I got another 2 for relatives as a present as they liked it too. 14 October 2014
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Brilliant for weak wrists My aunt broke her wrist recently, and although she has recovered and is doing brilliantly specially for an 87 year old, but when I visited her I noticed she held the kettle at an angle and realised that the kettle was a little heavy for her when half full, I saw the Breville one cup kettle and got her one and also got one for myself, My kettle is now not used, no more lifting heavy kettles and no more loud noise for 2-3 minutes at a time. Excellent product 25 January 2015
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent cost savings The one cup is fantastic. As the name suggests it produces a single cup of tea or coffee in an instant thereby just boiling enough water needed. Just put a tea bag or coffee into a cup, press the switch and you have a cup of hot tea/coffee in an instant. If you want a second cup, this only takes seconds to produce. It can also be used for other requirements i.e. making gravy in a jug. It looks good and would fit in any kitchen albeit it modern or retro. 06 January 2015
    Rated 4 out of 5 by Breville Hot Cup Bought as a Christmas gift for an elderly relative. Surprised at how heavy it is especially to fill it. Have advised my relative to use a jug to fill it with as the point was because they were struggling filling a normal kettle. However, it boils really quickly and fills the cup automatically. Works much quicker than a kettle and my relative doesn't have to lift or pour boiling water which is a relief. Very pleased with this product. 30 December 2011
    Rated 4 out of 5 by great buy, very happy at present (touch wood) very happy with the way it fits in my kitchen and that it makes a cup of tea/coffee very quick and also only boils/uses a precise amount of water whichis energy efficient and means i dont boil more water than i need or reboil the same water more than once; so water does not 'taste stale' so hygienic too with the cup under the nozzle. Only down point is it takes a few times to get enough water for gravy for the sunday roast lol 01 March 2013
    Rated 1 out of 5 by Returned kettle The kettle worked too well as it dispensed far too much water each time. The box tells you that it will dispense 5 cups each fill. This one just managed 4. I was fobbed off by the Breville help desk who tried to tell me that it was working within its tolerances. I use mugs but this still filled the largest to the brim. It is a pity as the price is good and the one with an adjustment for the water is nearly double the price. 18 February 2013
    Rated 4 out of 5 by stylish coffee I saw one of these at my son's house. I was looking for the kettle. I liked it so much as it will only boil one cup of water at a time and therefore is economical. It also looks good! You do need a larger cup or mug or it will fill to the brim.I have heard that there are kettles like this where you can choose the size of the cup to be filled.I like it and it was money well spent although I have 3 other working kettles. 01 September 2013
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Purchase When our existing kettle broke my wife and I went online to search for another. We we all prepared to go for a like for like replacement then saw this model on Asda Direct. Must admit the 'dispense one cup' at a time really appealed to our green side, the customer reviews were very good and the fact there was a saving of nearly £20 off the price made it an offer too good to refuse so we went ahead and purchased online for in store delivery. This kettle is really easy to set up and is absolutely BRILLIANT in every day use. One cup at a time suits our lifestyle. With our previous kettle we always boiled too much water at any one time, with this Breville you just boil a cup at time. By the time you've filled one cup, removed it and placed the next cup it's ready to go again. So, if you wanted to fill a tea pot, just keep pressing the 'boil' button. A highly recommended product. 13 January 2013
    Rated 4 out of 5 by Well worth it at the sale price anyway I like anything that can save waste. The fact that you only use the exact amount of electricity to boil the water for your cuppa will save lots of electricity. Make sure that you are aware that it dispenses an exact measure of water and that means enough for a large mug, check before you go for it. The unit looks quite smart on the worktop. Not sure about reliability long term but been using it for a week without any problems. 14 January 2015
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Saves wasting time 'watching and waiting for kettl I purchased one cup boil kettle previously. I find that you can put cup under, put on for boil go away, do something else, cut a bit of cake or whatever, kettle boiled tea / coffee ready. Excellent. Only slight down size is you do need to check size of cup prior to you using it, although these days you can buy one with variable amount it boils,BUT I feel this is too expensive for what it is. Mine more than happy with. 09 September 2014
    Rated 5 out of 5 by wish I had one sooner Living on my own and drinking tea by the gallon the kettle was always on the boil. With this fabulous Hot Cup which boils the water in seconds I definitely must be saving on my electric bill. It is a nice looking product which has been very much admired. The noise when the water has boiled is very loud but at least if you were in another room you would hear it.I am very pleased with it and would highly recommend it. 28 December 2013
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Great buy Bought this has my hands are very weak, and it's one of my best buys ever. Great for people that have problem with their hands,It is very quick at getting the water boiled. And looks very stylish, and even more stylish when the blue light is on. Very easy to use and fill. Great buy, would recommend this product to anyone. We went ahead and bought a second one just two days after we got our first one. 07 June 2015
    Rated 4 out of 5 by love it purchased this because it was an excellent price and being from Asda I knew I could return it with no problem if I did not like it, but I love it, its looks nice in the kitchen it BOILS the water in 30 seconds my only complaint if I can call it that is the noise it makes when it dispenses the water but that's for a couple of seconds so I can put up with that for the convenience of having a very quick cuppa 30 August 2014
    Rated 5 out of 5 by I love it! I bought this a my kettle was leaking and a friend had just bought a Hot Cup and told me that Asda were selling them at a reduced price. I absolutely love it! It fills a decent sized mug with boiling water at the touch of a button. It looks stylish and the noise is no louder than a boiling kettle. My mum saw it and wanted one too. I ordered another and it arrived at my chosen store the next day. 01 March 2015
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Almost instant hot water! Excellent value product. Dispenses exact amount of boiling water REALLY quickly. Remember to put the mug underneath the dispenser BEFORE pressing the button though! May also buy the slightly more expensive model as this give choice of water quantity to dispense, so can use for espresso coffee etc. Really like this as it means we can use our favourite products without the need for an expensive pod system. 26 January 2015
    • 2015-08-31T06:16:41.966-05:00
    • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
    • cp-2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_251, tr_251
    • loc_en_US, sid_001567270, prod, sort_default
    <<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>

    Additional information from the manufacturer

    From the Manufacturer|Powered by Answers™

    Thank You Is the information in this section helpful? Yes / No

    The Breville Hot Cup - for a quicker cuppa

    • 1.5L capacity

      The VKJ142 can dispense up to 5 250ml sized cups of boiling water without needing a refil. 
    • One cup of boiling water in less than 1 minute

      The Hot Cup provides a quick and simple solution, saving electricity and time, dispensing just one cup of boiling water in a matter of seconds. 
    • Removable drip tray

      A removable drip tray makes cleaning your Hot Cup quick and easy. 

    Breville VKJ142 Hot Cup